We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Mango House Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Me and my partner stayed for 3 nights in feb while travelling down the east coast. We were upgraded on check and had a lovely apartment overlooking the pool. Apartment was spotless bed was comfy, nice living room area with flat screen tv and great kitchen area. Also laundry facilities which was handy for us. Really nice pool area too. Supermarket across the road which was perfect and not too far of a walk into town. Was very sad to leave this place, if we ever come back to airlie beach we will be staying here :) Thank you!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

HI Emily & thanks for taking the time to write about us.
Would love to have you stay again one day . Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked the motel as it offered free wifi and has a kitchenette. As we booked in and asked about wifi, was told it works sometimes (:), 10 mins after we had all our work spread out the lights began to go out one after the other only to be told 'the transformer overheats, don't worry they will come back on, so there we were sitting in the dark....not on, at 8.30pm reception told us we could either check out or move to another room. We moved into the room next door and had no more issues. Reception were not helpful the first night, but were very friendly next morning and offered us the weekend for free. We stayed 2 nights and the rest of the time the wifi and lights worked so we were happy enough to rebook for our next trip, but we will be staying away from that old room. The room has a laundry so is not serviced daily. The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Do not accept Room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Yep a bit messy the night you arrived but sorted as quick as I could, lights were an issue so i shifted rooms for you and no further dramas but wifi a mystery as worked perfectly in the room you moved too..........I notice you have booked again, look forward to any new disasters you might encounter.pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was travelling alone to attend my sons wedding at Whitehaven Beach and upon arrival at Mango House, I had been upgraded to an upstairs poolside apartment - I was very chuffed! I found the apartment lovely, very spacious and clean, very comfortable bed too. It had everything you could possibly need for a relaxed and fuss-free holiday.

I loved the tropical gardens surrounding the beautiful swimming pool, the convenience of a supermarket and bottle-shop across the road and an easy 20 minute walk into Airlie Beach. Host Peter was very helpful and kind. I would gladly stay here again and also gladly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Poolside apartments are lovely, especially upstairs as you have such a nice view of the pool and lus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ironmaid55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thanks for the kind words and glad you had a nice stay with us and most of all a succesfull wedding day................came back soon..Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Mango Resort 2 nights in October 2013. It was our anniversary and one of our friends surprised us by phoning the hotel manager to arrange for a bottle of sparkling wine to be brought to our room for our arrival. What a nice surprise when the hotel manager also decided to upgrade us to a suite!

The room was lovely, very bright, no carpet, very clean and spacious obviously!
The kitchen had everything you need for holiday cooking, there was even a dishwasher!
The bathroom was nice as well and had a washing machine and tumble dryer! Great to wash and dry the beach towels! There is a small supermarket 2 min walk from the hotel where you can by cheap washing powder. Otherwise, the hotel sells some.
We did not have time to use the swimming pool but it looked really clean. The garden are beautiful.
The bedroom was a really good size, there was a slide door that you can have wide open during the day and close during the night.

We liked the location of the hotel as it was not in the centre of Airlie Beach. We had a car so it was not a problem. We took the car to go out for dinner one night and we were relieved our hotel was away from the backpackers hostels, bars etc...
All the shuttles/buses for the Whitsundays cruises also come and pick you up from the hotel so it is very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerGlasgow82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi and thanks for the review, really pleased you had a nice time with us and hope to see you again one day..............................Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed two nights (technically still enjoying the second night as we're still here as I type this review) in a spacious pool view room. Yes we were "upgraded" as other reviewers had mentioned. We're used to staying in self-serviced accommodations and this is one of the best we've been in. The layout is airy and open, beds super comfortable, bathrooms simple but clean, kitchen well-stocked with the basics, and most of all it has a washer/dryer!!! The pool looks so inviting but haven't tried it out since it's been pouring rain our entire stay. I really love this place and am sad to be moving on to our next destination in Bundaberg.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank EffBee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Well thank you for the great review............right now it is 5AM and it isn't raining so if you are still here time to hit the pool I reckon.........again thanks for taking the time to write and as always I am thrilled when someone enjoys their stay here..............................Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a good place with a beautiful pool. We had a spacious unit here with comfortable bed. And a nice balcony. Like mentioned in previous comments there even is a dryer and washing machine and the motel is quite far from restaurants and the lagoon. Another disadvantage we found that there was only one pan in the unit, so not too easy to cook a meal here. Besides that, this is a good place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catharina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi and sorry about only 1 pan........could have lent you another but only if you shared the contents with me..............just kidding about sharing but could have covered the one pan thing for you............thanks for taking the time to write..................Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We are a couple of Poms and arrived in Australia mid December (partly to watch the cricket but we won't talk about that!)
So far we've stayed in Melbourne, Mornington, Phillip Island, two hotels in Sydney, Katoomba in the Blue Mountains, Port Douglas, Magnetic Island and now Airlie Beach. Most Aussies have been friendly and helpful and the places we've stayed good but this is certainly one of the best. The manager Pete friendly and helpful so I can only guess that some of the lesser reviewers don't have a sense of humour?
Great place, clean well equipped lovely pool and gardens - no worries!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 265martynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Greetings Poms, I have delayed writing a response till the outcome of game 4 one day clash was determined......................nice work.........and not before time, if the Welsh put together a cricket team we won't even bother playing you lot in the future................Australia vs Wales? lacks something doesn't it.
enjoy the rest of your travels and game 5 on Sunday.................Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jubilee Pocket
15.3 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
378 reviews
8.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
1.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mango House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mango House Resort

Address: Corner Shute Harbour Road & Erromango Drive, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Jubilee Pocket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Jubilee Pocket
Price Range: £56 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mango House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Mango House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mango Hotel
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing