We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sipping wine in a beautiful setting”

Carolyn's Sakonnet Vineyard
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carolyn's Sakonnet Vineyard is a premier Rhode Island destination that enlivens the senses, delights the mind and allows the spirit to be recharged by the alchemy of the earth's abundance.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sipping wine in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Sakonnet Vineyards is a delightful place. The wine is tasty but the surrounding landscape is what makes it an enduring memory. We had a yummy lunch sitting at a table under the trees and looking out at the rolling fields and stone walls. I would go back, given the chance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    43
    16
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds and Tasty Wines”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My boyfriend and I went to Sakonnet Vineyard's today based on some word of mouth of a few friends/family. We were both pleasantly surprised at the amount of different wines that were offered and the service.

We opted to do the champagne/sparkling wine tasting with out tasting. Normally the tasting is $10/person, but if you choose the champagne option it's $15/person. The tasting allows you to taste 6 different wines from a list of approximately 12 different wines. I love white wines and my personal favorites were the Blessed Blend and the Vidal Blanc. My boyfriend really enjoys reds and liked the Rhode Island Red. For not being too keen on reds, the Rhode Island Red was delicious.

What was nice about the tastings is that you can go off and enjoy a tour or explore the grounds yourself and go back to the tasting room as needed for a refill which made the afternoon very relaxing. The grounds are beautiful and have plenty of space to have a picnic or relax in the chairs placed in various places in the surrounding area. My boyfriend and I explored the grounds and also did a tour, which was short, but interesting to see where the "magic" happens.

We also purchased a bottle of wine and enjoyed a cheese and cracker platter at the cafe.

Overall, today was a gorgeous day in Southern New England and the Sakonnet Vineyard made for a memorable day of tasting different wines and exploring the scenic grounds. We will definitely be back for a picnic in the near future!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WondrousWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captiva Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but not reliable website/uncaring mgt”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Ruined our mothers day plan.Checked home page for hours before driving 1.5 hours to Little Compton. Called from the road an hour into the drive to see if there was a wait for the café and whether we could put our name in. Person said there was no lunch being served, there was a reservations only brunch --and it was booked and unavailable. Spoke to a manager who said that the event had been up on the home page, but it was now off ( and on a third click events page) because it was booked. They would run out of food if they added us.What should have happened was on the home -page there should have been a notice of the event, stating fully booked, café closed. No apology no nothing. Don't be in business if you don't do such things properly, and when you make a mistake be apologetic and be a little nice and caring! Have extra food. Are you amateurs?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank rb818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun, but does not compare to Cali”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

As I am sure you are already thinking, of course a RI vineyard can't hold a candle to a Cali vineyard. And, yes you are right. We weren't expecting it to. We love to drink wine and will visit wineries on our travels just to experience more wine. So, that aside, this is a quaint little place along a very scenic drive in RI. Be sure to stop at Milk and Honey in Little Compton before going to get your choice of quite an array of cheeses! The tasting at Sakkonet is a good value for the price - six wines for $10. There is a really nice patio to enjoy your tasting outdoors. We were there on a particularly beautiful April day. I do recommend coming if you are looking for a leisurely day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OnHoliday13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Charming Day Trip”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Even on a rainy day, this vineyard is charming! We did the wine tasting but will visit again for the tour.

For $10 (add $2 for a champagne tasting), you're able to taste 6 generous portions of a delicious variety. Fun for a couple or group of friends. Inside there is a fireplace and a large bar room with plenty of scenic spots. Can't wait to go back when the weather is nice - beautiful seating outdoors as well. Staff is courteous and knowledgable and bottles are quite reasonably priced. Worth a visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank caroleeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carolyn's Sakonnet Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Carolyn's Sakonnet Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing