We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Clean Hotel”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My family met for few nights for a little fun in Newport. The Hotel is just few miles away from Downtown. It is located just off what I like to call a "heartburn alley" AKA diners, fast food, restaurant chains along with many other hotels. The rooms and common areas were updated and modern. The hotel was overall very clean. My family asked the front desk several times for dining suggestions and the gentleman gave us fabulous local places. My family had already been there one night when I arrived the next morning at about 11AM. They actually let me check in. It was very nice that they were so accommodating! The Courtyards don’t have free breakfast but the Café was wonderful. I had a tasty egg white and spinach sandwich that was made to order.
A few things on the downside 1. There was outside construction, I believe it was the walkways. It was quite noisy during the day luckily we were only in and out quickly. Also, one night a bus was running/idling and it was quite annoying while trying to sleep. But those were just freak things. Overall a very good hotel. Clean, friendly staff, and convenient hotel to Downtown Newport!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    121
    43
    13
    8
See reviews for
99
76
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Beautifully updated this hotel has a very modern look. The rooms are spacious and they offer a lot of tv stations which the children were thrilled about. Unfortunately the staff there, well a few members of the staff, were not only completely rude but by far the most unprofessional members of the Marriott that I have ever encountered. The pool was freezing due to the outside pool connects to the indoor pool and it was raining and chilly out. We has a bunch of dirty leaves coming in. The pool area was well maintained besides the temp of both the pool and whirlpool and the leaves floating in from outside. I wish they offered a free breakfast like other marriotts due. The bistro is very nice and the woman working in that area was quite pleasant and friendly but ALL food and drinks are significantly overpriced.($10 for a burger) the houseman that brought something to our room stood at our door for a bit, for what both myself and my guest assume was a tip. I will never be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamabear2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
610 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent 2 nights here when touring with friends. On the edge of the town but much cheaper than staying in Newport. Good value and friendly staff. Breakfast not as good as some we had in other courtyards.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in newportmany times. It's fun to stay right in the city but during the summer it's so expensive. The marriott courtyard in Middletown is a nice way to visit Newport and spend less for more. The rooms and lobby are updated. Staff has always been helpful and friendly

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdteach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I had to check out of a previously reserved hotel in the area due to dissatisfaction and was looking for a hotel. Not only was I happy with this hotel but I was disappointed I was only going to be staying for 1 night. Newly renovated, from the lobby to the room, this hotel was great. The staff was very friendly and it was no problem getting a room at the last minute. The bed was very comfortable and I liked the layout of the room. It was one of the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel! Everything was very clean. Loved the Starbucks/cafe in the lobby! Yes it is a short drive from Newport but as far as I am concerned, that was a plus. Newport is very busy and the traffic is crazy. Nice to visit but I wouldn't want to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This hotel is a bit on the outskirts of where tourists would usually go in Newport so the price is very reasonable. Upon walking into the Courtyard, I was surprised to see how brand new and modern the hotel is. Sleek, modern wood-looking furniture with bold colors and patterns. There's a little coffee/food kiosk in the lobby where you can buy breakfast or snacks throughout the day.

The rooms are quite roomy and just as well decorated as the lobby. The beds were comfortable and the linens and towels were clean. Also very nice was the pool; it was clean and big enough for a bit of splashing around (great if you have kids). Overall, great hotel for the price and location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we were disappointed. First the positives: It is 10 minutes from downtown Newport, same for the beaches, so the location is great. They have a new lobby/bar/eating area which is very nice---my kids loved the lobby. They have a nice indoor/outdoor pool with a hot tub which the kids loved. Now the negatives: The hallways were fillthy and in desperate need of a vacuum the entire stay. Most guests enter the hotel through side doors and there was a beer bottle and other trash outside the side door our entire stay. You could tell there was no staff responsible for trash cleanup on the premiter of the building and although the rooms were vacuumed, the cleaning staff evidently has no responsibliltiy to vaccum the hallways.

We were given a room on the third floor which smelled musty and we finally asked for another room after we noticed lots of small black flying bugs all over the room. When I told the front desk about it, they were not surprised at all. Our new room on the first floor was now near one of the side entrances and the door made a terribly loud noise each time it was clsoed (which is 1,000 times a day).
For the $300 a night we were paying, it is ridiculous that they can't pick up the garbage all over the parking lot, near the side entrances or vacuum the hallways.
I would try another hotel in Middletown/Newport before booking here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side entrances on the first floor, the door are extremely loud for some bizarre r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
3.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newport Middletown

Property: Courtyard Newport Middletown
Address: 9 Commerce Dr, Middletown, RI 02842-6292
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Newport Middletown provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. As one of the premier hotels in Middletown, RI, our 148 spacious guest rooms and suites offer luxury bedding, large work desks, ergonomic chairs, flat-screen TVs, and more. Unique among Middletown, RI hotels, our signature GoBoard(R) enables guests to stay current with the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves freshly-prepared meals, Starbucks(R), and evening cocktails. Our business center, with high-speed Internet access and complimentary printing services, stands out among nearby Newport, RI hotels. Business travelers will appreciate our convenient location and 1,449 sq. ft. of meeting space. Our hotel in Middletown is also ideal for students and parents interested in St. Georges School, Portsmouth Abbey, URI, Salve Regina, Roger Williams and Brown Universities. The Courtyard Newport Middletown, RI hotel offers the ultimate in productivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newport Middletown Hotel Middletown
Courtyard Middletown
Middletown Marriott
Middletown Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing