We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Have had great experiences with Courtyard Marriott Hotels whilst in USA. This was the first one we stayed in. Room very clean and well appointed. Bed very comfy, good air-conditioning. swimming pool and gym good. Small snack area and a small breakfast/lunch/dinner Bistro - just enough really, breakfast very good, didn't have any other meals here. Reception staff went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. Location excellent for exploring Newport. Would stay again and have now stayed in two more Courtyards in Norwich CT and Greenbelt, Washington DC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    121
    43
    13
    8
See reviews for
99
76
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family of five stayed for three nights in two adjoining rooms. At first we were told they could not get us adjoinging rooms, but they went out of their way to make this happen and we were very appreciative. The staff was overall very friendly and hospitable. We did have an issue with a clogged tub which made showering a bit difficult, but it was fixed promptly when we reported it. The only unfortunate event that happened is with housekeeping. When we came back from dinner, my laptop had clearly been dropped and was no longer working. It had been charging on the desk where there was no reason for housekeeping to touch it to clean. Rooms are not vacuumed, thus bumping into the desk with a vacuum was not a possibility. Management advised rooms are only vacuumed on request so that if jewelry or other small items are dropped, they will not be vacuumed up. I have never stayed at a hotel with this policy and I think this is one that should be revisited as I do think rooms should be vacuumed every day for cleanliness. My husband spoke with management regarding the broken laptop and I am happy to say we were compensated. We were first offered a free breakfasst and then settled on a discount for our stay. This did not cover the cost of the broken laptop, but it was substantial. We very much appreciated that management was amendable to our situation. I do hope the Courtyard Newport looks into improving their housekeeping as we also had a dirty coffee mug in the room when we arrived, which we also mentioned when discussing the broken laptop. We do believe they were listening and they cared and said they would be having a discussion with housekeeping. The hotel itself is quite comfortable. We had a balacony and a nice view into the courtyard area. People were at the pool and the noise level was fine. The WiFi was also free. There was an option to pay for a higher speed, but my kids and I were streaming and had no issues with performance. We highly recommend this hotel for families as it is also a close enough drive to downtown Newport and the beaches. If you are looking for a good rate, great customer service, and a family-friendly atmosphere, this hotel is worth it. I am giving this hotel 5 stars because of their great customer service and friendly staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
02842, Manager at Courtyard Newport Middletown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear John S,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Newport Middletown Courtyard Hotel. I was sorry to hear you had an issue with your tub, but happy we were able to clear it up quickly. We have reviewed our in room cleaning process and every room gets vacuumed each day and the housekeepers are paying closer attention to the guest belongings. It was unfortunate about the lap top but I am glad you were happy with the resolution. I will pass along your positive comments about our great service to our staff - thank you ! We look forward to another family visit soon !
Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here during a visit to Newport. This hotel is close to Newport without having to pay Newport prices. The food from the Bistro was excellent. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only thing that kept me from giving it the highest rating was housekeeping. We left for the day and made sure our Do not Disturb sign was in our room, but when we came back from our day in Newport, there was a bag of towels hanging from our door and a Do not Disturb sign hanging there as well. Our sign was still in our room. I think the Housekeeping staff was overwhelmed that day, but we didn't appreciate the "sneakiness" of the situation. We reported the situation and our room was cleaned pretty soon thereafter. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank judyeclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
02842, Manager at Courtyard Newport Middletown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Newport Middletown Courtyard Marriott. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that your found the room clean and comfortable. I am sorry there was a mix up with the Housekeeping service but happy to hear we were able to send someone right down to clean your room. Thank you for the great rating and we hope to see you again soon !
Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We reserved a room with a king size bed and a pullout sofa as there were 3 of us in our party. We were told we could have a room with 2 queen beds instead for the same price as they overbooked and had no kings available. We questioned the fact that we had reserved 2 weeks ahead! When we got to the room it was 2 double beds, not queens. We went to change and they did have one with 2 queens so we moved. We asked about continental breakfast and we're told there was none and that we could buy breakfast. If I'm going to buy breakfast, it's not going to be at a hotel. Really disappointed. For 379.00 night I expect a lot more.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
02842, Manager at Courtyard Newport Middletown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Newport Middletown Courtyard. I was sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. The front desk tried to move you to a room that would better meet your needs, unfortunately it took two rooms to meet those needs.
While Courtyards do not offer a free breakfast we are very proud of our Bistro which features Starbucks coffee and many grab and go items along with full freshly cooked breakfast entrees It'a a great way to start the day. I do hope if your travels bring you back to the area you would give us another opportunity to prove we are hear to provide you with a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here with my family so we could visit Newport and the "Cottages". It's off West Main Road near a lot of good, reasonably priced restaurants (Carmella's of Middletown) & is just 3 miles from the heart of Newport & the mansions.

The staff was friendly and knows the area really well. They had lots of suggestions & ideas of things to do in the area. The hotel itself is spotless and well maintained. Our room was very convenient, near the stairs and a side entrance on the 2nd floor. We had 2 Queen sized beds and a comfortable room.

It's like staying in Newport without Newport Prices

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim-V-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were running very late to check in and, called to advise - the customer service Sheila was absolutely accommodating and extremely friendly. When we finally checked in, it was almost midnight and, the reception were awaiting our arrival. We were kindly accommodated into two rooms next to each other (two couples). The rooms were phenomenal and the beds were very comfortable. Everything was immaculate. The only down side, was the ACs were a little loud.
It is conveniently located close to Newport and, with prices much better than Newport hotel prices!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabhel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

What a great welcome at checkin, all employees very helpful and friendly. Starbucks and breakfast/lunch inside. Extremely accommodating and close to Newport Beach/Cliff Walk/Newport Yacht Club with amazing weather! Would return in a heartbeat. Late checkout with no problem.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
3.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newport Middletown

Property: Courtyard Newport Middletown
Address: 9 Commerce Dr, Middletown, RI 02842-6292
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Newport Middletown provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. As one of the premier hotels in Middletown, RI, our 148 spacious guest rooms and suites offer luxury bedding, large work desks, ergonomic chairs, flat-screen TVs, and more. Unique among Middletown, RI hotels, our signature GoBoard(R) enables guests to stay current with the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves freshly-prepared meals, Starbucks(R), and evening cocktails. Our business center, with high-speed Internet access and complimentary printing services, stands out among nearby Newport, RI hotels. Business travelers will appreciate our convenient location and 1,449 sq. ft. of meeting space. Our hotel in Middletown is also ideal for students and parents interested in St. Georges School, Portsmouth Abbey, URI, Salve Regina, Roger Williams and Brown Universities. The Courtyard Newport Middletown, RI hotel offers the ultimate in productivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newport Middletown Hotel Middletown
Courtyard Middletown
Middletown Marriott
Middletown Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing