We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the Rodeway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown
Ranked #6 of 9 Middletown B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware of the Rodeway”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

You would think that for $135 a night, you wouldn't have to worry that you might be staying in a dump. We were wrong. Our room was really gross. It was on the first floor and literally opened onto a parking space (no curb or anything--but hey, you could just wheel a motorcycle right inside). The smell of mildew and carpet shampoo was overpowering, and the carpet seemed damp enough that we were afraid to walk on it barefoot. The sheets were stained and had been written on with a magic marker. The pillows felt like they were filled with oatmeal and had a strange odor too. The bathroom was old, not dirty, but just really worn out. It had two sad fluorescent bulbs on a track as the only light source. The room had a drop ceiling that was dirty and possibly moldy. But the bed was the worst. I just tried to touch as little of the sheets and blanket as possible during the night. I couldn't wait to leave in the morning. This place seems like the kind of hotel you might shell out $29.99 for if you're desperate--you can hold your nose and think of how much you're saving. But for the price, it's a bad deal. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money for a nicer place.

Room Tip: If there is one, I didn't see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Braema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    23
    15
    49
See reviews for
26
54
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We were on the balcony when we discovered we had locked ourselves out of the room. The young lady and the maintenance man were very gracious in getting us back in. (It wasn't easy). Overall the rooms were adequate for the price which is very cheap for being in Newport's backyard. If you want 5-stars then pay the price and stay in Newport.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levis, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Looks better on Internet than in reality. Bad smell in the corridors and in the room. Impossible to remove this smell, event if the AC works continuously. Minimal breakfast. Very disappointing overall. We should have paid more for a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GillesL2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Although the location was good for mine and my boyfriend's weekend in Middletown and Newport, the rest was horrible. The room we stayed in was small, the bathroom was very utilitarian, the tub did not drain, the room and AC smelled very musty, and to be honest, I think the place has bed bugs. Not worth the price in the least. Bypass your stay here, and pay the extra $$ for better amenities elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abuffone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whippany, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

this was the worst experience i've ever had in a hotel. i stayed here 3 years ago with no problems but things have clearly turned for the awful.

my boyfriend and i were grossed out by the smell in the hallways and room as we checked in. the whole place just felt very dank and grimy, stains all over the carpeting and bathroom. we decided to get takeout after a long 7 hour drive, but when we arrived back in our room, we just didn't feel comfortable with the sanitation issue. we decided to check the bed and sheets and lo-and-behold! when he lifted the mattress a bedbug ran across the box spring...

he caught it and killed it with a tissue, then we immediately packed everything up again, including our dinner, and went to the front desk. the disgust from seeing this in the bed i was going to sleep in was quickly replaced with anger at how inconsiderate the front desk woman was. we showed her the bug (which she denied was a bug of any kind) and gave us the "this hotel has no problem, what do you want me to do about it" routine. she would not provide her manager's info or a corporate number to call...we had to sit in the car looking for hotels on our laptop at 9pm...i guess i can thank them for the wi-fi if anything....

i'm so happy we looked under that bed, can't imagine bringing home an infestation after a vacation. will be back to beautiful newport, but this place....NEVER. EVER. AGAIN. what a DUMP. i see a few complimentary reviews here...please beware. enter at your own risk.

Room Tip: um, pick a room without bugs?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pollita86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The people who are posting positive reviews here are either hotel employees that want to keep their jobs, or just plain delusional. This is hands down the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms have not been renovated since the 60's, The smell in the hallways is awful. It must be a Section 8 hotel as there are people living there, i met a long term resident in the breakfast area. My advice- STAY FAR FAR AWAY.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelgirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I are visiting Rhode Island for our one year anniversary and Newport Folk Festival. Rodeway Inn was the only place not booked up in April so we thought we would be getting ourselves into a mess. I'm a HUGE read-review-before-I-book person to see how it rates, I dont necessarily listen or care, I just want to be safe. This Inn is very underrated. Our room is very comfortable and clean and conveniently located. Rodeway Inn is literally on the line that divides Newport and Middletown. It doesnt have a flat screen or alot of room to move around but we love it. And for the price on a crazy weekend like the one coming up, we couldnt be more blessed (500$ for 4 nights). You get a great location with out paying bookoos of money, and having to deal with what Im sure is a crazy nightlife scene.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
2.1 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Ramada Middletown Newport Area
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown
Address: 31 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-4932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing