We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown
Ranked #6 of 9 Middletown B&B and Inns
Coventry, RI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

A disgrace for the chain; tired and well-worn, holes in plus feces on blanket; ripped sheet; heat was inconsistent throughout rooms; outside stairs to get to 2nd floor rooms were beginning to rot; paint inside and out was scuffed and marked. On the plus side, the accomodations were clean and the beds were comfortable. But, would never go back. The price was cheap and was a reflection of the conditions.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    23
    14
    49
See reviews for
26
53
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay for just one night. Newport is a pricey area, so we were pleased with the $130 rate (inc. tax) we found and the pictures of the Roadway looked decent. We read the negative reviews posted and figured we'd give it a try and keep an open mind. The reviews on tripadvisor have never steered us wrong before and this time was no different. When we first arrived, we opened the door to the "lobby" and literally hit a guest that was checking in right in the butt with the door. Good thing we didn't bust right in, eh? There was such short clearance from the entrance to the check-in -desk. The young lady that checked us in was wearing jeans and a t-shirt. Come on. First impressions and appearance are everyhing in the hospitality industry. I get that Rodeway's are franchised sometimes, but are there no branding standards that require at least some semblance of a uniform? How about a name tag? The "business center" was immediately to the right and was an old wooden chair and a laptop. Beyond that was a room where they serve cereal and toast in the am. (We did not eat here). So on to the room...which was on the 2nd floor. We access our room from an old wooden stair case that has seen better days...stairs were worn, creaky, split. It was pouring rain and there were no stair treads which made them slippery and dangerous...especially when soaking wet! The room was a dreadful patch of furniture and lamps akin to being furnished by the Good Will. There was a fridge and a coffee maker but there was no way I was going to use water from the faucet to make coffee. The bathroom had been whitewashed with a coat of paint but since nothing was taped-off when painted, there were drips everywhere - onto the old 1980 pink tile, floor, doorknob, tub. This was the type of place where you want to where slippers or flip flops and not bare feet on the carpet or bathroom floor...think cheap college dormitory. There were no blackout curtains so the streetlight shown brightly in our window like a beacon all night. Cars roared by all night long although no fault of the hotel. It is on a very busy road at an intersection. What can I say that is good? The staff was friendly and bed was sorta comfy. We never felt "unsafe". It's not a bad area. Just a bad hotel. Needs a huge makeover. We were out most of the night to see a show - so for one night, that was enough. Not a good place for children - no pool, no game room, few amenities, Not a good place for handicapped or elderly either. Good place if you've had a few drinks at a local club and get in late and leave early! Good Lord, for $130 we weren't expecting the Ritz but that price was about $100 more than the room was worth.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel if you want a guaranteed good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Americangirl624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

You would think that for $135 a night, you wouldn't have to worry that you might be staying in a dump. We were wrong. Our room was really gross. It was on the first floor and literally opened onto a parking space (no curb or anything--but hey, you could just wheel a motorcycle right inside). The smell of mildew and carpet shampoo was overpowering, and the carpet seemed damp enough that we were afraid to walk on it barefoot. The sheets were stained and had been written on with a magic marker. The pillows felt like they were filled with oatmeal and had a strange odor too. The bathroom was old, not dirty, but just really worn out. It had two sad fluorescent bulbs on a track as the only light source. The room had a drop ceiling that was dirty and possibly moldy. But the bed was the worst. I just tried to touch as little of the sheets and blanket as possible during the night. I couldn't wait to leave in the morning. This place seems like the kind of hotel you might shell out $29.99 for if you're desperate--you can hold your nose and think of how much you're saving. But for the price, it's a bad deal. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money for a nicer place.

Room Tip: If there is one, I didn't see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Braema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We were on the balcony when we discovered we had locked ourselves out of the room. The young lady and the maintenance man were very gracious in getting us back in. (It wasn't easy). Overall the rooms were adequate for the price which is very cheap for being in Newport's backyard. If you want 5-stars then pay the price and stay in Newport.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levis, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Looks better on Internet than in reality. Bad smell in the corridors and in the room. Impossible to remove this smell, event if the AC works continuously. Minimal breakfast. Very disappointing overall. We should have paid more for a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GillesL2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Although the location was good for mine and my boyfriend's weekend in Middletown and Newport, the rest was horrible. The room we stayed in was small, the bathroom was very utilitarian, the tub did not drain, the room and AC smelled very musty, and to be honest, I think the place has bed bugs. Not worth the price in the least. Bypass your stay here, and pay the extra $$ for better amenities elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abuffone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whippany, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

this was the worst experience i've ever had in a hotel. i stayed here 3 years ago with no problems but things have clearly turned for the awful.

my boyfriend and i were grossed out by the smell in the hallways and room as we checked in. the whole place just felt very dank and grimy, stains all over the carpeting and bathroom. we decided to get takeout after a long 7 hour drive, but when we arrived back in our room, we just didn't feel comfortable with the sanitation issue. we decided to check the bed and sheets and lo-and-behold! when he lifted the mattress a bedbug ran across the box spring...

he caught it and killed it with a tissue, then we immediately packed everything up again, including our dinner, and went to the front desk. the disgust from seeing this in the bed i was going to sleep in was quickly replaced with anger at how inconsiderate the front desk woman was. we showed her the bug (which she denied was a bug of any kind) and gave us the "this hotel has no problem, what do you want me to do about it" routine. she would not provide her manager's info or a corporate number to call...we had to sit in the car looking for hotels on our laptop at 9pm...i guess i can thank them for the wi-fi if anything....

i'm so happy we looked under that bed, can't imagine bringing home an infestation after a vacation. will be back to beautiful newport, but this place....NEVER. EVER. AGAIN. what a DUMP. i see a few complimentary reviews here...please beware. enter at your own risk.

Room Tip: um, pick a room without bugs?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pollita86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
2.1 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown
Address: 31 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-4932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing