We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare in Middletown, R.I.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown
Ranked #6 of 9 Middletown B&B and Inns
Fremont, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nightmare in Middletown, R.I.”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I give this no circle rating! We were on an extended trip with this being our second stop to help our Grandson celebrate his graduation from Officer's Candidate School. I paid $382.00 for 2 rooms for our family. We found a gold bracelet on the bathroom floor along with a lot of hair. There was hair in the wash cloth when I took a shower. The shower did not drain, and we had to stand in water up to our ankles. The refrigerator had food from the last people staying there. Obviously the room had not been cleaned. In the morning I told the hotel clerk the room was not acceptable, and had to be cleaned. When we got back from the graduation, the same bracelet was in the same spot as the day before, there was still hair on the floor, the waste baskets were emptied so someone was in the room. We stayed at 5 other choice hotels on our trip, and I have no complaint what so ever. My advise, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: This is not a place for anyone to stay!!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mildred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    23
    14
    49
See reviews for
26
53
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Kisco, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our intentions were not to stay the night in RI but 5pm came too soon too fast and driving back to NY no longer sounded like a great idea. We reserved a King size bed through the Visitor Center in Newport, RI. It was the only place within our budget but definitely not worth what we paid. For another $50 you could probably stay at a Hilton or Sheraton or Marriott and not have to deal with
1. dirty carpet
2. loud banging of doors
3. loud road/car noise
4. the room smelling of curry
5. light bulb out
6. receptionist looking like she hasn't slept in years
7. (Specifically our room) 2 creepy locked closets that might be used as storage...just creepy.
8. noisy AC

I think I'm done with this list but if i remember any other details I'll be sure to edit, but I think I'd rather forget this experience.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the road are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuky129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. It was booked by an organization we were working with. The room had dead bugs on two walls. The floor lamp shade was barely attached. The furniture was beat up. There were cigarette holes in the blankets and stains on the pillows (blood). The one pillow was so disgusting when I looked under the the pillowcase that I was worried about lice. The freezer was caked with brown ice. The shower took 15 minutes to get hot and it didn't drain so we stood in our own filth. The room was never cleaned while we stayed there. The ring of dirt from the shower not draining was enough to make you want to throw up. I didn't want to complain for fear they would overcharge my credit card. As it was the rates were higher than quoted. 89 instead of 79 and on the weekend 178 a night. The phone did not work and it looked like alcoholics or drug addicts staying in a room below us. Service was horrible. Ran out of toilet paper and tissue. How does that happen. All they did was make the beds, put in towels and empty the trash. Never cleaned or vacuumed. The beds were horrible!! The electrical sockets on the bed lamp didn't work. Disgusting room!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pay more or sleep in your car!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wappingers falls, ny
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here while visiting Newport last weekend for three reasons (1) It's one of the few places in the area that will allow a one-night stay on the weekend. (2) It's cheap (3) location to downtown Newport.

We were given the room right next to the door for the front desk. It was loud being that we were right on the street and could hear motorcycles and cars going by all night long. Very musty smell in the room and in the front desk area. A couple of burn holes in the bedding and curtains. However there were no bugs and the sheets looked clean. Shower didn't look too clean. Would we stay here again? Well if it was a last minute thing perhaps....but we will definitely plan ahead in the future and try to get in at the holiday inn or something.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We needed a room to stay during the Newport Jazz Festival. Initially we had planned to stay with friends, but plans fell through and I had to look for a room. One of the only places with a vacancy was this Rodeway Inn and now I know why. At $152 a night (jacked up for fesitval weekend, I'm sure) I expected the room to at least be clean. The room was very small and jammed with old, beat up furniture. The two of us kept bumping into each other! No flat screen TV (as stated on the website), it was a huge monster of a TV on a huge cabinet that took up 1/4 of the room. The cabinet was so dusty I wrote "dust me" on top with my finger. It was angled in a corner and the space behind it hasn't seen a dust rag or vacuum in ages. I took pictures, but they didn't come out well enough to post. The sheets were not only thin enough that you could see through them, they didn't fit the bed! We were on the second floor, room 217, and apparently at the bottom of the steps leading up to our room is a smoker's gathering place - littered with cigarette butts and beer cans. We had 2 sets of towels when we checked in, We try to be "green" when possible, so we hung our towels on the rack to dry, intending to use them again. The next day, the cleaning staff removed the towels and never left clean ones -- I had to go down to the desk to get clean towels. We were booked for 3 nights and unfortunately there was just no other place to go, or I would have. Truly a shame, as it is in a great location for visiting Newport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Fifties style motel under slow renovation, so that there are nicely tiled surrounds to tired tubs, newly painted doors with splintery bottoms, and a used linen bin in the middle of the hallway. All of this would have been endurable since we only needed a place to sleep while attending the Folk Festival, however the low price drew a gang of drunken young adults who loudly rampaged until 3:30 AM. The folks running the place are extremely helpful and are trying hard to bring this place up to standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandmas_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very clean and private. I was hesitant to stay here a second time after seeing all of the negative reviews. The room was spotless and the air conditioner was great! Don't understand all of the negative reviews. It is a little out dated and after speaking with the owner he told me they are in the process of re-modeling and have changed the cleaning staff. All in all I would recommend the Rodeway Inn!

Room Tip: pets are allowed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
2.1 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown
Address: 31 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-4932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing