We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome accommodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A few of my friends decided we needed an escape 2 nights away. Since Valentine's Day was approaching, we knew we had to make it for just before, or just after. We went with Wednesday before. Between four of us, we decided to go with 2 suites (1 was plenty big enough, but we wanted to splurge). We rented the "corner 2 king bed suite with living room and full kitchen, and a 2 king bed suite with living room and partial kitchen. They were so luxurious, we wanted to buy one if it were an option. The sofas in each of our LR opened to a queen size bed, too! Each suite came with 2 full baths! They overlooked the beaches in Middletown/Newport and both had Juliet balconies. Unfortunately, when we checked in, we found out that their bar and restaurant were only opened on weekends during off season. Had they told me this when I called to make the reservation, I may have chosen another hotel since we didn't care venturing out for our meals. Nonetheless, we survived and it was an awesome time.

Room Tip: The corner suite in the new building is huge! You won't regret it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eyesofbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
There are newer reviews for Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very Nice place!, Stayed in the New property which has comfy beds, & kitchen. Lots to do in all seasons in the surrounding area. Great couples getaway.

The only item we did not like is the couch in the suites are very uncomfortable Pillows would rectify the situation short term but long term they should buy better ones.

Their restaurant is not always open for dinner which is understandable in winter. However the desk staff should mention it or write it on the marquee outside the restaurant entrance as we saw a nice dinner special advertised only to be let down.
Coupons would have been nice to the local eateries within walking distance.

When you book online the system tends to give you the Handicapped suite for some reason.
This has happened twice to us. I know I am 54 but not in need of that suite :). Make sure you ask when you check in. .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Very clean hotel. Great location! Walked to the beach across the street. Plenty of restaurants in a close walking distance. Stayed in a suite which has a kitchen so we were able to make a nice little breakfast. Check in and check out we're easy and associates friendly. Would love to return in the spring!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was our first experience with the Newport Beach Hotel. I was looking for a place not far from Connecticut where I could take my 4 year old grandson to go swimming. His mother came along and we had a great time. The one bedroom suite suited our needs perfectly. It was clean and comfortable right down to the plush bathrobes. The hotel itself is in a great location. The staff especially those at the desk at check in were extremely helpful and friendly. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackl1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the New Suites Building One King Bedroom last weekend and loved it! The room was beautiful and very clean. The staff was friendly and we had a beautiful view from our room. The hotel is only about a 5 minute drive to the mansions and all the restaurants on Broadway and Thames streets. The suite had a TV/DVD player in both the bedroom and the living area and the kitchen had all cooking utensils. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I and our two young children stayed here for a very cold weekend in November. I really enjoyed this place - it has an off-beat charm that appealed to me. We were in a very spacious two-bedroom suite, and we all slept extremely well on the comfy beds (great linens!). We had a view of the water from our bed, the bathrooms were large and well-outfitted, and we loved having the kitchen available for making easy meals. All four of us loved the heated pool (it was very warm, verging on hot) and we swam a lot over the course of the freezing weekend. We are hoping to return in summer - we were charmed by this place.

Room Tip: We were in the newer building with a water view - lovely!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleAgeMiddleClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Second time staying for New Years Eve. Found staff very friendly and helpful. Large room had spectacular view. Bed extremely comfortable. Did not use dinning room, spa or pool. Would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Check the difference for water view, may be worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimCauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#14 of 18 in Middletown
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Breeze Inn
The Sea Breeze Inn
#7 of 18 in Middletown
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: £75 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing