We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel. A couple of times what brings me back. Other views of the ocean and or the reservoir, and easy access to go visit Newport or just walk on Easton Beach, the rooms are clean and are ready for you on a daily basis.

Room Tip: The second building across from the main office. If you can go to the upper floors on the south side...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
There are newer reviews for Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is likely a fifties beach hotel that has been nicely upgraded and renovated. The hotel is actually across the road from the beach and is located about three miles outside of downtown Newport.
Our room was really a suite with two bedrooms and two bathrooms as well as a well equipped kitchen. Perfect set up for a family traveling together. The carpets and hardwood floors were obviously new and the appliances were good quality. Bathrooms were all upgraded with white tile and marble and the beds were excellent.

Generally, I would say this was a very good vacation hotel, but at $500.00 per night, I thought it was a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are right over the parking lot. Nice view but a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked our room through virgin holidays. Price was good. We were given a room in the historic hotel, which we asked to change after one night due to the constant drone of the ventilation system and subsequent rattling windows. Emily from Reception offered us another room in the historic hotel straight away or for an additional charge we could move to the newer building. We decided to stay in the historic hotel. Our bags were moved with no inconvenience to us. We ate a very good breakfast in the hotel restaurant each morning and a nice evening meal when the restaurant was open on the Friday evening.
If you go to the historic hotel expect quirky. If you want modern and spacious opt fr the suites. Would we return to this hotel - yes we would.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank marpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great hotel for a group! We had 8 women and the suites are so spacious and amenable to a crowd. The rooms are very clean and well stocked (especially liked the paraben-free bathroom toiletries). Location is fantastic. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stafford M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We returned today from a two night stay in Newport and this was our first time staying at this hotel. We rented a two bedroom suite and there was plenty of room for four adults and two toddlers. The suite was beautiful and had every amenity we needed. We used the indoor pool and jacuzzi which was very nice and there is a great roof top area with a fire pit and another jacuzzi. The location of this hotel is perfect. It is right across the street from a beautiful public beach and right on the line between Newport and Middletown. You are minutes from downtown Newport so don't hesitate to choose this hotel because it is located in Middletown. We will definitely return to this hotel any time we want to visit Newport. We would choose a two bedroom suite if we were traveling with another couple because the layout is ideal. You will not be disappointed with this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfn0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I am happy I didn't read their reviews before I went to this hotel because I might have changed my mind. We had a girls getaway weekend and I could not have been happier with the service and location of this hotel. We had a 2 bedroom corner suite and it was amazing. They thought of everything! The room had a washer and dryer a dishwasher and even dishes! We loved the ambiance of the room so much we decided to eat in the first night. The rooms and the bathroom were immaculate and the roof top spa was heavenly (wish I was there right now!) Whatever this hotel is doing they are giving 110% and it reflects in the way they treat their guests from check in to check out and I have not one complaint. I read some of the negative reviews and all I can say is "you get what you pay for". If you want to save money, stay across the street. If you are looking for a very relaxing getaway, this is the place to go. and it's worth every penny!!

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom Corner Suite
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arrived on a Monday and upon checking in, we were told that the pool and both jaccuzi's were not working and then when we asked about the bar/restaurant on the property- we were told it is only open during the weekend. We had a room in the historic building, which my bedroom at home was bigger. No mention of the maintance on the website of the pools or that the restaurant is not open during the week. The bed also has seen better days.......way to soft. I had a coupon for this hotel, so I think what I paid was worth it, but not a penny more. We checked out at 7:00am after a sleepless night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,036 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#14 of 18 in Middletown
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Breeze Inn
The Sea Breeze Inn
#7 of 18 in Middletown
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: £75 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing