We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it - very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it - very relaxing”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great room, great view on the 4th floor over looking the ocean and the beach in the historic building. Just walk across the street to the beach. Had to goto the other building for the hot tub on the roof but it was a 5 minute walk and the sunset was beautiful. I felt like we had the best of all worlds, views and a 10 minute drive to the heart of Newport. Very worth it and I will definitely come back. One thing they have to work on is the wifi... kept cutting out, but besides that.. just a great vacation.

Room Tip: top floor facing the ocean. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyoung1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    255
    138
    90
    96
See reviews for
286
388
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We came here on the the recommendation of a close friend.

What a mistake. The manager on duty, evidently an young HR person, was ignorant, rude, and uncaring. My only concern was that the room was not cleaned properly...

As a person who travels for a living, this is completely inconsistent with my expectations. This is the first and last time I take my family to this hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HoldenBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middletown hotels

Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have mixed feelings writing this review as I had a great time while I as in Newport for a friend's wedding, but, the hotel we spent two nights in just wasn't worth it. It's 2 miles from Thames Street and downtown, if you're spending that kind of money I would choose a hotel in that area as opposed to this one. It is right across the street from First Beach and ABC which is perfect if all you're looking for is a beach weekend. That being said, the staff didn't seem to have it all together. They called the incorrect phone number to inform us our room was ready - not entirely sure how you call the bride of the weekend instead of the registered guests but, oh well we got the message an hour later from the bride that we could go to our room. Housekeeping doesn't seem to have the most strategic approach to room order when cleaning, and took about an hour and a half to get us back into our room on Sunday afternoon - I should've just passed on it all together since I know we didn't get clean sheets. The hotel bar/restaurant doesn't serve lunch - breakfast and 5:00 pm re-opening for dinner only. They advertise an ocean view and yes you can see the ocean but you can also hear every single car drive by in the morning since the road you are on is very busy. The cherry on top was hearing the front desk staff talk poorly about other hotel guests after a phone call - I overheard as I was sitting on the couches in the lobby waiting for my friends. My suggestion is save your money and stay some where a little cheaper, or stay downtown if you're looking for a hotel that will delivery impeccable service for the rate you are paying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My friends and I come here every year and every year we have an issue at check in.
This year they told us we have to wait as they were still cleaning the rooms. When we finally get on an elevator (only one) in the hotel. We get to the room and realize it is not the correct floor or room. We get the same room every year because it has two bedrooms and a living room. One of the rooms has two beds in it the other has one. We can all fit comfortably. So we have a cart full of luggage and can not get the elevator again! The workers were on it with huge containers. I am pretty sure we waited over 15 minutes all to go down one floor! So unorganized this place.
This year they had new employees from Russia who could not speak English. We felt so bad for the young man who tried to help us with our luggage. After the confusion about the correct room, he left our cart of luggage and us to fend for ourselves . We did not see him again until later in the evening.
One year they did not let us check in until after 5:00 p.m. They gave us a drink on the house while we waited for our room.
They need some better management...If it only happened once I understand, but every year is crazy.
We do love the spot of the hotel as it is across from the beach, which is great. The Atlantic Beach club has a bar and food available for us while we sun bathe! A good spot if you like the beach and don't want to drive to it! Overall, always clean and neat and a great location!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdaniele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The positives - it is in a great location for visiting Newport, touring the mansions, and walking on Easton's Beach. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The negatives - the first room we were in was very small especially the bathroom which was about the size of a cruise ship bathroom. We asked to be moved to a room with a bathtub which was listed on our reservation. They did move us to a room with a king bed (from the queen room). It was oddly shaped but larger than the first one. The layout was awkward. One of our windows did not close entirely so the road noise was quite noticeable. The bathroom was larger than the first but the fixtures were placed oddly so that the door could not open all the way because it hit the toilet seat. The one elevator is slow and used by the staff for housekeeping as well. The free wifi was spotty at best and you are required to login repeatedly if your computer or tablet goes in sleep mode. I would recommend that if you are planning to stay here that you select one of the suite rooms in the newer building.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WI_Visitor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the main building in a standard room with a queen bed. The hotel has an interesting configuration where there is an elevator but depending on the room, you may have to walk up and down some steps. Our room was a funny shape and it made it hard to figure out where to put our suitcases. Other than that, the room was fine.

Short walk to the beach and nice walk to the Cliff walk. Good location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WrightGirl724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff was very friendly and accomadating. The ocean view was wonderful. We absolutely loved the roof top hot tub and fireplace. The short walk across the street to the beach and the beach bar was so nice and convienient.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Hotel
#15 of 18 in Middletown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Property: Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing