We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Sea Whale Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Whale Motel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2005

This motel was absolutely perfect. We have been to Newport three or four times and have stayed in "pricier" places but this beats them all. Since we were with two other couples this time, we were trying to find something in the moderate price range. The motel was lovely, the rooms were immaculate, and the location was perfect. The owners were friendly and helpful. We will definitely choose this one again.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bcbcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 134 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Yorktown Heights, New York
116
Reviewed 11 July 2005

We have been staying at the Sea Whale for the last five years, even before the present owners took over. The motel is very clean and within walking distance to the beach. We stop on our way to pick up coffee and the newspapers every morning and keep walking right onto the beach. The owners are delightful and very accomodating and they remember us from year to year. If you stay from Monday through Friday, the weekend is thrown in for free. The restaurants within walking distance are very good and quite reasonable during the week. We'll drive into Newport a few times during our stay, but it's very pleasant not to be in the middle of town with all the noise and activity. A very good bargain compared to the other resort prices in the area.

Stayed: August 2000
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
116
Reviewed 21 June 2005

This motel is right next to Newport, RI. It has a nice view of Easton's Pond and the cliff walk. The rooms are clean and just fine. It has a nice little balcony to watch to sunset.

We choose to stay in Middleton rather than Newport because the accomodations are less expensive. I choose the Sea Whale based on price and was so happy to find the inn was in walking distance of the Newport Cliff walk and mansions and that the view was nice.

When I saw the other most of the other Middleton chain hotels they were sandwiched in between strip malls and had no view.

For the price this is an excellent place to stay. The owners are nice too.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miyavi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chrischtl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze al primo piano sono più luminose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aleli83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: correct mais attention bruit de la clim et aspect vieillot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JochemParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middletown hotels
0.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Newport
0 mi away
The Sea Breeze Inn
The Sea Breeze Inn
#6 of 18 in Middletown
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
#16 of 18 in Middletown
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Whale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Whale Motel

Address: 150 Aquidneck Ave, Route 138A, Middletown, RI 02842-5610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: £79 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Whale Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-occupied motel located on Easton's Pond in the Atlantic Beach District of Middletown. Walk to beaches (400 yards to First Beach / Easton's Beach / Newport Beach) and the Rotunda, the Newport Cliff Walk and local dining including Johnny's Atlantic Beach Club ("The ABC"), Flo's Clam Shack, Easton's Point Pub, Atlantic Grille, Aquidneck Pizza, Tickets Sports Bar and many more. Two miles to downtown Newport and mansions. All rooms are non-smoking and have the following amenities: coffee-makers with morning coffee and tea, cable TV with remote, phones with free local calls, microwaves, refrigerators, free high-speed wireless internet access (must have own laptop), blow-dryers, irons and boards, private bath/shower combo, private entrances on both levels. Sorry... no pets or animals allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sea Whale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Whale Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing