We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining for all the wrong reasons”
Review of Bay Willows Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Willows Inn
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We chose this place for a girls weekend getaway to Newport because of price, and availability. We happened to plan the weekend before knowing that it was coinciding with the Jazz Festival, which explains why everything else was booked up, and this place had only 2 rooms left at the time we booked it. It was the cheapest we could find, but still pretty pricy (although not by Newport standards). The location is great, it's a 5 minute drive to put you right in the middle of Newport. Easy to find, ample parking, clean and safe parking lot and surrounding area.

We had Room 19, which had it's own cute little front porch area. The dead-bolt lock on the door didn't work - the main lock on the doorknob did work, but I tend to prefer the added security of a deadbolt when staying in hotels.

The room itself was clean, but definitely had a 1970's vibe from the walls, carpet, curtains, dark wood furniture, fixtures and the bathroom (black and pink tile!) They also tried really hard for the nautical theme to go along with the beach theme...didn't always pull it off.

Speaking of pulling it off, my friend closed off the door that separates the "foyer" of the room from the sleeping area and the doorknob literally came off in her hand when she pulled it to try to get it open again.

The staff were nice and friendly. We checked in around midnight and the gentleman waited to give us the key instead of just leaving it for us like he had said he would. Although, this could have been because we originally we bringing 2 dogs with us, and changed our mind last minute so he may have wanted to make sure he didn't have to charge us for dogs. He gave us a little "goody" bag with an apple, bottle of water, cookies, Starburst, and 2 Dunkin Donut gift cards for $5.00 which was unexpected and a nice surprise! They had an area set up in the lobby with coffee and tea.

The shower worked well, water was hot and a good pressure. The towels were larger than most cheap hotel towels, and there were extras in the closet, along with extra pillows... there was a lovechair in the "foyer" that could pull out to sleep one more person, so the extras were probably for if there were a 3rd person, but only having 2 people, we enjoyed the extras being there.

No hair dryer in the room, but the front desk ran one over to us when we asked for one. The phone in the room is the old school Conair phones, and they don't work...also a bit entertaining.

The rooms are very dated, yes...but they're clean and comfortable. And what are you in Newport for?? Probably not to stay in your hotel room all day... It served it's purpose as a place to sleep each night, and to take a shower. My friend and I are not very high-maintenance and we saw it as an adventure, and really enjoyed ourselves. More "prissy" people may have problems with this place.

For future visits, I would probably look around at my other options, but if it came down to having to stay here again, I totally would.

Room Tip: Room 19 has it's own patio and only shares one wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This motel seems to have changed hands recently and the new owners are renovating the motel bit by bit.

At arrival we were greeted by a very friendly lady, we were given a bag with some gifts (water, sweets, candybar) which was not expected for such a cheap motel. Also, as they were renovating the breakfast room that we couldn't use, we got some gift cards for Dunkin' Donuts just across the road. Not a perfect breakfast, but a nice gesture for us guests. Also, at reception you can get complimentary fruit, all times of the day. Very thoughtful.

The room was as clean as it gets: nothing is new, so not perfectly shining, and you do still smell some old smoking odors in the carpet, but the cleaner did a great job making it as clean as possible.

All the usual is found in the room (we had a suite, so double rooms): extra couch, desk, chair, TV, good spacious bed, and perfectly working WiFi.

At night there is some noise from the road, but nothing to keep us from sleeping.

All in all, this is a basic but very nice motel, that is cheap but perfect for a few nights while visiting Newport.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank broset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We try to stay with locally owned housing. This Inn is the old 50's, 60's style building but updated to beachy. Room #15 had a very comfortable king bed, night stands, desk and dresser with marble tops, a small flat screen t.v. and 2 red leather arm chairs I wish I could take home with me. We arrived around noon and they were very accommodating and had no problem letting us have the room early. They also gave us a goody bag with water bottles, fresh fruit, some candy and several other munchie packets. My husband asked about the estates we wanted to see and they gave him several booklets and needed information. We have read some of the poor reviews but we would go back there again. During the off season, they allow needy people to stay in the rooms for a small amount of money so they have a shelter. oops, I almost forgot to tell you about the beautiful flowers in barrels outside of the doors. And the bathroom has the original pink tiled shower from when this Inn was first open. Give them a try!

Room Tip: King size bed in #15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Bay Willows Inn is not a $300+/ night hotel chain and will not live up to those expectations, nor should it.
It is an independent motel 15 minutes away from everything in Newport at a fraction of the cost.
We were wary based on other reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised.
It's a clean, comfortable, affordable, pet-friendly place to lay your head while exploring Rhode Island.
We will be back!

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank ChefCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is the perfect spot for everyone. It is clean, the staff are extremely friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. The price is just right, too, compared to other hotels in the area. For our stay, the breakfast nook was being renovated and the staff gave us all Dunkin Donuts gift cards each day of our 4 day stay. The building is a little old, but they are doing a nice job of making it aesthetically pleasing by putting beautiful flowers all around. Only a five minute drive from downtown Newport and the Navy base, this is the place you want to stay for friendly service at a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreenIsGenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

dirty, no maid service, overpriced
Stayed here because there were few available rooms on this weekend
Perhaps , we should have traveled further for a room- this place was filthy with garbage outside and no clean towels next day
and all for a deal of $160 per night ! robbery !

Room Tip: Bettter off going further if this is the only room available -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lenore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Where do I begin? Because we only needed a room for one night (Saturday), this was the only place we could find since everywhere else required a 2-night minimum. We pulled into this establishment around 3:30 in the afternoon and it reminded me distantly of Bate's Motel. Maybe it was the run down look, maybe it was the 'residents' hanging outside their rooms in nightware with butts hanging out of their mouths, maybe it was the shower with no tub and a tiled bathroom that was straight out of the 40's with a floor that I wouldn't walk on barefoot. Nevermind that it took 3 flushes of the toilet to get it right. The room itself appeared to be clean and the kingsized bed was comfortable enough - even had an indoor 'patio' with busted up fake wicker chairs, stained carpeting and a gross sofa that I wouldn't attempt to sit on. Thank goodness the TV and WiFi worked. However, we could not stay any longer than was necessary. We were outta there by 8:30 the next morning and will NEVER be back. This experience was a very painfull one to our wallet since, by comparison, we once stayed in the presidential suite at a hotel in the Boston seaport area for less than this hole in the wall cost! Total rip off.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ctwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
1.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Willows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Willows Inn

Address: 1225 Aquidneck Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5255
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: £50 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bay Willows Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Willows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Willows Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing