We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only place ill stay when I'm in the area!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only place ill stay when I'm in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

For the price you can't go wrong! I stay in the Newport area around the holidays I enjoy doing touristy things like overpaying to look at the same mansion I've already seen three times just because its all decorated for Christmas. That's why when it comes to a hotel less is more! This is the best place to stay if you've got kids. The pool is always clean and warm. There's a good sized hot tub and its very sanitary. Plus there's a hot sauna. I love the complimentary breakfast. As long as you can muster up your group before breakfast closes or gets too picked over you can cut one meal a day out of your spending budget! Staff is wonderful and the price is great. Again, nice place to stay if you've got kids because there's stuff to entertain them right across the street., there's a movie theater with some arcade games. Plus There's a dollar store close by so you can stop in for crayons or other travel must haves without paying an arm and a leg!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    147
    64
    38
    23
See reviews for
132
129
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is not a luxury property and cannot be held to that standard. However, for a moderately priced facility, it exceeded my expectations in many ways..

The staff members were professional and friendly. My room, No. 145, was on the backside of the hotel and was extremely quiet. I enjoyed three great nights of uninterrupted rest. The pool area was clean and inviting and the exercise room was well appointed.

The morning breakfast was nicely presented and appetizing with a wide variety of choices.

This property is centrally located on Aquidneck Island with easy access to highways, shopping, restaurants and Newport. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated on a busy road and the parking is outisde of the rooms on the front side. I e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a nice-looking hotel that always delivers less than you expect. I've stayed here before and written middling reviews. I wasn't really considering booking here again, but got a jaw-droppingly low price via Kayak, so, okay. First thing: This hotel seems to court groups of visiting sports teams, so be prepared for noise. (You'll figure out who's been making it when your dining companions at breakfast include gangly guys holding lacrosse sticks.) Perhaps because of the clientele, cleanliness can take a hit at times - smashed Cheetos on the carpet in the stairwell; the occasional sports-bar wrapper in the hall. The rooms are comfy and well-appointed, but the walls are thin and if someone above you is being a little raucous, you will be aware of it. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet was ample. Yet you just can never fully let down your guard here, because something always seems to go wrong. On this visit, it was the maid service. We returned after 12 hours out, looking forward to flopping into our tidy beds, only to discover the maid had never paid a call. Our beds were unmade, we had no towels, and the old wet ones were still on the floor. I went downstairs to speak to the night manager who immediately gave me towels and toiletries. He took my info and assured me that the general manager, Susanne Bruneau, would be calling me in the morning, and asked for a good time to call. Susanne never called, of course. I saw her in the morning at checkout and she seemed surprised, insisting she had no clue that I'd spoken to the night guy. Her immediate response was that since we had booked our room through a third party, no adjustment could be made to our bill (and yet I hadn't asked for an adjustment, nor did I expect one). Apparently, they are operating two hotels - one for people who make their rez thru Holiday Inn, and a second-class operation for anyone who uses a reservation service (although Holiday Inn participates in those services). Susanne said sorry and goodbye. I think that was poor management and a missed opportunity to make things right with a customer. I needed only a proactive call and an apology. In all our stay was passable, but Susanne and her team weren't up to snuff, nor did we really receive the kind of basic service we paid for.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miatagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear miatagirl,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay in our hotel again. It is really nice to know that you liked our breakfast buffet selections. On the other hand, my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the unsatisfactory service you received from the staff. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Middletown.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We checked into this hotel after being disappointed by another area hotel. We had stayed at this hotel a year before and we felt comfortable to return to a place that was familiar. Our room smelled fairly clean (no tobacco smells or moldy smells). However, when I inspected underneath the bedding I was not pleased to find human hairs on the sheets. The vents also had not been vacuumed in ages so all the soot was trapped therein. It looks like housekeeping is cutting some corners on cleaning here and they are doing the bare minimum.

We tried the free breakfast provided by the hotel and it was the same old type we had tried the previous year; everything tasted like it was either from a can or pre-made at a factory and rehydrated before it was served to the customers. In other words there nothing fresh tasting about the free breakfast. They however have their signature pancake making machine to entertain you while you are there, but all in all their breakfast is too generic that I did not want to even try it again on the second day.

One thing that surprised me at this hotel was the fact that they do not care to shovel the snow on the side door entrances where we had parked. We had to climb over a pile of snow in order to access our car and it appeared that management did not care enough about customer safety to even ask their staff to clear the entrances. Last year when we stayed at this hotel everything looked fairly new and clean but now things are starting to deteriorate and I would not be surprised to find a worse hotel by this time next year (that is if management continues to overlook means of improving and reinventing themselves). I will only stay at this hotel as a last resort or if I am completely out of cash.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musiklef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear musiklef,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for New Years...decent location if you don't mind a cheap cab ride to newport. The walls in the hotel were pretty thin but the the rooms were very nice and the hotel was clean. Would stay here again for the price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank amaral_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Spent three nights here in December, just after Christmas. Downside was a huge group of children staying for a hockey competition with parents who seemed unfamiliar with any form of discipline! Management seemed to get it calmed down after the first night and gave us a discount so all fine. As always, our top floor room was comfortable and clean with a king bed, fridge, microwave, TV and DVD player. Breakfast is the usual fare for this type of hotel, and is adequate rather than wonderful, though the bagels are very fresh and the muffins are tasty. This was our fifth stay here in 2013, and probably the sixteenth stay overall, and we keep coming back because it is good value, wonderfully convenient for Newport and close to our favorite local restaurant, Anthony's Seafood. Also, the staff are excellent; helpful & friendly.

Room Tip: Top floor is best; no one clumping around above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trancedevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed here for a wedding in nearby Newport, and everything was fine. 1 King bed with a sofabed and we were able to get a Crib as well for no charge. Everything was clean, and the room was spacious enough that the 4 of us did not feel overly cramped. Granted we did not spend a ton of time in the room. The minifridge and microwave were also helpful as we tend to travel with food due to some allergies. Provided breakfast is always a plus for us, and this was a decent spread. The hot items included their signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon biscuits and gravy. Cereal fruit and yogurt were available as well. This was the first time I had seen an automated pancake make, and it was interesting, but the end product was more rubbery than fluffy.

The location was good with stores nearby for essentials, and Chili's sharing the parking lot. Our trip into Newport was relatively painless, although being October, we were not dealing with heavy traffic. We also benefitted from a discounted blocked room rate, so it's tough to say how it measures up value wise at full price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav3l1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Trav3l1er,

I appreciate you taking the time to review your experience with us. I am glad that you found our rooms to be spacious and well maintained and our location was suitable for your needs.

I hope we get the chance to host you again soon should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middletown hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.5 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Address: 855 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Newport, Beaches, The Newport Mansions and so much more; Holiday Inn Express Middletown is the perfect retreat from a long day of adventures and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing