We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location to Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed two nights. Above average Holiday Inn Express. Well maintained. Nice room, friendly staff, near to Newport without the traffic. Priced better than most in area. Our room had a DVD player so we rented a movie down the street from Redbox.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked a suite with a kitchenette, living room area and separate bedroom. Plenty of room and there is a pull-out bed in the sofa if you have additional guests. The room was clean and roomy. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of pillows! A full breakfast downstairs every morning and 24 coffee, tea, etc. Five minutes from the heart of Newport and all the attractions. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank brooklyntravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for being our guests at the Holiday Inn Express in Middletown/Newport and writing such a great review.

Guests enjoy our convenient location, just minutes from downtown Newport. Our complimentary breakfast is a favorite amenity of many of our guests, and we also offer an indoor pool, hot tub, fitness facility, business center, Wi-Fi, and Chili’s Restaurant on site.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were going to a wedding in Newport and looking for a low-cost way to stay nearby. Holiday Inn Express ended up being a great value- the room was clean and quiet, the cost was lower than average in the area by almost half, and breakfast and wifi were free. Staff was warm, though we didn't require much beyond checking in. A car is a must, but Newport attractions are a very short ride away and there are some great local restaurants very, very nearby (Anthony's Seafood and Becky's BBQ were both amazing). The area just isn't walkable.

Room Tip: Back-facing tend to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Clean hotel, great for a quick getaway with my daughters. Right down the street from Newport and close to all main attractions with a short drive. Not fancy but comfortable. Staff was cordial. Needs updating though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mygirls412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear mygirls412,
Thank you for your recent review of the HIE Middletown. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while traveling to the Newport area. We value feedback and use it constantly to improve our service and amenities. We are currently working on several projects to rejuvenate the hotel and welcome your return in the future to see our progression.
Yours in Hospitality,
Derek Vance
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I reserved two rooms a month ahead for a birthday weekend in Newport. I called the hotel the day before to request quiet rooms on upper floor if at all possible but I could already tell by the tone of the clerk that that request wouldn't even be noted. Checked in at five and was given one queen bedded room and a king room which I was told they only had left as available. I heard several times during this that "We are sold out". So I guess they use this as an excuse to assign rooms willy billy. Good for you. Why should that mean that the specific rooms requested haven't been set aside? Needless to say, the sofa bed was horrible. It had dirty, old sheets that needed to be changed. And we were put on different floors which was the only thing the clerk told me we would have when I called the day before. Buyer be ware! Paid a hefty $630 with taxes for the two rooms to be treated like dirt. Never again! Expect to have your requests totally ignored.

Room Tip: Don't count on the wifi working. We couldN't connect. Bring earplugs as you will need them f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank happytrailsEaston_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear happytrailsEaston_CT,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize we were not able to honor your request as this is subject to availability upon arrival. We also apologize you were not satisfied with the room you had and the service you received. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked our two night stay using timeshare points. We had a room on the first floor. I was worried that it could get loud being right next to the parking lot, but it was pretty quiet and we didn't even notice any cars outside. The room was pretty clean and spacious, with a king bed, couch, microwave, and refrigerator. They have complimentary breakfast in the morning (unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to enjoy any of it).

The only complaint I have is that our section of the hallway smelled for the first night and the first morning. The smell didn't come into the room, but it definitely hit us when we walked into the hallway. I'm not sure if it was because there was no air circulating in the hall or exactly what it was. Other than that, though, the hotel was fine and I'd probably stay there again if (when?) we came back to Newport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear M S,

Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

An all round nice hotel, but needs some bits to bring it up to date. The wifi is very unreliable and keeps dropping service, not good for business. I reported that an electric plug on the work desk was faulty, after 3 nights it still was. On the plus side,lots of free parking, a very good breakfast buffet and most helpful staff. Just a few things and it would be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middletown hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#8 of 18 in Middletown
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at Newport Beach
Comfort Inn at Newport Beach
#14 of 18 in Middletown
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Address: 855 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: £54 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Newport, Beaches, The Newport Mansions and so much more; Holiday Inn Express Middletown is the perfect retreat from a long day of adventures and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing