We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was friendly. It did take the person about 10-15mins to chk us in. We arrived around 5pm and no one else was chkng in. They didn't seem to have a room ready for us at that time!! It took a bit for them to figure something out. The hotel is located in a very odd spot. On a main road in between shopping stores. Based on the location we thought the price was a bit high. The room was nice and clean. Everything looked fairly updated. Fridge and micro in the room which is nice. The pool area was nice. Unfortunately we could not eat at the continental breakfast because it was SO crowded there was nowhere for our family to sit nor could we get to the food. Next time I think we will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Request a room not near the elevators or ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbj379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    151
    67
    38
    23
See reviews for
135
132
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is in close proximity to Newport and other attractions. This was extremely quiet, comfortable and clean. The staff is very helpful and attentive. Our stay came with a full breakfast buffet, which likely had the value for four of $50-$60 per day. I highly recommend this for families or couples visiting Newport, you will have money to spend on the great shops and attractions when you save by staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed two nights. Above average Holiday Inn Express. Well maintained. Nice room, friendly staff, near to Newport without the traffic. Priced better than most in area. Our room had a DVD player so we rented a movie down the street from Redbox.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked a suite with a kitchenette, living room area and separate bedroom. Plenty of room and there is a pull-out bed in the sofa if you have additional guests. The room was clean and roomy. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of pillows! A full breakfast downstairs every morning and 24 coffee, tea, etc. Five minutes from the heart of Newport and all the attractions. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brooklyntravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for being our guests at the Holiday Inn Express in Middletown/Newport and writing such a great review.

Guests enjoy our convenient location, just minutes from downtown Newport. Our complimentary breakfast is a favorite amenity of many of our guests, and we also offer an indoor pool, hot tub, fitness facility, business center, Wi-Fi, and Chili’s Restaurant on site.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were going to a wedding in Newport and looking for a low-cost way to stay nearby. Holiday Inn Express ended up being a great value- the room was clean and quiet, the cost was lower than average in the area by almost half, and breakfast and wifi were free. Staff was warm, though we didn't require much beyond checking in. A car is a must, but Newport attractions are a very short ride away and there are some great local restaurants very, very nearby (Anthony's Seafood and Becky's BBQ were both amazing). The area just isn't walkable.

Room Tip: Back-facing tend to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Clean hotel, great for a quick getaway with my daughters. Right down the street from Newport and close to all main attractions with a short drive. Not fancy but comfortable. Staff was cordial. Needs updating though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mygirls412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear mygirls412,
Thank you for your recent review of the HIE Middletown. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while traveling to the Newport area. We value feedback and use it constantly to improve our service and amenities. We are currently working on several projects to rejuvenate the hotel and welcome your return in the future to see our progression.
Yours in Hospitality,
Derek Vance
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton,CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I reserved two rooms a month ahead for a birthday weekend in Newport. I called the hotel the day before to request quiet rooms on upper floor if at all possible but I could already tell by the tone of the clerk that that request wouldn't even be noted. Checked in at five and was given one queen bedded room and a king room which I was told they only had left as available. I heard several times during this that "We are sold out". So I guess they use this as an excuse to assign rooms willy billy. Good for you. Why should that mean that the specific rooms requested haven't been set aside? Needless to say, the sofa bed was horrible. It had dirty, old sheets that needed to be changed. And we were put on different floors which was the only thing the clerk told me we would have when I called the day before. Buyer be ware! Paid a hefty $630 with taxes for the two rooms to be treated like dirt. Never again! Expect to have your requests totally ignored.

Room Tip: Don't count on the wifi working. We couldN't connect. Bring earplugs as you will need them f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrailsEaston_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear happytrailsEaston_CT,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize we were not able to honor your request as this is subject to availability upon arrival. We also apologize you were not satisfied with the room you had and the service you received. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middletown hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
1.4 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Address: 855 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Newport, Beaches, The Newport Mansions and so much more; Holiday Inn Express Middletown is the perfect retreat from a long day of adventures and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing