We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Manchester, NH
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice budget motel”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice choice for a budget place to stay right outside of Newport. We had a two-queen bed room, ground floor near the office. Clean, comfortable and safe. It's away from the street, so you don't get any highway noise at all. Staff were very nice and friendly. Room had fridge and microwave, work desk and chair, coffee maker. The windows would actually open and are screened, but we kept them closed and had the A/C on. It was a busy weekend so the breakfast room was crowded, but they kept everything stocked up. Cereal, bagels, milk, juice, coffee, cold hard boiled eggs, and a couple of waffle makers. The pool looked nice, but we didn't use it. Overall nothing fancy, but a really good place to stop over.

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for ground floor if that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coaster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    215
    106
    62
    32
See reviews for
182
195
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We chose this hotel because it was one of the cheaper hotels in the Newport area yet had a good report and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by a friendly person on the desk and directed to our room.which was fine. the pool was just across from our room and we went in that afternoon.The only complaint was that there was little shade around the pool.
The breakfast the following morning was very acceptable. One very useful thing was that there was a laundret on site which we made use of. It was a little way from the main things in Newport so there was nothing in walking distance but that ws not a real problem.
The test when we have stayed at a hotel is always woul we stay there again if we were coming to area. The answer to that is yes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We booked this hotel/motel for one night using Tripadvisor reviews and price to drive our decision. We were attending a wedding in Newport and simply didn't want to drive all the way home (90 minutes) afterwards but didn't need a full service hotel. When we arrived at the Travelodge, I was surprised and disappointed to see that it was more like a motel with outside entrances to your room and a somewhat dated facade. I thought it might be my first experience where TA did me wrong.

We had booked a king but were upgraded to a King Deluxe (a bit larger and with a sofabed). But when we got to the room at 4 p.m., housekeeping was still cleaning the room. I was still trepidatious but had no other choice as we had paid in full and the wedding was at 6 pm. So we drove around for 30 minutes and returned to a clean, updated room.

I agree with the other reviews. My four star rating is comparing it to other inexpensive rooms in this category. It certainly isn't luxurious, the parking lot is in front of your room and the continental breakfast is a step down from most of the chain hotel continental breakfasts (just two cereals, one kind of milk, bread for toast, bagels, packaged minimuffins and waffles). But for the price in Newport on a summer weekend, you probably can't do better. I felt comfortable sleeping in the room and just wished that the lighting were better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccrosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tega Cay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

After reading good reviews on this property, we booked 3 nights. It's an older facility, but updating has been done and rooms are very large. Clean is a must and we were most satisfied with the cleanliness with the exception of the floor of the shower/bathtub which appeared stained. Possibly resurfacing the tub would solve this issue. The room smelled musty when first opening the door, but the A/C seemed to help. Front desk staff was most helpful and pleasant and offered suggestions for area rest. etc. Location to go into Newport (just a couple mins. by car) is ideal for the price. Breakfast was well stocked, but choices were limited which is typical. All in all, would stay again, and would recommend. Weather was iffy, so did not use the pool, but it looked clean. We opted not to have daily room service, but staff left us extra towels in a bag on our doorknob-very considerate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
1.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Middletown Newport Area

Property: Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Address: 1185 W Main Rd, Rt 114 & West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842-6333
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Middletown Newport Area 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy seaside living at our Travelodge Newport Area / Middletown hotel. Located in a charming small-town community less than 10 minutes from downtown Newport, our Middletown, RI, hotel near Norman Bird Sanctuary puts the beauty of the beachfront and lively culture at your doorstep. Gear up for a fun-filled day with free Bear Bites breakfast, and refresh in our seasonal outdoor pool. Enjoy a cold drink from your refrigerator and plan your day from the comfort of your spacious hotel room with free Wi-Fi Internet access. You must be 21 to book a room, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Middletown, RI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown
Travel Lodge Middletown
Middletown Travel Lodge
Middletown Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing