We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I selected this property after reading through reviews on different sites and getting a fair price using TINGO. I was surprised that about 95% of it was a motel with limited square footage in the room. Although the room and common areas were clean, the mattress caved in towards the middle. Also, our "pre-assigned" (?) room had a rapidly leaking faucet in the shower which the front desk told me they were aware of when I reported it. I had to plead my case & convince the young man to change my room after he said repairs would not be done because all rooms were booked and they would have to turn off the source feeding water to that entire section of the property. He was somewhat bothered as well that I might have upset something in the room after housekeepers had cleaned it. It took less than 10 minutes for me to step in & out of the room & bathroom. I chose to stay here & not seek a room elsewhere in lieu of losing the money already charged to my credit card. Check-out was a more positive experience with a varied selection of hot & cold free breakfast items. I do not plan to stay at this Travelodge again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBenz062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Newport, Manager at Travelodge Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We apologized for inconvenience during your recent stay with us. We are trying to analyze each review as it provides us the area in which we need to improve. We are glad that you like our “bear bite breakfast”.
Our staff is highly train to recognize rentable room condition v/s immediate fix, your candid evaluation provide us chance to retrain our staff and improve. Please give us second chance to prove our quality level and guest comfort. Please do not hesitate to call us directly on Ph# 401-849-4700.
Thank You
Nick
Travelodge
Middletown, RI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for one night, we had a room with 2 queen size beds, the room was very big, had a large refrigerator and microwave, the bathroom was very clean and big. The room was also very clean and comfrotable beds, also great high speed internet. The front desk staff were also very friendly and helpful. If you neeed a place to stay in this area I would highly recommend the Travelodge!

Room Tip: did not use a restaurant, and don't know if there was a fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelodge_Newport, Manager at Travelodge Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are so glad you that you recommend Travelodge. We are located just 3 miles away from downtown Newport and close to really good restaurant. Would love to see you again.
Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 October 2013

nice rooms that were recently remodeled. older style motel with parking by your room door. average free breakfast included. decent pool. decent location three or four miles outside of newport. (you can can take the back way to newport and avoid all of the traffic). nothing to complain about here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopherpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

It was a decent hotel, although I wasn't sure why the customer before me received a cheaper rate than me. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My boyfriend and i didnt like the fact that the rooms were not soundproof and we can hear regular conversation from rooms next to us. This disturbed our sleeping time and was annoying especially the doors slamming shut would wake us very early in the morning. The waffle machine needs to be improved and more stable because the nozzle broke off while i tried to fill the cup with the waffle mix and it splattered all over my face and the poor lady next to me. So maybe less than fair experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I recently stayed here for the United healthcare Marathon and was in the room for a total of 8 hours to sleep and shower. When I checked my bank statement online I noticed an extra charge for $100! I called the hotel and they said we had "knocked the safe off the wall" WHAT? How do you knock a safe off the wall, arent they bolted in? I didn't even notice the safe in the room. I think I talked to the owner and he was quite rude towards the end of the call and actually hung up on me. For $200 a night plus the $25 late check out fee so I could shower you would think we stayed in the Marriott but no... I was ok to overlook the nasty musty smell of the room and the banging noise that was keeping me up that continued all night but now them trying to charge us for property damage that didn't happen makes me not ok to overlook the imperfections! The girl who checked me in was fantastic but that was the only good part of the stay. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbaduts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middletown hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
1.8 mi away
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn at Newport Beach
Comfort Inn at Newport Beach
#14 of 18 in Middletown
235 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
#16 of 18 in Middletown
176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Middletown Newport Area

Address: 1185 W Main Rd, Rt 114 & West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842-6333
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: £38 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Middletown Newport Area 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy seaside living at our Travelodge Newport Area / Middletown hotel. Located in a charming small-town community less than 10 minutes from downtown Newport, our Middletown, RI, hotel near Norman Bird Sanctuary puts the beauty of the beachfront and lively culture at your doorstep. Gear up for a fun-filled day with free Bear Bites breakfast, and refresh in our seasonal outdoor pool. Enjoy a cold drink from your refrigerator and plan your day from the comfort of your spacious hotel room with free Wi-Fi Internet access. You must be 21 to book a room, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Middletown, RI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown
Travel Lodge Middletown
Middletown Travel Lodge
Middletown Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing