We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff is Excellent...Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Staff is Excellent...Stay Here”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Every time we interacted with the staff they were excellent. Helpful. Friendly. The service here stands out (we dealt with Kate, Carl & Susan). The location also is great given the price. We paid $170 per night for a weeknight. This is about 25% less than a comparable place in Newport. The shuttle to Newport (approx 3 miles away) is $3 per person, each way, is worth it. The shuttle driver showed us a way into town to avoid most of the traffic: head north out of the parking lot, go left on Coddington, go right at traffic circle and make left onto 3d Street at 1st light. Follow 3d Street under the bridge and to Visitor Center. Check it out on a map...it works well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slip460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    247
    53
    18
    10
See reviews for
332
279
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Rate are reaonable, rooms are clean and super nice- 2 queen beds, comfy and clean. Bathroom large and clean. Lobby/Breakfast area is clean, bright, open, airy and breakfast is excellent- coffee/juice, fresh fruit, mixed fruit, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, cheese omelets and ham, bagels, pastries, waffles. Free WiFi and USA Today. Nothing is amiss here. Nice job. Would stay again if back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToYourHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn, Middletown, RI. I was very pleased. Good (free) breakfast each morning, hot tub/small pool, clean rooms, quiet, and best of all great location. Very near downtown Newport without being in the middle of all the madness, near the Newport/Jamestown bridges, near Portsmouth/Island Park, very good access to interstates leading to Boston, Plymouth, Providence, etc... And the staff was friendly.

This is not a huge hotel, so there are no restaurants on-site. But, there are plenty of dining choices nearby. Again, however, a good breakfast is provided each morning near the lobby area.

I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, always ask for rooms away from elevators and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HereHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Not too far from Newport itself...just a 10 minute drive. It was graduation week so the hotel was crowded but still everyone was friendly and the breakfast was good. There is an Applebees Restaurant next door which we found to be very convenient after a hard day of walking and sightseeing. Definitely a good place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinglosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford Hills, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was a good value hotel for Newport Rhode Island. While you cannot walk to the sites they are very close.

I had a suite and was very impressed with how much space and quality of the room. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the usual fare was served for breakfast.

Free parking and easy to get from there to other places.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights April 27-29th while visiting the Newport area. This hotel has everything you need. Free self parking outdoors, complimentary 24 hrs coffee/tea station at the lobby. Breakfast is included during your stay, it runs from 7am -10am. There are scamble eggs, oatmeal, waffle station, muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit and juice. They have the breakfast area comfortablely set up with plenty of sitting area.

We had 2 double beds in our room. There is a microwave, fridge & coffee machine. Room was very clean & comfortable. Plenty of channels to choose from on tv. No balcony & no view...just the parking lot. If you need, there's an iron & hair dryer in the rooms. But no shower cap. Business center near the lobby with 2 computer for all guests to use. There's also a very small fitness center. In the afternoon/evening, there's fresh cookies in the front desk. MMMMM so good...I couldn't resist! Will definitely stay here again if I'm in the Newport area. The entire staff was very friendly which is a big +

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aloha_BeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

In Newport on business and stayed just outside in Middletown. Great service. Had a suite and couldn't have asked for more. I usually don't eat breakfast at the hotel but it was smelled so good each morning I stayed and ate. Convenient location, comfortable beds and clean and well kept public areas. Enjoyed my visit and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goliathtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
2.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
1.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Address: 317 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-7326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#2 Family Hotel in Middletown
#3 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites with refrigerator & microwave; 2 miles from Newport attractions, Navy Base and corporate parks; award winning hotel with free hot breakfast bar in a 2 story atrium lobby, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Newport/Middletown
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown Hotel Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing