We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at the Hampton Inn, Middletown, RI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Stay at the Hampton Inn, Middletown, RI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Another Fantastic Stay. I travel quite a bit and have to say that the staff at the Hampton Inn in Middletown RI, treats me like I belong there. They actually make it feel as much like home as any hotel I have ever stayed at. Special Thanks to Susan, Dan, Mike, and Dave. Fantastic Stay's here every time.

Matt L. Virginia Beach

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback! It is nice to hear you felt at home while you were here on your business trip. Our Hampton Team prides itself on friendly service so thank you for acknowledging that. Thanks to guests like you, we remain #1 amongst all the other choices and we are very proud of that! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    237
    48
    16
    10
See reviews for
311
273
30
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I've stayed at this Hampton Inn twice and both stays have been excellent. I've stayed at a number of Hampton Inns because it's a generally reliable brand, but this one seems to be nicer than most. My room had a microwave and refrigerator—many Hampton rooms don't—and the entire property is a bit more upscale and modern than many other Hampton Inns seem to be. Just one example: the lobby where breakfast is served is an airy double height space that is actually a nice place to linger. This property is very close to all the Newport attractions, and usually costs less than anything of comparable quality in Newport. I'm sure I'll be staying at this Hampton again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughBriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback! As we strive to create a memorable and unique experience for every guest. We truly appreciate your observations and feedback and your commitment to stay with us on your next visit to Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown. As you know, Newport is a great town, and we are in a great location just 2 miles from the Downtown area. You can always count on our Hampton for our 24 hour coffee station, clean comfortable beds, free hot breakfast, and friendly staff. We are pleased to hear that you will return to the Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown in the future and we look forward to having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamesport NY, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel was wonderful!!!! Very close from downtown Newport. Hotel was a step above in every way. The staff was very helpful with information about the area. Applebee's is next door which was helpful after a long day of working. The hotel was the cleanest hotel I've seen in a long time. In season a free bus will run from hotel into Newport. It's less then five min. from hotel. The pool inside and out looked great! Sunny and clean. This is a great place for families. You can enjoy all Newport has to offer and in five mins. back to your hotel where the area offers more dinning options for families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are so pleased that you had such a great time! We appreciate your recognition of our staff and efforts to make your stay enjoyable. It is great to hear that you were able to take pleasure in our free hot breakfast, along with the great local restaurants and local attractions that are all minutes away! It would be our pleasure to be of service to you in the near future and we appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The staff & service at this hotel were great! Very welcoming, friendly & courteous. The hallway & lobby are well-maintained and very clean. And the rooms are clean, modern and spacious - which really helps when travelling with lots of luggage!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Vidhya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Hampton Inn & Suites Newport-Middletown. I am so glad to see that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. I am happy that our staff, complimentary wifi, breakfast, and spacious rooms at our hotel met your needs. We take pride on how well we maintain a great hotel! Thank you for your positive feedback! I hope you will come back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahington DC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Don't know about other reviewers but our family had 2 rooms on the third floor-322/325 and they were just fine! The rooms are updated with flat screen TVs, microwave and fridge, coffeemaker, very nice bathroom and 2 queen size beds, very comfortable with 3 pillows with differing softness and very nice duvets. Could have slept 4 very comfortably if needed. I really liked being able to control the heat/ac with a wall thermostat instead of the controls on the unit - it kept the room just the temp we wanted. Also has a cool thing that if you put just the fan on in the bathroom, a light above the tub goes on as a really good nightlight if you have people who could use one. Also has a very good b'fast included and a large room with lots of tables so no waiting to eat! For dinner Applebees is right next door and Ruby Tuesday is just down the street for chains but there are lots of places to eat very near. We stayed here for 3 nights and would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlnnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return! Thanks to guests like you, we remain #1 amongst all the other choices and we are very proud of that! You can always count on our Hampton for our 24 hour coffee station, clean comfortable beds, free hot breakfast, and friendly staff. We are glad you enjoyed being so close to local restaurants and attractions. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have stayed in the Hampton Inn in South Kingston which my family and I go to every time we are in Rhode Island. We decided to stay closer to Newport being that that is where we were planning to spend majority of our time. BIG MISTAKE. This Hampton Inn fell WAY below my expectations as a guest. The room smelt like body odor and did not meet the request of two double beds which I had specifically asked for when booking my reservation. The one "double" bed consisted of a bed not even the size of a queen and I had 3 people, including myself, sleeping in that room. When I went to the front desk to complain about the smell and the lack of sleeping space, the worker offered to have someone come and deodorize the room whcih would take over an hour (and mind you it was 11pm) or the other option was to put a car freshener clip on the radiator in the room and febreeze the carpets. At this point, my family and I were exhausted so I agreed to the freshener clip and febreeze. When we got back to the room, we waited 20 minutes for maintenance to come before we started dialing every hotel near our area to find some place else to sleep. If we didn't end up getting a room at the Homewood Suites across the street, I would have rather taken my family back to my daughters dorm room at the University of Rhode Island to sleep. This Hampton Inn was a HUGE disappointment and should be ashamed to even offer guests these poor conditons.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and we are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at Hampton Inn in Middleton while visiting colleges in Rhode Island. Our stay was excellent, clean , updated, comfortable room, nice breakfast, friendly staff and perfect location, a few minutes drive to Newport. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our free hot breakfast, complimentary wifi , friendly staff, and comfortable rooms! Our location is ideal for visiting many of the colleges in the local area! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
2.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Address: 317 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#2 Family Hotel in Middletown
#3 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites with refrigerator & microwave; 2 miles from Newport attractions, Navy Base and corporate parks; award winning hotel with free hot breakfast bar in a 2 story atrium lobby, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Newport/Middletown
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown Hotel Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing