We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, affordable hotel to explore Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good, affordable hotel to explore Newport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was my second stay at this Hilton property and again I was very satisfied with my experience. The hotel is located in Middletown, about 5-10 min drive to Newport attractions. The hotel is fairly new, in very good shape and all the common areas are in a very good condition. The suites are large, the furniture is new with comfortable beds. The suites have two large flat screen TV's - one in the living room and one in the bedroom. The A/C was a bit noisy but not a big issue there. Good breakfast options.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acostin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very happy that you decided to stay with us again and that we were able to meet your expectations. It is truly a pleasure having you here and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    126
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
201
175
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel was 20 min outside Newport with a great, helpful and courtesy staff. Rooms were good size with a full kitchen. The free breakfast was marginal but plentiful. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The only issue was the weekend price per night was a bit high. Overall it was fine and I would stay there again. You will need a car to get around but shuttles are available to Thames St in Newport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 775dennisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and the TripAdvisor community. I truly appreciate your kind words about our property and staff. Our proximity to Newport (2 miles/5 minutes), complimentary breakfast and dinner (dinner served mon-thurs) make us an ideal extended stay property with many value added amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Consistent with the Homewood Suites standard. I love the large suites with the mini kitchen. Nice free breakfast and weekday evening mini dinners. They have a convenient van to take you to the center of Newport at the wharf which us invaluable since parking in the summer is such a problem. Always a first choice hotel for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted to hear that we are your first choice in the greater Newport/Middletown area! I appreciate you mentioning our large suites, kitchens, breakfast & dinner, and shuttle service - all which cater to the extended stay traveler! Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. My husband was in Newport for business and I tagged along to relax. While he was working during the day, I spent a lot of time at the hotel. The staff were exceptionally nice. Even the maintenance staff would go out of their way to greet you. The rooms were very roomy, clean and comfortable. Had a great work out room and patio in the back of the hotel. Loved having hot tea, coffee and fruit available all day and evening. Breakfast was great, but we really enjoyed the week night dinners. Very tasty and convenient. We didn't feel like going out every night. Also very centrally located not only to shops and restaurants, but to the Naval War College. Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I am excited to hear that we created a memorable experience for you by being one of the nicest hotels that you've ever stayed at! I am very proud to hear that our staff have provided you with the friendly and welcoming service that you deserve. It was truly our pleasure hosting you and yours over the past week. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was a quality hotel. Everything is new. Suite was more than expected. Staff was professional and friendly. Breakfast was a perfect start to the day. Take advantage of the shuttle to Newport and leave your car at the hotel, it's worth the six dollar round trip. I like having to sign a "quiet" agreement, so after 10pm there is no noise. Great for sleeping. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to see that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle to Newport and appreciated our good neighbor policy. I will be sure to share your kind words with our proud staff members. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you are looking for a quality hotel with a terrific staff, large, well equipped rooms with the majority of amenities then stay here. Really an excellent experience. Not too far from the wharfs and downtown restaurants. Counter staff was very helpful with their recommendations. If you want the best lobster rolls you have ever tasted go to Easton Beach at the snack bar restaurant there. We ate lunch there 3 out of 5 days. The absolute best in the world - 2 lobster rolls and french fries for $12.00.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you kindly for your fabulous rating of our hotel. I will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments to our staff. We will continue to work hard to bring you the top notch service and accommodations that you deserve. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naugatuck, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. They accept all kinds of pets which was the main reason for selecting it (we have a parrot), but overall the hotel was great. The staff was extremely friendly and went above and beyond. The hot breakfast and weeknight dinner was a nice option instead of going out every night, and the rooms were spacious. Good location in Middletown just outside of Newport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam A, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel with service and cleanliness scores that ranks us at the top of Trip Advisor in our area. Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon when you are in the greater Newport/Middletown area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
2.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Address: 348 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comforts of home in charming NewportWelcome to Homewood Suites by Hilton® Newport Middletown, RI. Enjoy the convenient location at the junction of Route 138 and 114 in Middletown, RI. Explore historic downtown Newport on Aquidneck Island, just two miles away, or spend the day relaxing on beautiful local beaches. Our hotel is close to many local companies including Raytheon, Newport Hospital and the Navy Base which incorporates the Naval War College, NUWC, and Officer Candidate School. Discover the wonders of charming Newport including Newport's Cliff Walk, Sachuest Point and the spectacular Newport Mansions. Fort Adams, Newport Yachting Center and the International Tennis Hall of Fame are also nearby.Whether you're staying for a few days or a few weeks, our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites offer all the comforts of home, including separate living and sleeping areas. Prepare meals in the fully-equipped kitchen, keep in touch with WiFi, or simply relax watching TV. Stock your full-size refrigerator with meals and snacks from the 24-hour Suite Shop, or let us lend a hand and do the grocery shopping for you. Start each day with a complimentary hot full breakfast and return in the evenings for dinner and drinks* Monday through Thursday. Catch up with work at the 24-hour business center or take some time out for yourself to enjoy our recreational facilities, including a 24-hour fitness center, heated indoor pool, and putting green.*Subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing