We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Halfway between chain and quaint inn; close to Newport but not in it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Halfway between chain and quaint inn; close to Newport but not in it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

A lodging is usually easy to classify: it's either part of a chain, with efficient cookie-cutter value, or it's an independent, with (hopefully) a degree of unique charm. [I know there's also dumpy places, but we all try to avoid those]. It's either in the city, giving easy access to urban sites but with a higher price, or it's outside the city, lowering the cost but making access more difficult.

The Carriage House is difficult to classify with either scheme. It's definitely part of a chain, and is a good value. However, it's not a cookie cutter motel, having more of the "feel" of an inn. And, although it's not IN Newport, it's a ten minute drive into the heart of that city. Depending on your needs and budget, it might be just the place to stay while visiting this town.

Stayed here two nights for some romantic times in a lovely town. Our room featured a large comfortable bed, full bath, phone (charge for local calls), AC, small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & board, CD music player, and TV with 70 channels. The room was clean, surprisingly quiet, and well-maintained. Staff was professional and polite. Free amenities include parking, deluxe continental breakfast buffet, wi-fi, all-hours coffee, PC in lobby, and bath robes in the room. Pets and smoking are prohibited everywhere indoors. Although it only has two floors, the inn has an elevator.

The inn has the typical scam of charging a small amount for the safe in the room, although they note you can have this charge removed at check-out if you did not use the safe.

The breakfast room is a nice place to relax during the day, and opens to an outdoor veranda. Breakfast itself, although plentiful, has two problems: (1) there is not enough table space for everyone to set their food comfortably (note photos) and (2) the food tables are so wide that it can be difficult to reach the food placed near the wall.

This place bridges the gap between value and charming ambiance, and is recommended for couples who are looking for a little of both.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank RabePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    50
    34
    15
    9
See reviews for
39
73
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Loved this quaint inn. Very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms are not spacious but very clean. We loved the area. Very quiet and not crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joageo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Tired and dated decor, old noisy plumbing, water stains on the bathroom ceiling, poorly placed bed too close to the A/C unit (had to turn the A/C off at night and open the window), dingy room and common areas, road traffic noise, etc. etc. added up to 3 very unsatisfactory nights totaling almost $700 for a room with 2 queen beds. Could not wait to get out of this place. By far the worst part of the overwise a very lovely visit to Newport. In their defense, the beds were comfortable and the middle-aged woman clerk was extremely pleasant and informative. If I only had to stay one night and pay under a $100, I would have been satisfied but ... rumor has it this used to be a nursing home ... creepy! Next time, Holiday Inn Express, here I come!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLuna215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middletown hotels

Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Thx to all the TA reviewers as I chose this place from what I read. It was perfect for a one night stay. Front desk staff was very nice and breakfast was much better than I was expecting. The room was fine, bed comfy but we were on the front side and you could hear car noise on the road out front so if that bothers you be sure to ask for a room on the back side. Overall for the price we were very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbjpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We drove around and checked out 4 other big chain hotels and all were far away from Newport's downtown yet very expensive. We were so relieved to drive into The Carriage House Inn to find very friendly and helpful staff, a great rate, a very good location (so, not right next to a major highway or road) with mature trees, greenery, and a hotel that is quiet and charming. I agree with the other reviewers: the hallways, stairs, and lobby need a good cleaning and the breakfast is adequate but basic (yogurt, bagels, cereal, tea/coffee). The hotel decor is very dated, but it was also considerably less pricey than other hotels. You can't have it all when you are on a budget. Our room on the 2nd floor was a tad small, but it had a huge washroom with great lighting & full-length mirror. We had 2 queens beds that were extremely comfortable and the room was very clean and neat. We drove everywhere in 10mins: the Cliff Walk, Bellevue Ave. Mansions, Newport's downtown - and, Broadway with its great restaurants is 5 mins away. The hotel also has a shuttle for $8p/p. For a family on a budget, this met our needs very well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaraInTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

For the money I can't complain, you get what you pay for. The room size was good and although everything is dated it all functions and is reasonably clean and tidy. I'm not sure if this hotel has something against people who book through hotel booking sites instead of directly through them but I was made to feel unwelcome upon arrival and it was implied that my booking had not been paid for. After supplying them with a copy of my confirmation voucher payment was not spoken of again but as a guest who had prepaid their stay and is a completely honest person I did not appreciate this level of service. My advice to the hotel owners is that if they don't want business from third party websites remove your hotel from them so that guests can only book directly with you. Apart from that the stay was comfortable enough but I'm glad it was only for one night.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

this is my third time here
very good value near newport
not fancy but clean big rooms quiet and great service
friend complained the cars in front were loud but i was okay. room in back is quieter but front room nicer
best town to stay when in newport and dont want to waste money

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huggy0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 93 Miantonomi Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Middletown
Clarion Middletown
Middletown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing