We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Economical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lodging in the area is quite expensive, so I selected this hotel based on price. It is a small 23 room hotel, 2 stories. Our room featured a king bed which was comfortable with nice linens. Pillows were abundant. There was a microwave, club sized frig, wardrobe (no closet), set of drawers with tv, writing table with chair and armchair. The bath (and the room itself) was a bit dated without much vanity space, but adequate. The free breakfast consists of coffee, beverages, fruits, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, small bagels & muffins, etc. The coffee was okay. It is quite close to attractions in Newport. Hot water was satisfactory. Our only complaint with the room was that a few areas in the room seem never to have been dusted. The phone was coated with dust. We looked under the bed for a lost earring and ugh! a vast sea of dust. The blind covering the window in the bath was in need of cleaning and/or replacement. Desk staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: We were offered a choice of first or second floor, stayed on the first. It was quiet enough except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishyankee811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    50
    34
    15
    9
See reviews for
39
73
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Came in to town for a conference in Newport and couldn't handle the steep prices in town. After arriving here I was ecstatic that it was less than 5 minutes to the conference center in Newport. Staff was incredibly friendly and more than willing to make any accomodations. Alex, at the desk, offered up a great place for dinner. Room was clean and had a micro wave and fridge. What more can you ask for. I look forward to returning to the area with the Mrs and this will be foirst on our places to stay.

Room Tip: Quiet time of year so really can't offer much. Room on first floor was perfect. don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just a quick getaway to Newport for the night this place is pretty good clean staff can't do enough for you front desk person BJ could not have been friendly to deal with.
I stayed in a lot of 5 stars hotels and the bed I had was as comfortable as Westin kid you not room 25 The breakfast was pretty good coffee was tasty cereal muffins only think I would add is donut you have the best donut shop right down the street Ma Donuts.Plan on using this place again give it a try

Room Tip: Room 25 big room very good bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

It was everything the "good" reviews had said. i enjoyed my stay there immensely. i went down to celebrate my bday and it is certainly one i will remember for a long time to come. Thanks folks! It meant a lot to me to have such friendly and helpful people

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuuk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This hotel is a hidden gem in Newport, RI. Clean spacious rooms in a boutique type hotel. Better than average continental breakfast. Only negative is the wireless network, which is very slow. Walkable distance from upper Thames St shops.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank aljel1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
254 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We arrived after a long drive and was greeted by the reception person who appeared to lack interest in guest or perhaps we were interfering with her quiet evening. The room was located at the end of the hall on the first floor; neat, clear and quiet. The WiFi was basically nonexistent, it required moving to the breakfast room to gain assess. The breakfast was average; choice of morning bread items, Jimmy Dean Breakfast item, juice, tea, coffee, yogurt and fresh fruit. For the price it was excellent, but customer/guest relation skills require assistance.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We had a huge handicap accessible room right off of the lobby. Felt very homelike.
Everything was clean except for the overstuffed armchair. Think these should not be in hotel rooms unless they have some kind of cover that can be removed and laundered.
Breakfast was just off the lobby and had enough selection to get you started. They did have Jimmy Dean sausage egg and cheese sandwiches to heat in the microwave. Two of the staff were very nice, the gentleman on duty this morning kind if ignored everyone. Guess that was ok but do appreciate a little eye contact!
Oh, the price if our room was great! Have paid a lot more for a lot less!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 93 Miantonomi Avenue, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Middletown
Clarion Middletown
Middletown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing