We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely GREAT place to stay!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We found this motel while searching for a of the Choice Hotel chain in this area, and we were very glad we did!.....GREAT place to stay!....This resembles a bed and breakfast, with only 23 rooms...has so much charm....and price is great! There is a free breakfast in a beautiful little dining area. The staff is so friendly and accommodating, and helpful to offer directions to anywhere you wish to go, whether it is to eat or visit some other place in town !... The room was very clean, furnished with everything we needed for the night! The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood, which allows for a quiet night of rest! We were on the second (of two floors), which can be reached either by elevator or the stairway! We were actually close enough to downtown that we could have walked where we wanted to go! We are definitely going to return to Carriage Inn anytime we will be in the area!

Room Tip: Close to Newport and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFox74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is beautiful- it was originally a house that was made into a hotel so that gives the place a very unique charm. The room was cozy, clean, and quite beautiful. There is a mini fridge and microwave in the rooms, which is convenient. The bathroom was large and updated. The staff was welcoming and friendly as well as helpful and goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The other reviews that compliment the exception staff are right on. The hotel is located a short drive from downtown Newport so we were able to go shopping and to the restaurants with ease. Overall a great place for a great price!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kassandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

First I want to say the location is great, price was good, breakfast good and staff VERY friendly.

The room was #7 on the first floor and the bathroom looks directly onto the parking lot so the shade is pulled down all the time which is fine but it had a really THICK layer of dust on it which grossed me out. We stayed here 3 nights and not one day it was cleaned.

The noise is unbearable here. The people on either side of us were early risers (6:45am) and when they showered it sounded like a jet engine the whole time. The bed was comfortable but the fact I could hear every noise from the other rooms including someone spitting which I can only assume was after brushing their teeth was disturbing and disgusting. I am looking forward to leaving today to go back home and napping after and not at all restful vacation.

It is a shame because everything else is great about this property but I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kgold19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014. The price was great for Newport at less than $80 per night for a very large room. The only things that were not great....the shower made a loud noise and the breakfast was very limited, but we didn't mind and were satisfied. The staff was exceptional. I really have to compliment "Alex". He was friendly, very outgoing, willing to help or answer questions and greeted you every time you walked in or out. He is a rarity for desk service! The Inn is close to Newport, but hidden on a quiet street in a residential area and not in a business district as most chain hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cottonbaler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lodging in the area is quite expensive, so I selected this hotel based on price. It is a small 23 room hotel, 2 stories. Our room featured a king bed which was comfortable with nice linens. Pillows were abundant. There was a microwave, club sized frig, wardrobe (no closet), set of drawers with tv, writing table with chair and armchair. The bath (and the room itself) was a bit dated without much vanity space, but adequate. The free breakfast consists of coffee, beverages, fruits, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, small bagels & muffins, etc. The coffee was okay. It is quite close to attractions in Newport. Hot water was satisfactory. Our only complaint with the room was that a few areas in the room seem never to have been dusted. The phone was coated with dust. We looked under the bed for a lost earring and ugh! a vast sea of dust. The blind covering the window in the bath was in need of cleaning and/or replacement. Desk staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: We were offered a choice of first or second floor, stayed on the first. It was quiet enough except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishyankee811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Came in to town for a conference in Newport and couldn't handle the steep prices in town. After arriving here I was ecstatic that it was less than 5 minutes to the conference center in Newport. Staff was incredibly friendly and more than willing to make any accomodations. Alex, at the desk, offered up a great place for dinner. Room was clean and had a micro wave and fridge. What more can you ask for. I look forward to returning to the area with the Mrs and this will be foirst on our places to stay.

Room Tip: Quiet time of year so really can't offer much. Room on first floor was perfect. don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Looneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just a quick getaway to Newport for the night this place is pretty good clean staff can't do enough for you front desk person BJ could not have been friendly to deal with.
I stayed in a lot of 5 stars hotels and the bed I had was as comfortable as Westin kid you not room 25 The breakfast was pretty good coffee was tasty cereal muffins only think I would add is donut you have the best donut shop right down the street Ma Donuts.Plan on using this place again give it a try

Room Tip: Room 25 big room very good bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.2 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#14 of 18 in Middletown
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
#15 of 18 in Middletown
175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 93 Miantonomi Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: £45 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Middletown
Clarion Middletown
Middletown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing