We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value small hotel convenient to Newport.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed here for two weeknights in early June and found it to be a nice small inn. Very convenient to Newport and better value than virtually anything in Newport. An added plus was microwave and refrigerator in the room. Continental breakfast has limited choicess, but that's about all I can say that isn't positive.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HealthyGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2009

This is our second trip to this hotel. My husband attends a 2 day business meeting at the hotel with the convention center, and this location is 9 minutes from there ( counting stoping at all the traffic lights.) We love the peace, atmosphere, and feel of home that this hotel has, as I spend a fair amount of time in the room, as the weather has always been cold and rainy (March in New England),and it is always comfortable and cozy, between the sitting area and desk, There has been a nice addition of a public computer in the breakfast area with a printer. The muffins, cereal, coffee and juice are always fresh. Walter, the manager makes you feel like family, and is always willing to make dining suggestions ( we took his recommendation last time, and returned to the same restaurant this visit, as it was so good lasttime , as well as this visit). With the microwave, coffeemaker, and refridgerator in the rooms, it is great to bring a few snacks, or the grocery store and a major mass merchandiser are 5 minutes away. We are planning to go back for a non business trip, so we can enjoy all the other activities in Newport, and definiely plan on staying at the Carriage House Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan01876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

The Carriage House Inn is a lovely place. My boyfriend and I stayed there on Saturday, March 14th for the St Patrick's Day parade. We experienced professional, very helpful front desk staff. We liked our room because it was clean, large, and the bed was comfortable. There were many extra pillows on the bed - a real bonus since we forgot our favorite pillows at home. Although we did not use them, the room was equipped with a refridgerator and a coffee maker and a safe. The TV and clock radio worked well. The bathroom was clean and stocked with the usual bath & beauty items.
The Inn is located about one and a half miles from downtown Newport. We found the location perfect because we were away from the crowds but close enough to walk, take a city bus, or call a cab.
The complimentary breakfast, which consisted of hot & cold cereal, coffee, tea, orange juice, muffins and danish, was very good. Fresh fruit was always available in the lobby - day & night.
There really was nothing that we disliked about this Inn. It was charming with an Inn feel, but with hotel amenities. Would most certainly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIMoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

First off at 12:30am the front desk called our room to inform us of a bomb threat and that they were evacuating the hotel to across the street. Okay I can understand that this isn't their fault what so ever but there was sort of apology to the guests upon their return back to the rooms or anything.
At 2:30am our phone rang, again further into the night it did the same. Now after one bomb threat we were already on edge so we were ready to jump out and go at a moments notice. However since the rooms are numbered with two digits rather than the normal three people were accidentally dialing our room instead of the front desk. See we were in room #10, so people pick up the phone and dial 1 + the number (0 in this case to get the front desk). This waking us up.
Finally we were deep asleep at 6am when people throughout the hotel started to take showers, the medeval plumbing system whistles at such a high pitch it was impossible to sleep.
Room cleaniness.... what a joke, other peoples hairs in the bathroom and flies all over the place. Trust me you will be better off sleeping in your car instead of this dump.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jonny_pitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We were visiting friends in nearby Jamestown, RI. I looked online for accommodations and found The Carriage House Inn. I liked the rate and thought I would give it a try.
What a Great find!!! This little hotel was clean, The rooms were like suites, plenty of space to spread things out. Extra large bathroom and sitting room(even water in the refridgerator). Maybe a bit skimpy on the continental breakfast...but, enough to get you going in the morning.
This is Newport area's best kept secret!

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Canam778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Carriage House Inn is a good option for someone looking to save some money in Newport and still have a nice place to stay with more charm than a regular hotel. The hotel is just minutes from Newport beach (where the cliff walk starts), and about 5 minutes from Newport port area (and shopping!).

Our room was HUGE, with a king-size bed, fireplace, microwave, and small fridge. That said, the TV was smaller than most, but not horrible - who needs TV on vacation anyway! The staff was nice and helpful, the breakfast your standard continental buffet. Nothing super-special, but it definitely fit our purposes, and we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank St_Louis_Traveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

I thought this place was pretty clean until I took a shower and there were hairs all over. It was really gross. The towels were also pretty dingy. The people working the counter were not very professional as stated in other reviews, but he was really nice. They have a continental breakfast as well, but we did not try it. There is an IHOP right down the road. Downtown Newport is really cool and just down the road the other direction.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ace123deuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 93 Miantonomi Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: £58 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Middletown
Clarion Middletown
Middletown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing