We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn at Newport Beach
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Very nice - large room and bathroom, good lighting, quiet heat, good location, free wi-fi, no road noise, very helpful staff. This motel is very close to the water and is set up differently than the "norm". Ground level is the parking area. You have to take an elevator to check in on the "1st" floor. This not only saves space, but also protects the motel in case of high surf. The breakfast is served on the "2nd" floor. It wasn't the best free breakfast we've had, but it wasn't the worst either. They had waffles, hard cooked eggs, muffins, sweet rolls, and instant oatmeal. There was no yogurt, and the cold cereal selection was Cheerios and Fruit Loops. Our only problem there was the luggage carts. They were huge...so large that you really had to work to get them to fit into the elevator.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

My husband and I traveled to Newport for a weekend get away with 2 other couples. Our 4th floor room was bright, clean, and offered great water views. Most important, the service at the front desk - thanks to Randa - was impeccable. She was cheerful and extremely helpful, ensuring our stay went smoothly. We also enjoyed the pool, but would have liked the water to be a tad bit warmer. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilfordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khallgring, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2011

Thank you for choosing Comfort Inn at Atlantic Beach for your Newport RI visit. We appreciate the trust you have placed in us. I agree with your kudos regarding Randa, she is a valuable team member and is also a joy to work with! It will be my pleasure to pass along your compliments. I will be glad to take a look at the pool temp, we usually keep it at 80 degrees, but that can be a bit chilly in the winter. We look forward to welcoming you back again,
Warm regards,
Kathy Hallgring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I went to college in Newport and go back often, so I know how pricey hotels there can be. The Comfort Inn offered a reasonable price (especially with my teacher discount) and the location is great for summer, right across from First Beach (Easton's Beach). It is an $8 cab fare from downtown. The staff checked us in and out quickly, and the rooms were clean. The beds are full beds, not doubles as advertised. My one complaint would be the door to our room was literally in the lobby and right across from the pool. I feel like when the hotel is busy this would be a big negative, but on reservations you can make requests and this would be one of mine if I stayed there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pink07orchid07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khallgring, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Thank you for being our guest PinkOrchid! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Please be sure to request a higher floor on your next visit. We are very successful in honoring our guest's special requests. You are correct, the pool is very popular, especially with our youngest guests, and they just love being right across the hall.
Don't forget to ask for your state employee's discount- (we love teachers and all state and municipal workers)- thanks for your service! Hope to see you again and often,
Warm Regards,
Kathy
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

it was very disappointing to see black mold CAKED on three different places on the shower wall.. this is impossible if you clean everyday. The bedding was not up to par either. have stayed here before and loved it! the location is great and the front desk staff was wonderful. nice to have free breakfast and the beach and restaurants across the street. this was my favorite hotel when outside newport do not know if I will return

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstravels19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This hotel is situated at the eastern end of Eastons Beach which is an excellent location for strolling to Newport's Cliff Walk and Mansions. The area is fairly quiet and there are a handful of restaurants and bars which were very quiet, including the famous Flo's Clam Shack right next door. Out of season, Flo's is only open Thursday to Sunday, should you wish to visit then. The hotel breakfast is adequate with cereals, baked goods, hot waffles, fresh fruit and juice but it is only served from 7 am, which we found a bit late. Staff were courteous and helpful although the breakfast lady showed some undue irritation when we tried the locked breakfast door slightly before 7 am. There is a computer in the lobby but we couldn't get an internet connection as this had been lost the previous night during a rain storm.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turkeyrun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The hotel has a great location, right accross the road from Easton Beach (1st beach), with free parking. It`s in Middletown, but inches away from the Newport city line, not like most of the Middletown hotels that are much further north, in a more commercial district. I think it's the best value in Newport. Minutes away from Cliff Walk.
The rooms are quite large, although without a refrigerator, which I think, is pretty standard. The bathrooms are large as well and pretty new. There is an indoor pool which is a nice bonus (especially for the rainy days, which we had plenty of!).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Middletown recently for a wedding I attended. The location could not be better - right across from the beach and nearby several restaurants. We could even see the ocean from our window.

We got a great rate through the wedding block - $129/night, and at that price I felt very satisfied with my stay. The rooms were spotless - the bathroom was particularly nice and seemed like it had been redone. Would have liked to have had a queen or king bed rather than 2 doubles, but the bed and pillows were comfortable. The hotel was quiet.

We took advantage of the complimentary breakfast, which was average. It seemed to start to run out of things (like coffee cup lids!) by about 9:30 am though.

The receptionist was very friendly and allowed us to check in a bit early.

No complaints! Great deal for the price!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emscronce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
#16 of 18 in Middletown
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Newport
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn at Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at Newport Beach

Address: 28 Aquidneck Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5608 (Formerly Comfort Inn Middletown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: £41 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn at Newport Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn at Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing