We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Middletown
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel is right across from a sandy beach with a view of Newport's Cliff Walk. Our room was not fancy but was comfortable with a view. What more could one ask for?

We were in Newport when the first winter snow storm or the season arrived. After attending a play at the Art Museum we headed back to the hotel and were able to park under it thus saving me from having to clear snow and ice the next morning. We walked across the street to the restaurant and our room key allowed for a 10% discount.

The staff were all friendly and helpful right down to the person in the breakfast room. He kept everything neat and stocked for the more than adequate breakfast offerings which included the usual... plus sausage links and scrambled eggs and make your own waffles.

The one drawback is the downtown/harbor area is not really walkable. But for what we did it was great as there was parking available (free) at all the places we wanted to go.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view but know that a very busy street is between you and the beach. The other side ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peppiedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

This hotel is right across the street from the beach, and is within walking distance to several restaurants. Newport and the Cliff Walk are probably about a mile away. We found the rooms to be clean, and we even had a nice view of the ocean from our room's window. The breakfast was good, also.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Rooms 121 and 123 might have been the only rooms affected by late night music from the bar next to the hotel on the Thursday and Friday nights we stayed there, but I doubt it. However, the mixture of karaoke and bands playing loudly up to 1 o'clock in the morning was a minor irritant when compared to the excellent room and facilities offered , certainly the best of the 3 Comfort Inns we visited when touring Rhode Island and Cape Cod. Immaculately clean and ideally situated close to the beach and within easy reach of Newport (the Inn provides an on demand shuttle service for $8 pp) and good adjacent restaurants (Mo's clam shack and Tickets Bar & Grill both excellent) and at reasonable cost. That said, the only issue we had was a lack of clarity over the price for the Friday night which, when taken up with Reception on the morning of departure, was very quickly resolved. All in all a very good experience well worth repeating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crichtocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I just got back from a short Get-Away to Newport with my husband and we stayed at the Comfort Inn Atlantic beach. We booked a few weeks before we went and the gentleman suggested we register for the Choice Hotel Member ( No Charge) for the best rate. I followed his advise and got a King with small balcony, microwave and refrigerator at a Great Price. We were very comfortable and felt the location was very good, close enough to the beach, Cliff Walk and Newport. We did drive to the Mansions and out to dinner but the Hotel also offered a shuttle service for a small fee. The pillows are small but plentiful (I was glad I brought my favorite from home) my husband and I both had a great night sleep. Although we didn't use the (indoor) pool, it looked clean and well maintained. The breakfast was good with Belgian waffels, biscuits and gravy, cereal, scrambled eggs, fruit, coffee and juices. I couldn't get my laptop online but it wasn't a big issue for me, just used the one in the lobby. We both agreed we would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satellitesue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our first stay here and would definitely return.

Having stayed at the Newport beach hotel and suites (literally right next door) I would never pay the premium again to stay there when you can stay here for a lot less.

Hotel is directly opposite Easton beach, within a 15 min walk to the Cliff walk and mansions and 30 + mins walk to downtown Newport and Bowens Wharf.

Car parking was easy, friendly staff and good breakfast. A tip for those staying here would be a visit to the Sachuest State park ( a 10 min drive from the hotel) a stunning location. Not sure if all rooms are the same but our room seemed as though it had just been updated. Furniture seemed brand new, carpets clean and fresh and everywhere spotlessly clean. One gripe would be the pillows. 4 small pillows on a double bed is not adequate, and they were far too soft. Only a small moan but something that is easy to fix.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel is walkable to Easton's Beach in Middletown.

I enjoyed this hotel because my room had an enormous bathroom, windows that allowed some fresh air in, a comfortable bed, and an excellent hot breakfast.

The location of the hotel was great. One morning, I decided to walk over to Newport on Memorial Blvd and it only took me half an hour on foot. If you are interested in the Cliff Walk, you can get to that within 15 minutes on foot!
I also used the hotel shuttle service, which was $8 and allowed me to commute between Newport and the hotel as much as I wanted. I called the number on the card they gave me, and even after he told me exactly where to meet him in Newport, the driver did not meet me there, but rather, drove through the post office driveway across the street and never even called me to let me know he wanted me to come over there. I called him back and he said I'd "have to wait 10-15 more minutes" at which point I was pretty ticked off... Lesson learned: be extremely clear with the instructions for the driver.

I did not have a chance to use the pool, but it looked big and there were also plenty of chaise lounges/areas to sit around the pool.

I agree with others who said this hotel could use a makeover - for being near Newport and having such a key location near the water, they could do something about the ugly pink and yellow in-room decor outdated carpet in the lobby with a flower print, too.

Staff was super friendly and I would go back just for that.
Fluctuating rates over the Newport Boat Show weekend were kind of frustrating (Thurs $105 up to Saturday $225) but to be expected, one would guess.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveengel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend because looking for an inexpensive spot close to the beach and Newport (in case of rainy days). Excited our room had an ocean view without the ocean view price, however, wish the place was a bit cleaner. It wasnt nasty, but definitely tired. The carpeting needed a good shampoo and definitely had seen its share of sand and wear. Staff was super friendly, however. Lots of "spring break" type groups in the hotel having fun, but was pleasantly surprised that we didn't hear much noise from the hall. Not the best experience I've had in Newport, but loved that we could walk to Easton's Beach and wake up to the sun and sand.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
1.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,061 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Hotel
#16 of 18 in Middletown
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Middletown

Address: 28 Aquidneck Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: £57 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing