We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhandy HC bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Middletown
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unhandy HC bathroom”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The beds were comfortable, but the handicap bathroom was very unhandy for below the knees amputee. The bench was too far back from the shower handles to turn on and adjust without assistance, and the flexible shower head just barely reached.
The breakfast buffet was average, but the coffee was good.
Staff was friendly and the discount for the restaurants across the street was a nice bonus.
Within walking distance of the beach and Newport Cliff Walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photowanderer_NWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    86
    64
    20
    7
See reviews for
73
91
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warren, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is slightly dated. The beds are comfortable, as are the pillows. Good place for a one night stay. Would I stay longer? No. First, the elevator is so slow, we learned to take the stairs. The room is clean, for the most part, but handprints on the windows were very visible. The free breakfast was totally lacking! Scrambled eggs, Danish, cereal, and a line at the toaster, right in the middle of all the food, with a herd of people waiting. Poor set up, and not nearly enough seating. You are better off taking food back to your room. For the price, this place is okay. Though they offer lakeside and ocean views, buildings interfere from all sides. Close to Easton's beach, within walking distance!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 621anne621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Staff needs more training and management needs to whip the place in shape. There is a sense of lack of organization at this hotel. The lock quit working on our door and evening staff did not know how to get in, nor did she have access to other staff members phone numbers to contact maintenance. She was eventually able to contact someone to come let us in our room. Instead of giving us a new room, she asked us not to close the door all the way if exiting our room and informed us that maintenance would be in at 8am. Didn't seem like an issue, however I mistakenly left a suitcase in our room the next morning. With 4 staff members at the desk, it would have been nice if one knew how to open the door. No....we had to wait on maintenance who was late getting in.
Another issue-called about a missing item and was not called back. I called a second time and was called back, but they did not locate the item. Since we had 2 rooms I asked if they checked both room and they had not, but would check the second room and call me back. I was never called back and have since given up.
Breakfast area is in a small room that accommodates few guests, but it was decent.
The location was good and we could walk to several restaurants. The evening staff was friendly and seemed genuinely apologetic.
I would not recommend this hotel, nor stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovepuzzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middletown hotels

Stanwich, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We go to Newport every June and usually stay at one of the historic B&Bs, but this time I wanted to try something different. So we booked at the Comfort Inn for $130 a night, much less expensive than the B&Bs. It is only 2 miles from all the touristas on Thames Street, so you can walk into town if you want, but it is right across from a beautiful beach. There are several restaurants within walking distance including the notorious Flo's Clam Shack.

We were (un)fortunate enough to get room 128 which opens directly into the lobby and the indoor pool. It was not noisy at all, except for some truck traffic on the street. The beds were incredibly comfortable and lots of pillows, a funny plastic blanket, but who cares.

There is free WiFi, but like most places we have stayed at recently, it is not good enough to watch Netflix on your iPad or remote access you office computer, so it's a good idea to bring your own hotspot, which we always do now.

Room Tip: Room 128 is "in the lobby" :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The accomondations were very comfortable and a great location to tour the mansions and the city of New Port RI we were there three nights and had a wonderful time on our visit. It has a pool and laundry facilaties available.
I

Room Tip: ask for a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here last week for a wedding at the beach . Staff was friendly and accommodating . Breakfast was what would be expected for continental breakfast with room. Right across the street from beach and wedding venue. Short walk to the cliff walk and not too far from the town of Newport . We had a nice stay .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mindy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
427 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

this hotel is very nice and the location is good . there are plenty of eating places around it also .the staff was very pleasant and helpful .nice pool area and the front of the hotel has ocean views .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
1.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Hotel
#15 of 18 in Middletown
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
2.0 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Middletown

Property: Comfort Inn Middletown
Address: 28 Aquidneck Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing