We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newport is 5 minutes away and HALF the price here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This is a clean, quiet, comfortable hotel just a few minutes from downtown Newport. Staying here saved us a TON of money since Middletown is so much cheaper. The room was just fine and we had the pool and hot tub to ourselves. Perfect stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CousinElmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

This is a typical Residence Inn - not a destination, but a decent hotel with good value for the money. The service was lovely at the front desk, the common areas were clean and the breakfast was both ample and varied.
We stayed one night on a spur-of-the-moment trip to visit Newport. I found the room/suite to be well equipped and the bed comfortable. It did not appear that the hotel was full, but the corridors were blissfully quiet. The hotel is tucked behind the Hampton Inn and the Howard Johnson, so well away from road noise. From our room on the 2nd floor, no view of any kind. Newport's busy (and noisy) tourist areas are a short drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindySanti10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed here august 2009 too and still in great shape. What you'd expect from marriott...clean, good condition throughout, good value. Area is a bit commercial and a shabby HoJo's is next door...but who cares. About an 8 minute drive into Newport. I stayed at the newport Marriott for business in June and the two hotels are on balance pretty comparable...Newport marriott is in a more convenient location walking distance from town whereas the residence inn is a few miles drive up north from town. But I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Complimentary breakfast and while we were there they also offered complimentary light dinner "social hours"...we didn't partake but it was a nice unexpected offer from management.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airmarshll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel was in good shape, rooms were clean, and pretty big. We had a suite style room with a living room and kitchen set up. Great place if you're looking to cut costs a bit and not stay downtown Newport or too close to the beach. They have a nice pool, gym, and basketball court area.
We had a quick 1 night stay but was definitely worth it, and brunch was included.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My wife and I decided to take a long weekend trip to Newport for our 1 year wedding anniversary. My wife found this Marriott hotel in Middletown which is only about a 5 minute drive from downtown Newport, and the Beaches in Newport/Middletown. We arrived to the hotel around 11:30am and were told that the room was not ready just yet but they would call us on our cell phone when it was. They offered to hold our luggage at the front desk till the room was ready. They called us around 12:45 to let us know that our room was ready. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful with giving us out of towners directions to a few good local restaurants we could go to kill the time. We we checked into our room, it was very clean, larger and more spacious than I had thought. They have a living room/dining room with a full kitchen (stove, full refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, silverware and plate ware) area then in a separate room is the master b/r with an adjoining bathroom. Everything was great my only complaint was with the bed. I have been to many other Marriott hotels and they have all upgraded their rooms along with their beds - for some reason this Marriott in Middletown did not? The bed was very stiff and felt like it needed to be upgraded with the rest of the room. They had a nice little gym/workout room - 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, set of free weight dumbbells and a pulley machine. This hotel also offers a big breakfast spread EVERY morning and there are a few items that are changed from day to day. It wasn't the best but it was free. They also have a "free food social" in the bar on Mondays, Tuesday, and Thursday where they have a nice free buffet. All in all, this hotel is a great place to stay especially if you are there to visit the sites in Newport. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Girlfriend trip to Newport, so we decided to get the best rate at what we would expect to be a good hotel. This Residence Inn is brand new, very clean, nice indoor pool (kids playing) and nice outdoor seating area. Breakfast included, and was perfect before heading out to do some shopping. Rooms have kitchens and nice bathrooms, and I would definately stay again (ESPECIALLY compared to some other hotels in Middletown). Also, you can walk down to Christmass Tree Shoppe! Would recommend for families and weekends away with friends!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

very nice hotel. Great rooms and immaculate. The fresh cookies on check-in didn't hurt either. Plenty of room for 3 people in the king suite. Good location and a $10 cab ride from downtown. It was about $300 per night, which is pricy, but is way better than what one could pay being right in newport. The suite had a couch, table, full size fridge, 2 tv's, a microwave, and actual dishes. great value for this pricy area. Breakfast has hot and cold options and was very good. great front desk staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwake04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#8 of 18 in Middletown
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
722 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newport Middletown

Address: 325 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Middletown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#4 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: £80 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport County's newest hotel featuring 97 spacious suites, each with full kitchen and separate areas for sleeping, eating, working and relaxing. Enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, sport court, business center, guest laundry and all the comforts of home including free HS internet, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and social hour Monday, Tuesday & Thursday evenings. Beer & wine bar. Just 2 miles from the scenic attractions of Newport, yet nearby to the Navy Base and Corporate Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Residence Inn Middletown
Middletown Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing