We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I had stayed at the Resident Inn Hotel in Newport - Middletown and though the room was basic and the location good, the members of staff and the service as a whole does not inspire loyalty or a return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Kaya T.
I am so sorry that you were not happy with the service. I am eager to know more about your experience and hope you will contact me at the hotel. Guests frequently comment about the friendly & attentive service at the hotel so it concerns me that we failed to meet your expectations. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Jeff Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

For the price and the amenities you get, there is nothing better out there. We have spent a few nights just outside of Boston at a Residence Inn and thought it was wonderful. This experience was even better. Staff is great and super friendly. Breakfast was great as well. Coming back for next Newport visit!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank soosadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I like Residence Inns for the space and the kitchen and the extra bed in the pull out couch. This one didn't disappoint. A little awkward to get to but very quiet once you get there and easier in and out once you find that you can access it through the shopping center nearby. The staff was really helpful and friendly and the place was really clean. It was a quick drive into Newport at a great off-season price.

My only complaint would be that the mattress on the pull-out was not in the best shape. My older son (16) is glad for the privacy of the separate bed in the living room, but he said it wasn't very comfortable.

There were DVD players available to borrow which was great because I had brought a few DVDs and watching them on the computer isn't the best. Cookies at the front desk, breakfast included, there were tacos for dinner one night. Younger son enjoyed the pool. I requested a room on the 3rd or 4th floors because they are the pet-free floors.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for telling us about your stay & all the good things you enjoyed at the hotel. I am sorry the pull out was not comfortable for your 16 year old son. We certainly will check the mattresses on the pull outs to try & locate the one you described. Come back soon for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

While the hotel is a little hidden, it is very quiet being off the main road. Hotel was very clean, hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was excellent - one of the best set ups that we have seen traveling including various items to put in your eggs including cheese, chives, salsa, sour cream, etc and all of the topping for your waffles. Rooms were in excellent shape as well. Great choice if you are in Newport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TANDR641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for a great review. Yes, we're set back from the main road overlooking the valley, but there are lots of access points to get here once you see our location & it's easy to walk to the Christmas Tree Shop and other stores. Thanks again & we hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great hotel choice for Newport when all of the hotels downtown are booked!! Great space, clean and friendly!! The breakfast in the morning is great too. We took a cab easily into town and one back!!!

Room Tip: Great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

So glad that you decided to try out the Residence Inn and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a short cab ride and during the summer months we offer a shuttle to downtown for $3pp. Come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Normally we stay right in Newport, but felt the prices for staying off season were high. We decided to try the Residence Inn, and were pleasantly surprised. The price for a weekend stay was very reasonable. It's only about maybe 2 miles from Newport, which was convenient. We had a studio room with a king bed, living area, and a small kitchen area with granite countertops. It seemed very new and clean, as well as spacious. Plates, silverware, and basic cooking supplies were very helpful to have.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful, making sure we were happy with our accommodations. We didn't eat breakfast there, so cannot comment on whether it was good or not. The Inn sits way off the main road, which is good because we didn't hear any road noise. But it is in a strip mall area, with lots of stores and restaurants. I would not stay here as a destination hotel, but it's great for visiting Newport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mimiwoo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be convenient to Newport and to offer great value for a weekend visit. The extra space our suite offers really makes a visit comfortable and special. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My girlfriend and I booked a weekend here for Valentines Day, Newport was having their Winter Festival and there are a lot of little classes and tours available, it was well worth it. The hotel was clean and inviting, the room was spacious and clean, the only downside was the location itself there's nothing interesting about where it's located kind of near strip malls and office parks, but it's close enough to everything you want to do in the area, maybe a five minute ride. One thing we were glowing about was the service, the staff was polite and friendly, informed and genuinely seemed to care, in fact one of the nights we were there we got 10 inches of snow, when we woke up in the morning the Hotel staff was cleaning the snow off of people's cars, shoveling them out, and scraping their windshields, I will say I fully expected them to plow the lots and shovel the walkways, but I thought cleaning off your car was above and beyond and a pleasant surprise! Breakfast at the hotel was solidly good, hard boiled eggs, toast, oj, cereal, yogurt, biscuits and gravy, breakfast potatoes, I pretty much always book hotels that include breakfast and this was corporate kitchen good, somewhere between more than just fruit and a muffin and home cooking. So solid hotel, nice rooms, pool/hot tub (we didn't have a chance to use) good food, great service! We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#8 of 18 in Middletown
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
722 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newport Middletown

Address: 325 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Middletown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#4 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: £80 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport County's newest hotel featuring 97 spacious suites, each with full kitchen and separate areas for sleeping, eating, working and relaxing. Enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, sport court, business center, guest laundry and all the comforts of home including free HS internet, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and social hour Monday, Tuesday & Thursday evenings. Beer & wine bar. Just 2 miles from the scenic attractions of Newport, yet nearby to the Navy Base and Corporate Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newport / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Residence Inn Middletown
Middletown Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing