We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Nearby Hotels
Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area(Middletown)(Great Value!)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Whale Motel(Middletown)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Newport Middletown(Middletown)(Great Value!)
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sea Breeze Inn(Middletown)(Great Value!)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
268
119
18
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
119
18
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasketball courtfull size fridgean extended stayseparate bedroomfree breakfastevening receptionbusiness centergreat place to stayfamily vacationthe sofa bedpool and hot tubwe've stayedhome away from homelaundry roomminute drivevery nice hotelfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights over 4th of July weekend. We checked in unexpectedly and last minute after arriving at and then leaving another local hotel that's indoor pool was closed. My kids loved the indoor pool here. Staff was helpful and courteous. Making a last minute reservation was a piece of cake. Hotel is clean and welcoming. Our room was clean, spacious and accommodating. I originally didn't consider this hotel due to the distance from Newport, but the drive is quick and the nice hotel made up for the inconvenience.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank T0ughbutfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are pleased that we were able to accommodate your last minute change of plans and that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here almost every year since 2008. The suites are perfect for our traveling family. The hotel is not far from downtown newport or the beaches which is our main destination. The included.breakfast helps us keep.costs down and get.on our way in the morning and this year they even pulled out a huge bin of duplo legos for my 4 and 2 year old which kept them quite busy when we were in the room with some task at hand. We love this hotel and residence inn's as a brand in general.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Brian S.
Thank you for your loyalty to Residence Inn and our hotel! We are pleased that you return almost every year. A few more years and your children will be old enough to enjoy the SportCourt! In the meantime, we will keep the toy drawer in the lobby fully stocked for your little ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Reservations: Made online with ease

Check In: Wonderful, friendly staff. Efficient and pleasant.

Room: We got the two bedroom suite others have reviewed. One bedroom had a king bed with BR; other bedroom had a queen bed with BR; joined in the middle by a living area/kitchen. Spotless, perfect for family travel. Quiet, comfortable, good room temperature control.

Breakfast: Not bad, but not great. Area was pleasant, and crowded at 7 a.m, which surprised us. Average fare.

Parking: Adequate; though full, we did get a space whenever we needed it.

Value: We thought it was good. The hotel is very convenient to very expensive Newport, making it very easy to tour, so we thought a rate of $405 per night was a good value.

Check Out: Again, very pleasant. And, they asked "Could we have done anything to improve your stay with us?" I don't hear that much, and was impressed. But, there really wasn't anything to improve.

Would definitely stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank fourfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We appreciate your business and thank you for writing a review containing so much information. I always promote the 2 bedroom suites and I'm pleased to hear it worked out well for your family. Thank you again and please come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Residence for a night, while visiting Newport. The 1BR suite was immaculate and spacious. The free breakfast, parking, and internet were great. A big convenience was the hotel shuttle which, for a nominal $3.00 fee (each way), took you for the short ride to Bowen's Wharf in the heart of Newport. It was definitely worth it to avoid the traffic and parking hassles.
However, we must say, that the best part of our stay was the kind and considerate treatment we received from Melissa, who ran the front desk area. She went beyond being courteous, efficient, and professional, to assure that we felt welcome and satisfied with everything. During our short visit, we felt that we had actually made a new friend, and it doesn't get any better than that! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ace-ele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for writing about all the good things you experienced during your stay and especially to recognize Melissa's great service. It means so much when our associates are recognized for their efforts. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I were planning on staying at another hotel but it was sold out. We decided to take a chance on staying at The Residence Inn in Middletown . We have visited Newport many times and this is our new (go to) hotel.....
Clean....
Friendly...
Free breakfast every morning...
This place is a well oiled machine.....congrats to the staff and management....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Jeff_Miller, General Manager at Residence Inn Newport Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Mitch R.,
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are now your preferred hotel in the Newport area. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews