We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience”
Review of Rhea's Kitchen

Rhea's Kitchen
Ranked #11 of 89 Restaurants in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
York, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A group of 40 of us dined at Rhea’s for the rehearsal dinner the night before a wedding. It was wonderful. From when we arrived and began ordering cocktails the service was spot on. Stuffed mushroom appetizer was so yummy, the bread was warm and tasted homemade, and the salad was perfect. I had fish and my husband had ribs and both meals were excellent. His ribs were falling off the bone. Barbeque sauce was fantastic. I had the bread pudding for dessert and it was the best bread pudding I’ve ever had. The décor was simple and tasteful. It was a wonderful evening, a great choice by the bride and groom for their closest friends and family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelbs97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A very nice local restaurant”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A delightful family busy, friendly and very accomodating.
Clean, bright and cozy. Food selection is quite large, nice bar
area and up to date dining.
The staff could not be more friendly and helpful
Wonderful meal, fresh seafood and excellent service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mar w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Simple...Quiet... Good food...”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Just want there for a Greek salad...

Very good and affordable...

Great customer service...

I've been told they have great ribs...

Very nice ambiance...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We lived a mile away from Rhea's for the last ten years and finally ventured in today for a lunch and a look see. (I know. Doesn't say much for our sense of adventure, despite considering myself fairly adventurous. I'll blame it on wifey.) It's unfortunate as Rhea's is located in between to two somewhat unattractive storefronts so it's easy to forgo it.

The dining room is very attractive and very clean. The menu has what I call standard fare, nothing very unique. However, only one meal here for lunch doesn't make me qualified to stand by this assessment.

Chowder and escorole soup for starters was very good. The chowder was full of clams and well balanced seasoning. The escarole soups was wow. Wifey ordered a grill cheese sandwich. (See I told you. Wifey isn't very adventurous.) I had a steak and cheese which was also very good.

The server was a doll. English was her second language, so there was a tiny struggle ordering. Regardless, she was proficient, very pleasant and eager to please.

All in all a good value and we intend to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank relevance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An excellent choice!”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

In this day of fast food, the commonality of chain restaurants, and rushed dining, Rhea's was an oasis. The food was excellent both times that we ate there and the atmosphere is quiet and private. This is not a super-busy place and the staff gives prompt and caring service. We concluded that this was certainly among the top spots to dine in this area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tartan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhea's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Rhea's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing