We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhea's Inn by the Sea(Middletown)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$315
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,822)
Filter reviews
1,822 results
Traveller rating
891
711
161
45
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
891
711
161
45
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleancookiesapplebee's restaurantindoor poolnewport areacontinental breakfastwould stay here againhot tubparking lotnice stayfirst floormake your own wafflesexercise roomrhode islandfridge and microwavefront desk staffcoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
1,177 - 1,182 of 1,822 reviews
A Wyndham traveler
New City
15
Reviewed 2 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Reservations and front desk polite and very accomodating. Room clean. whirlpool nice pool could use some updating bot still nice. Could be a little more private. to open to everyone in hallways and coming in from outdoors.
Hallways are damp and musty. though didn't seem the same in the rooms. Over all decent room prices would come again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Diane,

We are truly appreciative of your positive feedback regarding our hotel and staff. Your review is a great encouragement to all of us and we thank you sharing your experience. I want to apologize for the musty smell you experienced in our hallway, I want you to know this is not a typical experience. I have reviewed your comments with our Chief Engineer and our Housekeeping Team and they have addressed this issue. We hope you'll find your way back to our Howard Johnson Inn in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,


Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Wyndham traveler
Monroe
2
Reviewed 1 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Middletown HoJo Inn in the off season for $62 per night. When we saw the room I exclaimed that we've often paid more than $162 per night for worse rooms. Everything was up to date, clean, and no motel disinfectant smell. We had a decent fridge and microwave in the room, a second sink outside the bathroom, comfortable beds, and wifi that worked. Best of all our second floor room was quiet the entire time we were there. My only complaint about the room is that the toilet was far too low for an adult.

The inn is very convenient to Newport and only minutes from Sachuest National Wildlife Refuge, where we spent much of our time while in town. There is an Applebee's attached to the motel but they aren't open for breakfast; HoJo's provides free coffee, OJ, muffins, and fruit in an alcove near the office. We did eat in the nearby Newport Creamery and Anthony's Seafood a few miles away but I can't really recommend either place.

This motel is really an amazing value and we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillYankee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback on our hotel. It's great to know our clean hotel, friendly staff and comfortable accommodations made for an enjoyable stay. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I had a large comfortable queen room #236 on 12/26 & 12/27/2013. It was very clean. I would suggest that it is not what I would call handicap excessible in some areas. Lots of stairs and Rm # 236 must be a walk of 1/4 of mile from the front desk lobby. The hallway was very cold and the room was also very cold upon entering.There was a heater unplugged in the hallway. The heat was turned off in the room. It took almost 2 hours to heat up from 60 degrees to 70 degrees. The light switch in the bathroom is so small I had to turn on the heat lamp to find it. The toliet tissue holders need to be moved to the right of the toliet as they are in an awkward place. The hotel is very handy to everything and parking is very good. Price is very resonable.

Room Tip: Elderly ask for rooms with not a lot of stairs to get to from parking. Perhaps 1st floor rooms are best. Or rooms closer to the Lobby.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ortrud s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with a exceptional stay. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. I have reviewed your comments with our Chief Engineer and our Executive Housekeeper. We have made sure the heaters in the hallways are on for the winter and we have ensured all guest rooms are heated to a comfortable temperature prior to guests arrival. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements.


Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews