We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best regional place with a dog”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    645
    132
    34
    13
See reviews for
695
503
68
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent stay. Excellent staff, very curtious, always cheerful and within a half hour of me checking into my room they called to make sure everything was good with the room. Love the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Michael,

We can't thank you enough for sharing your wonderful review of our staff members here at the Howard Johnson Inn! We aim to deliver exceptional customer service to each and every one of our guests and it brings us great joy to know that we accomplished this during your visit with us.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelfart, Denmark
Level Contributor
226 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a budget hotel so very straight forward room, but the bed was good. It had microwave and good tv, and it was clean and nice. Our teenage boys loved the hotel because of the pool and the small exercise room.
My only complaint coming from Europe was the "Continental Breakfast" they claimed to serve. In Europe a cake and fruit is not break fast. But they did have free coffee and juice too and there were ok break fast places nearby. They also had a shuttle bus down to Newport Wharf which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mvanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback of our hotel. It's great to know our clean hotel, comfortable accommodations, and pool area made for an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your feedback concerning our grab and go contential breakfast. We are sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations. At this time our contential breakfast offers muffins, fresh fruit, apple juice, orange juice, fresh ground coffee, and tea. We hope to expand on this amenity in the future. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Most HJ are for the budget traveler. This one is no exception except that it has some pretty nice family amenities like an indoor pool, fitness center and guest laundry. The hotel is two stories, no elevator. It is surprisingly long to walk from one end to the other. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, with microwave and refrigerator. They offer a one time complimentary water and snacks on arrival. Breakfast is very limited with self serve coffee, fruit, and muffin. Wifi is individualized which was different, but once on it is really fast!

You go here to visit Newport anyway and it is very convenient to be just outside the town limits. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Disabled should ask for first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are truly appreciative of your positive feedback regarding our hotel and staff, as well as the level of detail you've provided for our future guests. Your review is a great encouragement to all of us and we thank you sharing your experience. We hope you'll find your way back to the Howard Johnson Inn in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
2.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area

Property: Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area
Address: 351 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Middletown
#4 Business Hotel in Middletown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness rm, business center, free HS Internet, Applebee's Restaurant attached, located 2 miles from downtown Newport, 1 mile from Newport Navy Base and corporate parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Newport Area / Middletown Hotel Middletown
Howard Johnson Middletown
Howard Johnson Newport Middletown
Middletown Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing