We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pineapple Inn(Newport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Willows Inn(Middletown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,800)
Filter reviews
1,800 results
Traveller rating
876
706
160
44
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
706
160
44
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleancookiesindoor poolapplebee's restaurantnewport areacontinental breakfastwould stay here againhot tubparking lotfirst floornice stayexercise roomrhode islandwafflesfront desk stafffridge and microwavecoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,033 - 1,038 of 1,800 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel. Room was very clean, and staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were given early check-in and were able to hop on the shuttle into Newport literally 10 minutes after arriving. The shuttle drivers were great and it was nice to not have to worry about driving in Newport. We will stay here again next time!

Room Tip: We had a second floor room and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank firefly15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for letting us know about the great customer service you received during your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel, especially our shuttle Service! The next time you are in our area, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Howard Johnson Inn.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel stinks/dirty and smelly rugs.and way over priced.its not worth the money,I don't recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns, as feedback from our guests is an essential part of improving our services. We sincerely apologize if your room was not at its best upon your arrival. We truly regret any inconveniences that this may have caused and can assure you that your review is being passed along to the head of our housekeeping department. We never want our guests to leave feeling that their expectations weren't met and we hope you will someday allow us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Was pleasantly surprised and would stay here again! Room was nice. Appreciate the two sinks - one inside the bathroom and one outside the bathroom so we could get ready faster in the morning. Room was clean and nicely decorated. Free breakfast consisted of apples and bananas and pre-wrapped muffins. Coffee machine in the breakfast area is available 24/7 and includes hot chocolate and a cafe mocha. Pool and jacuzzi were very nice (indoor). Fitness room looked decent. Nice family atmosphere. Staff at front desk were pleasant and kind. We actually left behind an expensive piece of equipment in the room and didn't realize till about 9 hours and a few states later. Took a few phone calls to locate the item and I was doubting it would "turn up" but we are SOOOOOOOOOOOO happy that everyone was honest and they were more than happy to mail it to us. The hotel is in a great location. It is not downtown but only minutes from all of the fun spots (the Mansions, the beaches, etc.). I would definitely recommend this hotel due to the price and location.

Room Tip: Some rooms are used for people with pets so if you have allergies, be sure to request a room that is not for pets.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jtea34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We are truly pleased that we had the opportunity to welcome you and your family to the Howard Johnson Inn. Thank you for your kind and gracious comments as they have been well noted and will be shared with our team. Positive feedback, such as yours, is what motivates us to continue to provide the best possible service and we thank you for reaching out and sharing your most recent visit. We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights for a ladies getaway. The room was large, clean and comfy. The balcony was small and overlooked the parking lot but still nice to have. The shuttle to Newport for just 3.00 per person was fantastic, a great way to avoid looking for parking, and the shuttle drivers were very friendly. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and pleasant. It is nice that a grab and go continental breakfast is offered. It was good but held in a very cramped spot with only the ability for only one cup at a time from the coffee maker. I overhead staff talking about the possibility of expanding the breakfast area, that would fantastic. We were so busy we never got a chance to use the pool but it it was a nice sized pool and looked very clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likeclearnrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoNewport, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. We're glad that you were able to take advantage of our location and really enjoy your time here in Newport. In addition, we truly appreciate you describing our hotels amenities in such great detail. Thank you for acknowledging our staff and I was pleased to read you enjoyed our shuttle service. We hope you'll find your way back to the Howard Johnson Inn in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Joslyn, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews