We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn the meaning of "Hospitality."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Learn the meaning of "Hospitality."”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The definition of the word "Hospitality" is "the friendly reception and treatment of guests or strangers." It's synonymous with "warmth, cordiality, friendliness." Unfortunately, nothing about this Ramada delivers any friendliness, warmth or cordiality. These people work in the hospitality business and seem to not know or not care about actually being hospitable to their guests. In truth, when I first checked in, late on a Friday night, the kid at the front desk was friendly. The one and only friendly, outgoing, nice person that I met during my three night stay. And I never saw him again. The next day, I encountered two front desk "agents" who were rude, unfriendly and wouldn't even acknowledge my presence. The guy behind the desk stared at me, glaring, as if to say "Who the heck are you?" as I walked by twice. No "hello" or "how can I help you?" Nope. Just a angry stare, as if I better not bother him. When I did actually need some help, my key had stopped working, I approached the girl behind the desk but she was no friendlier. She barely said a word, was not pleasant or cordial at all, and didn't even help me, since the guy came over and did it for her. Neither of them attempted to actually engage me in friendly conversation. When I checked out, the woman behind the desk didn't even look up from her computer and barely took the time to say "Thanks." As for the rooms, they are barely average, at best. The floor by the bathroom squeaked loudly. The toilet had the loudest flush I have ever heard. The beds are acceptable, for cheap hotel beds, but not great. And the table in the room was so wobbly, I didn't even put anything on it, for fear it might tip over or fall apart. Which brings me back to the real point. If your rooms are crappy, the only way you are going to get people to come back is to give them an exceptional customer service experience. By being extra helpful and extra friendly and extra hospitable. You've gotta do something to rise about the mediocrity of your rooms and your on-site restaurant. Unfortunately, the staff here has no interest in that, and there is just too much far-better competition in the area. I won't be back to this place and couldn't recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBarossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    141
    233
    208
    150
See reviews for
297
259
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I lenthened my stay here because I found it comfortable, quiet and had an excellent bed. I slept deeply and really relaxed. I had a suite actually but paid for a room. One room had a couch, table, sink and cabinet, tv and the other a king bed, really comfy, a desk, chair large TV and for some reason a microwave and fridge which logically should have been in other room. Nice bath off living type room also with really good towels, a jacuzzi tub and space. Lightng throughout was good and for reading and computer. Entrance to hotel very large with well maintained marble floors. Continental breakfast had great coffee but food was mostly packaged stuff...need yogurt at least...but coffee wonderful! Clean throughout and I can see how well it would accomomdate large tour groups.
Desk sataff very helpful and friendly and welcoming. Sercvie staff also helpful. If I could get that room again for the same low price I would go back...a lovely break and got lots of needed rest.My only suggestion would be to put fridge/microwave next to sink and add a soft chair in its spot in bedroom..one that could be brought to desk for computer or drinks , coffee, chatting etc. and maybe a some prints in living room...rather boring decor there.

Room Tip: ask for a couch and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tolle2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

There are may negative reviews but I did NOT experience any of them. The staff was great. My room was great. The bathroom looks like it has been updated, The room did have older furniture but it was very clean. The coffee in the room was very good. My room had an LED flat screen TV with cable and HBO. It also had a microwave and refrigerator. The internet worked great for streaming Netflix movies to my IPAD and The free brekfeast was great. There was a such a vast variety of foods to choose from. I was there for two days and there was a morning paper outside my door both mornings. I left my phone in my room and when I got home I called. Laurel at the front desk and she went to UPS to send my phone back to me. My visit was very positive and I will be returning this summer.

Room Tip: Well I believe this hotel in under renovation because my room was great. (room 139). I was on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Having read a few bad reviews on this hotel after booking I was delighted to find the hotel was in a good location for most things we wanted to do and the room was clean but not the biggest we've stated in but it had a seperate area for our cloths and suitcase so they were not in the sleeping area. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The resturant was really good value and the food was really good. We were there for two nights and ate there both evenings. The only thing that I would say was not great was the breakfast room. The food was all we needed but the room was just a conferance room with no atmosphere.Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
1.6 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Middletown Newport Area

Property: Ramada Middletown Newport Area
Address: 425 E Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-5213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Middletown Newport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your next trip to New England, book a room at our Ramada Middletown hotel near Newport beach community and downtown shopping area. Our Middletown, RI, hotel is just minutes from exciting area attractions and sightseeing, making your stay with us fun and carefree. Our 132-room property offers guest laundry services, free parking for vehicles of any size and free Wi-Fi internet access. Handicapped-accessible rooms, non-smoking rooms and whirlpool suites are available at our hotel in Middletown, RI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing