We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improvement needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    141
    229
    205
    150
See reviews for
291
257
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Pro's - good price and the only place in the area without a 2 night minimum. Close to ABC and easy parking. Staff was friendly. Comfortable bed.

Con's - Room was outdated. Our door would not close from the outside. When we called the front desk for help the girl was in a panic as she was currently searching for someone to fix something else. She said she would come up. We waited about 10 minutes and no one came. We found a way to close the door (one of us stayed in the room, closed the door and the person on the outside put the key card in. When the door unlocked we had to hold the handle in that position in order to close it). As for the shuttle, we paid $8 each which was supposed to be for unlimited rides for the day. We took the shuttle to downtown Newport. The driver told us that on Saturday night the shuttle ran until a little after 1 am (the time the bars closed). We were waiting for him at 1 am, maybe it was 1:02 but that was still a little after 1 am. We called, no answer. Ended up having to take a taxi home. What a waste of money and rude of him to tell us a little after 1 am and then never show or answer our call. Even if to tell us he was done working for the night. Lastly, I called the front desk around 2 am (a little late but what can I say, I was hungry) to ask for a can opener. She told me she didn't have one, and I asked if there was one in the kitchen and she said no, and hung up on me. Terrible service by both the night shift clerk and the shuttle driver, Gene. There was also no elevator and we had to haul all of our stuff up three flights of stairs, through a very confusing hallway system. They should at least offer to help if they don't have an elevator. I was exhausted after lugging my fairly heavy suitcase up and a cooler because they have no refrigerator in the room.

Overall, I suppose I'd stay here again ONLY if I needed a place to stay for 1 night. It was my first time to Newport and I was really excited for this trip. I guess I just expect more out of a well known company. The problem with our door was the worst though. We were basically trapped in our room because we couldn't leave with the door open and they didn't seem to care. Unacceptable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Ang1699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is old and needs to be updated. They should close the kitchen door because it is not
a view you wish to see if you are going to eat in their restaurant. I cannot believe that the sheets in our room had not been changed from the previous customer. We were appalled and sickened when we saw the wrinkled sheets and a hair on the bed. They had no cleaning person on staff and they had a man from maintenance come to the room and change the sheets. At that point we would have left but we were with another couple and did not want to disturb them. The continental breakfast was poor at best. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, they need to clean up their act.

Room Tip: Cannot give you a good tip about this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean2012414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel was conveniently located and quiet. The room was very large and clean. I liked that I didn't need a 2 night minimum stay, which is common for the area. The downsides: no automatic opening front door and I struggled to enter with my luggage; the lobby could use updating; and the outdoor smoking area was near the entrance. But, I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Cora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overpriced and poor quality hotel. From arrival I did not like this hotel. The reception staff were very rude and unhelpful - I was not made aware that either a bar or restaurant were available in the hotel. The lobby was poorly lit.

The room I stayed in was very dated and no flat screen / HD TV as described on the website. WiFi was very weak in room. All furnishings were worn. However the cleaning staff kept the room very clean.

The breakfast buffer was in a meeting room and included a reasonable variety of food - however virtually everything came in sealed plastic (i.e. nothing fresh).

Room Tip: Would recommend staying on the eastern side of middletown - some hotels look a similar quality but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AidanOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
1.6 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Middletown Newport Area

Property: Ramada Middletown Newport Area
Address: 425 E Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-5213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Middletown Newport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your next trip to New England, book a room at our Ramada Middletown hotel near Newport beach community and downtown shopping area. Our Middletown, RI, hotel is just minutes from exciting area attractions and sightseeing, making your stay with us fun and carefree. Our 132-room property offers guest laundry services, free parking for vehicles of any size and free Wi-Fi internet access. Handicapped-accessible rooms, non-smoking rooms and whirlpool suites are available at our hotel in Middletown, RI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing