We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to relax!!”
Review of Breezeway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Breezeway Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

So many words to say,, John, couldn't do enough for us!! Staff, so friendly, especially Elena, who greeted us with a "hello and a smile" every morning. This place is immaculate. If you need anything, just ask the front desk. They just want to please you. We opted for a king bed. Very comfortable. You also have a private beach which comes with a bathroom. The Little Mermaid is to your left if you feel hungry. Everything is so right there. You also get a small continental breakfast. Not for the "low carb" eater. Muffins, Bagels and cereal. Wish they had fruit. OJ and Coffee is also there. You can also use one of their bikes for a ride if you want. They are free to use. We will be back again next year. Also forgot, a heated pool is also on the grounds. Everything anyone would want. This place gets top billing from us.... 5 STARS!!!

Room Tip: The top rooms are usually quiet with King beds. This is a family resort and children love to play a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitchenlady6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for your great review! I will be sure to tell our staff of the great job and I'll especially pass the word on to Elena. We couldn't do it without them and your comments make it all worth while. We'll see if we can't get some fruit into the mix for next season. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We booked a pool side room with a queen sized bed and a queen sized murphy bed which was no longer available at check in[we were early]. Instead we got small hotel type room close to the highway. The road noise made sleeping difficult.
They also charge an exorbitant fee for day visitors[$20 for parking &$20 per person.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kem m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for your review of our property.

I do recall your visit and that at check in, prior to entering your room, you were upset about our policy of charging a fee for visitors to our resort. You notified our front desk associate that you thought our policy regarding day visitors was ridiculous and that you would never return. We are sorry you felt this way but this is our policy and our rates are posted online and are linked to your confirmation e-mail when booking. We offer a private setting for our guests including our own private beach, for the use of resort guests only. In order to maintain a peaceful, private setting and to offer the amenities we do, we feel our rates and charges for visitors are justified.

As with all of our reservations, booked by telephone or online, a confirmation e-mail is sent with all of the details of the reservation. This would of course include room type. There was no bait & switch intended. We are a reputable establishment in business for 43 years.. Had we not been sold out during the duration of your visit, we would have gladly moved you to a Queen w/ Murphy bed. In fact, I did offer to move you from the brand new Queen room to the Queen w/ Murphy on your second night but you declined. I understand that would have been an inconvenience to move

We thank you for trying the Breezeway and appreciate the opportunity to reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Breezeway for the first time this year. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. There are some nice touches to help you out during your stay. They supply beach towels and a beach bag. Nicely done! They also provide blow dryers and shampoo and conditioner. A definite step up from a no frills roadside beach motel. You can walk to the beach but there is parking available at a beachside parking lot.Very convenient! Our only "complaint" would be regarding the bathrooms at the beach. Each guest is given a key to access the beach bathrooms. The problem is, when you are using a bathroom any other guest can come along and open the door while you are in the bathroom. (It happened twice while we were there.)This problem could be easily remedied by installing a simple hook and eye lock inside each bathroom. While we were there one of the bathrooms was really, really messy and gross. We alerted the attendant and she immediately cleaned it up. It seems that at the Breezeway they take pride in being an orderly, efficient establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcosNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us at The Breezeway and for your review. Your comments about the beach bathroom lock is very much appreciated . The building housing our beach bathrooms was just recently rebuilt after Hurricane Sandy and the ADA door handles are new. So new that I wasn't aware of the flaw. This will definitely be fixed right away. I'm glad to know our beach attendant Lora, was available to tidy up the bathroom for you immediately. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

As usual the Breezeway never ceases to amaze us. The Breezeway is beautiful, meticulously maintained, safe and soothing. The property is lovely and private with all it's shrubs, flowers, trees and special places to sit and relax while listening to the fountains. The fountains are lit up at night and they are such a beautiful sight. Our favorite room was renovated and we were impressed when we walked in. The decor, the bathroom, the new floor and furniture - unbelievable! The Breezeway is the perfect spot for families, couples and anyone who is looking for a carefree vacation. Mr. and Mrs. Bellone, John (their son) and their staff are so welcoming and eager to accommodate their guests. Breakfast is always ready, warm and fresh. A private beach with 2 private guest bathrooms makes us feel special. A parking lot so close to your beach chair that all you need is your suntan lotion and towel. We pack our cooler and leave it in the car. Hungry? I'll be right back! I can't say enough about the Breezeway. But if you get a chance, check it out. You'll be delighted. I can't wait for Maria's Seaside Cafe to re-open. It's always a pleasure to see and speak with Telma and Anna. We feel like family at the Breezeway and it's very hard to depart. But we'll be back in September! In one sentence: Easy, Peasy at the Breezeway!
Sally Macedo

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

My parents, Anna. Telma and our entire staff all thank you for your great comments. We REALLY appreciate it and look forward to seeing you in September.

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had heard about Westerly RI, but knew nothing about it. Did some research on TripAdvisor, and then went to the Breezeway website. Decided with info from both we would try it - what a great find!! We loved the main property (ease of check-in, pool, breakfast area)!! The penthouse suite down on the beach is where we stayed - immaculately clean, beautiful view, immediate beach access, and a great bar across the street (Andrea). While there is alot of construction going on across the street (re-do from hurricane damage), there is still east beach access, and places to eat and drink.........We will DEFITINELY be back to this property!!

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite is gorgeous, wish it was just a bit cheaper.......would have stayed longer if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

What else can we say but thank you! We work hard to please our guests and its gratifying to hear your comments. Come and see us again soon please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was my first trip to the Rhode Island shore and I was extremely pleased with the Breezeway! I loved the private beach and the resort property was beautiful. I especially enjoyed the shade trees and lawn to provide a break from the sun. My room was a perfect size, the furnishing lovely and the bathroom spotless. The staff was accommodating helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front building are good for singles and couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

We appreciate your comments and are so happy that you were pleased with your stay at The Breezeway. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family to our property again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our first experience as a family at the beach was wonderful thanks to the ocean view room at Breezeway Resort. While Hurricane Sandy has left an enormous impact on the local beach scene, this area of the ocean is still one of the most beautiful spots to visit, and having a room right across from the beach was so easy with kids in tow. We opted for the room with a whirlpool tub and we loved using it after a day at the beach. The room itself had a really quaint cottage feel to it, and fellow travelers were really friendly. Bikes were available to borrow for 3 hour stints - a nice touch. Included continental breakfast at the main campus was a nice opportunity to visit with others and catch up on the local news. It was about an 8 minute walk to the main campus. A friendly, welcoming attendant, two clean, cute bathrooms right on the beach, umbrellas and chairs to rent for $5/ day, a lifeguard, and a place to wash off your sandy feet made us feel really taken care of. All of the little extras that you don't want to think about when you are at the beach were such a nice touch. Thanks, Breezeway, for providing a great first time beach experience for me and my family!

Room Tip: Our room had a microwave and small fridge which was just right for us to make small lunches during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KristelApplebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and our Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Maria's Suites. Unfortunately, due to Hurricane Sandy, our cafe on the first floor will not be operational this year but we are happy that you were able to enjoy the suites. From our family to yours, thanks again for being our guests and hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.6 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#6 of 6 in Misquamicut
33 reviews
1 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#11 of 17 in Westerly
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
8.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,167 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezeway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezeway Resort

Address: 70 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3526
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range: £104 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breezeway Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breezeway Resort is your peaceful oasis located just steps from Misquamicut Beach in Westerly, Rhode Island. 50 well-appointed guest rooms, suites, villas and a cottage dot our five acre park-like compound with handcrafted fountains and outdoor swimming pool. Our casually elegant boutique motel is hidden from plain view and away from the hustle and bustle of the beach and features our own private Breezeway Beach. Before a day at the beach or sightseeing, guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily. Centrally located for guests visiting Watch Hill, Mystic, Newport, Block Island and the many beautiful coastal villages in between. Join us for our 46th year of serving families and friends. John for Bellone Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Breezeway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezeway Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing