We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced for what it is”
Review of Breezeway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breezeway Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We chose the Breezeway for it's location and the glowing trip advisor reviews. On the website the resort looks like a motel. Plain and simple. I was hesitant, because I try not to stay at motels for my vacations, but the reviews made it sound like it was more. When I opened the door to our room, in the main building I was definitely surprised. There was nothing wrong with the room other than it smelled a little moldy (seaside carpeting), but it was incredibly small. The beds are comfy, and the rooms, and resort are very clean, but it's definitely not worth 250 mid week in high season for 2 doubles. Closets and efficiency kitchen are tiny. If you stay on the ground floor you have a view of the cars parked in front of you. They charge 20 bucks extra for each addl person. Not exactly family friendly.
The breakfast is a starchfest. Bread, toast & cereal. No fruit. Not many real breakfast options close by, but I did notice a breakfast sandwich place at the ice cream place on the beach.
The beach is further than they make it sound, and the piece they own is pretty small and penned in. The pool is very clean and nice but a little cold for a heated pool. The grounds are lovely with a well manicured lawn, plants and interesting fountains.
There is a rooftop patio which is great for hanging out and having lunch.
The staff are friendly and courteous
I would recommend staying in one of the other separate buildings for more space & privacy if you can afford it.
All in all, we had a great vacation because we had great weather and good friends, but if you stay in the main building you are staying in a clean, overpriced motel. No more, no less

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your candid review of our property. As with all of our reviews, we will certainly keep your comments in mind as we are constantly striving to improve our facility. Thank you for the opportunity and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Breezeway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was my first time to Rhode Island and to Breezeway Resort. This was just what we needed a relaxing, clean, courteous environment. I was very impressed by how clean and well maintained the grounds were, as well as the room. The pool was refreshing and with the beach down a few blocks - PERFECT. The staff wonderful! I will definitely be back. Thank you to your famiy and staff for a wonderful 4 days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

My family, staff and I thank you fro your comments and kind words! We hope you return often to Rhode Island and stop in at The Breezeway whenever you do.

Thanks very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at the Maria's Suites, which is an off site Breezeway location. This means you can use the beautiful pool and partake in the popular continental breakfast at the main "campus," but you have the benefit of being right across from the private Breezeway Beach.

Our room (401) overlooked the beach, and was great for a family of four. There is a private queen bedroom in the back and a very large main rook with a king bed and a full pullout sofa. Everything was like new, the service was superb and it really is very clean!

Room Tip: The main resort is lovely but a bit of a hike to the beach. Maria's is right across from the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We cannot thank you enough for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your suite at our Maria's location. The resort is 3/10th's of 1 mile to the beach and as you said, Maria's is across the street from our private beach. We have a little something for everyone. Glad you found what suited you and your family. Enjoy the rest of the summer and we hope to see you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Breezeway Resort. The resort is a bit further from the beach but you are able to drive to private parking lot (you need a pass to get in) that leads to the Breezeway's private beach. You are not from from many staples such as Paddy's when you are staying at the Breezeway. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful during out stay. They do offer a continental breakfast (and this is a plus since I don't know of any other places in the area doing this) of cold cereals, bagels, hot muffins, oj, milk, coffee and tea. Although it seems like the resort was full of guests the pool and beach never seemed over crowded! Their check out time is 11am but they do allow you to stay the day and use the pool and beach free of charge!!! The only suggestion I would make is that they purchase a couple high chairs for their guests to use for infants during breakfast!!! We will definitely be back to the Breezeway Resort again!

*** I would also recommend a trip to Watch Hill during your stay at Breezeway, it is not far and is a great little town ***

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210 it is in the corner but you do not have anyone walking past your window consta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our property! While we are located in the village of Misquamicut Beach, Watch Hill is just a stones throw away to our south. It's definitely worth a bike ride or drive. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

So many words to say,, John, couldn't do enough for us!! Staff, so friendly, especially Elena, who greeted us with a "hello and a smile" every morning. This place is immaculate. If you need anything, just ask the front desk. They just want to please you. We opted for a king bed. Very comfortable. You also have a private beach which comes with a bathroom. The Little Mermaid is to your left if you feel hungry. Everything is so right there. You also get a small continental breakfast. Not for the "low carb" eater. Muffins, Bagels and cereal. Wish they had fruit. OJ and Coffee is also there. You can also use one of their bikes for a ride if you want. They are free to use. We will be back again next year. Also forgot, a heated pool is also on the grounds. Everything anyone would want. This place gets top billing from us.... 5 STARS!!!

Room Tip: The top rooms are usually quiet with King beds. This is a family resort and children love to play a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitchenlady6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for your great review! I will be sure to tell our staff of the great job and I'll especially pass the word on to Elena. We couldn't do it without them and your comments make it all worth while. We'll see if we can't get some fruit into the mix for next season. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We booked a pool side room with a queen sized bed and a queen sized murphy bed which was no longer available at check in[we were early]. Instead we got small hotel type room close to the highway. The road noise made sleeping difficult.
They also charge an exorbitant fee for day visitors[$20 for parking &$20 per person.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kem m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for your review of our property.

I do recall your visit and that at check in, prior to entering your room, you were upset about our policy of charging a fee for visitors to our resort. You notified our front desk associate that you thought our policy regarding day visitors was ridiculous and that you would never return. We are sorry you felt this way but this is our policy and our rates are posted online and are linked to your confirmation e-mail when booking. We offer a private setting for our guests including our own private beach, for the use of resort guests only. In order to maintain a peaceful, private setting and to offer the amenities we do, we feel our rates and charges for visitors are justified.

As with all of our reservations, booked by telephone or online, a confirmation e-mail is sent with all of the details of the reservation. This would of course include room type. There was no bait & switch intended. We are a reputable establishment in business for 43 years.. Had we not been sold out during the duration of your visit, we would have gladly moved you to a Queen w/ Murphy bed. In fact, I did offer to move you from the brand new Queen room to the Queen w/ Murphy on your second night but you declined. I understand that would have been an inconvenience to move

We thank you for trying the Breezeway and appreciate the opportunity to reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Breezeway for the first time this year. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. There are some nice touches to help you out during your stay. They supply beach towels and a beach bag. Nicely done! They also provide blow dryers and shampoo and conditioner. A definite step up from a no frills roadside beach motel. You can walk to the beach but there is parking available at a beachside parking lot.Very convenient! Our only "complaint" would be regarding the bathrooms at the beach. Each guest is given a key to access the beach bathrooms. The problem is, when you are using a bathroom any other guest can come along and open the door while you are in the bathroom. (It happened twice while we were there.)This problem could be easily remedied by installing a simple hook and eye lock inside each bathroom. While we were there one of the bathrooms was really, really messy and gross. We alerted the attendant and she immediately cleaned it up. It seems that at the Breezeway they take pride in being an orderly, efficient establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcosNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWRI, General Manager at Breezeway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us at The Breezeway and for your review. Your comments about the beach bathroom lock is very much appreciated . The building housing our beach bathrooms was just recently rebuilt after Hurricane Sandy and the ADA door handles are new. So new that I wasn't aware of the flaw. This will definitely be fixed right away. I'm glad to know our beach attendant Lora, was available to tidy up the bathroom for you immediately. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.6 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#6 of 6 in Misquamicut
33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#11 of 17 in Westerly
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
17.3 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
223 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezeway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezeway Resort

Address: 70 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3526
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range: £114 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breezeway Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breezeway Resort is your peaceful oasis located just steps from Misquamicut Beach in Westerly, Rhode Island. 50 well-appointed guest rooms, suites, villas and a cottage dot our five acre park-like compound with handcrafted fountains and outdoor swimming pool. Our casually elegant boutique motel is hidden from plain view and away from the hustle and bustle of the beach and features our own private Breezeway Beach. Before a day at the beach or sightseeing, guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily. Centrally located for guests visiting Watch Hill, Mystic, Newport, Block Island and the many beautiful coastal villages in between. Join us for our 46th year of serving families and friends. John for Bellone Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Breezeway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezeway Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing