We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Atmosphere, with a Wonderful Host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
western MA
1 review
“Amazing Atmosphere, with a Wonderful Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Not only does Christine help you park the car when you first arrive but she is so personable that she actually escorts you to your room, unlike other hotels where they just give you the keys and directions. Whenever you need anything, fresh towels, or something special for breakfast she will go out of her way to make sure your stay is perfect (even turning the air conditioner on before you arrive). It was my first time going to Misquamicut, so once we arrived we found a specialized cake waiting in the room that read "Welcome to the Beach", nothing beats the amount of hospitality you will find at the Blue Whale Inn.
The wine and cheese hour was entertaining and you were able to interact with the other guests in a calm setting, under a canopy tent lit up by lights. Breakfast the next morning was even better, a whole long table filled with muffins, bagels, donuts, pastries, danishes, and fresh fruit. As well as a side table with drinks and fresh orange juice.
The room itself makes the stay great; the air conditioner cooled the room in under 10 minutes, and the quilted bedding gave it a country feeling that isn't like other hotels with the plastic feeling comforter, and the beds were so comfortable.
Due to the hospitable staff and wonderful atmosphere we will definitely go back, and would like to make it a tradition of going down every year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westernma_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    34
    13
    10
    11
See reviews for
51
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

My friend and i went to mesquamick beach,r.i i needed to get away .we were told about the blue whale.it was the best time of our trip.clean,quiet,cosy.their were lots of different people their from young adults to older adults.everyone was so very friendly.the owner could not do enough for you.(she even told me she'd go to the store for me)the breakfast was exquisite.cheese\wine hour was great with great wine and cheese(no cheese wiz|boone farm wine their)i cannot wait to go back been home 2 days and i'm home sick for the blue whale.it's great for families.couples or just to get away by yourself.i'm planning to go back in september........if you don't stay here your a fool.........and so cheap to stay....loved it

Room Tip: owner helps with the perfect room you need for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nina5219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western Ma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Christine, is an incredably great hostess...she has made her establishment feel comfortable,inviting, and its very clean and private. The rooms are very clean and beautiful with a great beach theme. The wine hour is fun to meeet new people and to relax with some cocktails and snacks. She puts out a grand buffet for breakfast and if you need anything shes always more than happy to get it from the store. when you arrive after your long drive to the beach she has beer and wine waiting for you and many times little things for the kids to make them feel special as well. Over the yrs we continue to go back and I think its my favorite hotel ever to stay in. I cant say enough great stuff about Christine, her staff, and her establishment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessa1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

The Blue Whale Inn is an amazing stay. The staff is so hospitable and sweet, I cannot stress that enough. Best hotel/inn staff I ever ever encountered. I have stayed at many places on this beach and I have never had an experience like this. The Inn has an awesome large backyard with a patio to relax, and the rooms are so homey and comfortable. They are very clean and neat and is only a walk from the beach. I will definitely be coming back. Great Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheezyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectaions with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

My husband and I got away and stayed here for 3 nights, the rooms were clean and the ac worked great. It was good distance to beach. I would stay upstairs so you cant hear the people upstairs at night. See you next year! Thanks so much for a good time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectaions with our hospitality and are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomaston, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We celebrated our first anniversary at the Blue Whale Inn and Christine was absolutely wonderful from the moment we booked our reservation to the moment we checked-out. We arrived early and she was able to check us right in. She, her husband, and Angel (an extremely personable and super soft cocker spaniel) made us feel very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay there immensely. We can not wait to return there for another enjoyable and relaxing get-away!!
Thank you again for making our first anniversary such a wonderful memory!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality and quality. We appreciate your positive response and thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Back in the spring a friend of ours started to coordinate a day & overnight trip to Misquamicut for a group of (10) people. Initially we had reserved hotel rooms at another location in Westerly but when price shopping contacted the Blue Whale Inn and found that we would be able to rent a (3) bedroom hotel room with (2) bathrooms & showers for approx. the same price we opted for the Blue Whale...HUGE MISTAKE!!!

We arrived around 12:30 on Saturday after traveling 2hrs to get there. We assumed that since check out time is at 11am that we would be able to stop in at the hotel, check ourselves in and either drop off our items and head to the beach as we had been told me would be able to. The proprietor of the Blue Whale met us in the parking lot and explained that our rooms were NOT ready and we wouldn't be able to drop off our luggage in our room until 3:30pm...even though check in was at noon. Strange...but we let it slide and hit the beach until around 4pm when we had enough of sun & surf and wanted showers & a change of clothes. We got our keys and headed up to the room.

When we walked up the stairs to the room we were greeted by a moldy/mildew covered hide a bed on the porch and cigarette butts all over the porch. Once we got inside...things didn't get much better! The rooms were small, poorly appointed for the price we were paying and the bathrooms were not clean & the plumbing worked poorly. We had a spare bed in one of the rooms which we went ahead to set up only to find the sheets on it were filthy, covered with crumbs and there was mouse feces in them! Needless to say...no one slept on the spare bed! We all settled in and showered. The main bathroom shower apparently leaked into the room below and the other shower was the size of a Port-A-John with horrible water pressure. After showering we hit the road for the Andrea Hotel for dinner. The Andrea was AMAZING and I highly recommend their jalapeno/cheddar poppers....and that you stay there!

When we got home from dinner there was no parking spaces left. Cars were parked 3 and 4 deep and we had to do the same at the end of the driveway in the grass. The front lightbulb was busted out and the broken glass was sitting on the slab beside the front door. The entry way downstairs was FILTHY with dust, mildew and hair/fur all over...there also was an odd pile of what appeared to be dog? urine dried next to the front door. The TV was from about 1906 and only got (3) channels which were fuzzy. The A/C didn't work and the only setting which functioned was high fan which just blew around hot air. The room we stayed in had a french door to some sort of a room where people were going in and out of throughout the night. When I went to use the bathroom before bed (as I was praying for morning so we could get the hell out of there!!!) I found a Rhode Island EBT card on the bath mat in front of the shower and a full towel bowl of feces! Very strange since none of our party were in the hotel while we were at the Andrea and none of us have Rhode Island BET cards. We then realized that our 2nd shower bathroom is some sort of a community bathroom that others were using as well as us. Locked the doors and went to BED!

In the morning the continental breakfast was what appeared to be day old bread and pastries which were hard and i'm pretty sure came from the 1/2 price old baked good section at the local Stop & Shop, the coffee sucked and the orange juice was from a can. We then had to wait to leave bc we were totally blocked in by other people (not sure if they were beach go'ers or hotel guests).

My advice is to NOT stay at the Blue Whale! For the same amount of $$ or less we could have stayed at the Sandy Shore or the Andrea and probably wouldn't have had the horrible experience we did there! Next year we will be renting an entire 3 BR private weekly rental in Point Judith, RI for $800 which is how much 1 night at the Blue Whale cost!

Room Tip: Get your room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MadameMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#5 of 17 in Westerly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Property: Blue Whale Inn
Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded for the 3rd consecutive year the prestigious TripAdvisor 'CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2016'. Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES & PROPERTY FEATURES FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT: Country Continental Breakfast, Sunset Celebration, Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard, Perennial Flower Garden, Family Kid Zone Swing Set with Slide, Use of Propane Grill, Bottle of Wine Welcome Gift, In Room Wireless Internet Access & Bottled Water, Extended Parking on Arrival & Departure Dates (including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing), Beach Chairs and Umbrella, Full Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing