We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely heading back next year...”
Review of Blue Whale Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Misquamicut
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We just stayed at The Blue Whale Inn for a girls weekend. Christine and her son Steve are unbelievably hospitable. They were so nice and went above and beyond with everything we needed. The rooms were a bit small, but clean, cutely decorated, and comfortable. The patio area is covered for shade in the morning and lit up at night. The breakfast spread is very large and quite delicious, and we cooked on the grill one of the nights we were there. The wine and cheese hour was lots of fun, and gave the chance to meet and socialize with the other guests.
We had a great time and have every intention of heading back next year!!

Room Tip: If you have a group of girls, you might want to consider adjoining rooms rather than the suite, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingcherries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

We just spent a night at the Blue Whale Inn and we had a wonderful stay. Chris was wonderful! She even offered to drive us to the beach and back! The rooms were cute and the backyard area was a wonderful place to sit and relax after a long day at the beach. We will be going back again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Not only does Christine help you park the car when you first arrive but she is so personable that she actually escorts you to your room, unlike other hotels where they just give you the keys and directions. Whenever you need anything, fresh towels, or something special for breakfast she will go out of her way to make sure your stay is perfect (even turning the air conditioner on before you arrive). It was my first time going to Misquamicut, so once we arrived we found a specialized cake waiting in the room that read "Welcome to the Beach", nothing beats the amount of hospitality you will find at the Blue Whale Inn.
The wine and cheese hour was entertaining and you were able to interact with the other guests in a calm setting, under a canopy tent lit up by lights. Breakfast the next morning was even better, a whole long table filled with muffins, bagels, donuts, pastries, danishes, and fresh fruit. As well as a side table with drinks and fresh orange juice.
The room itself makes the stay great; the air conditioner cooled the room in under 10 minutes, and the quilted bedding gave it a country feeling that isn't like other hotels with the plastic feeling comforter, and the beds were so comfortable.
Due to the hospitable staff and wonderful atmosphere we will definitely go back, and would like to make it a tradition of going down every year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westernma_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My friend and i went to mesquamick beach,r.i i needed to get away .we were told about the blue whale.it was the best time of our trip.clean,quiet,cosy.their were lots of different people their from young adults to older adults.everyone was so very friendly.the owner could not do enough for you.(she even told me she'd go to the store for me)the breakfast was exquisite.cheese\wine hour was great with great wine and cheese(no cheese wiz|boone farm wine their)i cannot wait to go back been home 2 days and i'm home sick for the blue whale.it's great for families.couples or just to get away by yourself.i'm planning to go back in september........if you don't stay here your a fool.........and so cheap to stay....loved it

Room Tip: owner helps with the perfect room you need for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina5219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Christine, is an incredably great hostess...she has made her establishment feel comfortable,inviting, and its very clean and private. The rooms are very clean and beautiful with a great beach theme. The wine hour is fun to meeet new people and to relax with some cocktails and snacks. She puts out a grand buffet for breakfast and if you need anything shes always more than happy to get it from the store. when you arrive after your long drive to the beach she has beer and wine waiting for you and many times little things for the kids to make them feel special as well. Over the yrs we continue to go back and I think its my favorite hotel ever to stay in. I cant say enough great stuff about Christine, her staff, and her establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessa1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectations with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The Blue Whale Inn is an amazing stay. The staff is so hospitable and sweet, I cannot stress that enough. Best hotel/inn staff I ever ever encountered. I have stayed at many places on this beach and I have never had an experience like this. The Inn has an awesome large backyard with a patio to relax, and the rooms are so homey and comfortable. They are very clean and neat and is only a walk from the beach. I will definitely be coming back. Great Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheezyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectaions with our hospitality. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My husband and I got away and stayed here for 3 nights, the rooms were clean and the ac worked great. It was good distance to beach. I would stay upstairs so you cant hear the people upstairs at night. See you next year! Thanks so much for a good time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your positive response. We strive to exceed your expectaions with our hospitality and are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#6 of 6 in Misquamicut
33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
0.1 mi away
Breezeway Resort
Breezeway Resort
#1 of 6 in Misquamicut
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range: £116 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded for the 4th consecutive year the prestigious TripAdvisor 'CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2017'. Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES & PROPERTY FEATURES FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT: Country Continental Breakfast, Sunset Celebration, Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard, Perennial Flower Garden, Family Kid Zone Swing Set with Slide, Use of Propane Grill, Bottle of Wine Welcome Gift, In Room Wireless Internet Access & Bottled Water, Extended Parking on Arrival & Departure Dates (including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing), Beach Chairs and Umbrella, Full Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing