We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Weekend”
Review of Blue Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at the Blue Whale Inn the weekend of July 13th for my daughters Bday in one of there suites. A semi girls weekend. 2 adults, 3 teenaged girls and my poor son (sure). We arrived with the rain on Saturday which did not make my daughter very happy, but it all turned around once we saw the GREAT YARD and all its amenities! 2 Gazeboes with tables, chairs, coffee maker, fresh fruit and a badminton net . We were able to sit comfortably covered from the rain and make the best of which turned out to be a great great day! We played cards as we sipped our wine and had many ,many laughs . Our room, a suit was perfect. Very clean and organized. It appeared small but we did not feel cramped at all ! Perfectly situated. Christine the owner was so thoughtful and hurried to get our room ready before check since we arrived early and could not go to the beach. We met a couple of fun girls the next night getting home from dinner and stayed up late chatting and laughing, once again under the gazebo! Since storm Sandy we were disappointed that the Andrea Hotel is no more but our stay at the Blue Whale Inn has changed our thinking. We will definitely be staying here again and are sure to bring even more family and friends with us!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased to hear your family enjoyed your stay, as we try our best to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. Thank you for your gracious comments about our hospitality. We're glad your daughter enjoyed her birthday and It's nice to hear your family enjoyed socializing in our outdoor courtyard. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

The blue whale Inn is the only place my boyfriend stays at in Rhode Island I was newly introduced to it this year. and must say was very impressed the hotel and the premises where very clean (loved the bed and breakfast look & the secret garden) the hospitality was completely amazing. Christine goes above and beyond for her guests to make them feel at home..its a very home atmosphere with such cheerful people.we will never stay anywhere else and cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AutumnOSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you two enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. Your gracious compliments of our hospitality are also very kind. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Blue Whale Inn is the only place we stay at in the Misquamicut area. It is the perfect spot for a family stay or a romantic getaway. It is a short walk to the beach but tucked away from the main strip. The customer service from the owner Christine and her staff is wonderful. There is a nice canopied area to eat the complimentary continental breakfast, read, visit and an area for the family to play badminton or volleyball, and grills to cook on. It truly is a home away from home.

Room Tip: Suites are available for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks you for choosing to return to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. The best compliment our guests can pay us is returning, so thank you. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your latest beach visit. Your gracious comments about our hospitality and proximity to the beach are very kind. It's nice to hear you continue to enjoy our outdoor courtyard and grounds, as we take great pride in the cleanliness of our entire property. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I read many reviews before I went and cannot stress enough they were ~right!!! I traveled with my 2 daughters and Brother and his family" last minute". When I called and explained my dilemma , Steve was more than helpful...he had only 1 room left , but offered to put my brother on a cancelation list if something else opened up or a suite became available. Then he proceeded to give me names of other nearby places (WOW). Next was my experience upon arrival, Christine met us INSTANTLY , we got there too early for check in but she let us park and offered us an amazing complimentary breakfast that even put a smile on my 2 teenage daughters ( almost impossiable to do at 10am), after we checked in she offered my brother and his children the same amenities as we were offered although he never got to stay there, (remember we booked last minute)! We also were given a bottle of Chardonnay and a yummy cake which was( another score for the teenage girls!). The rooms were SPOTLESS and cozy. Yes they were tiny but who cares...you go to Misquimicut for the beach not the rooms! If this is a necessity reserve a suite, The rooms also had a mini fridge with complementary water bottles and the bath had shampoo & soap!! I cant stress to you how hard working Christine is ! She never.... ever sat once! Even during the check in process she had the paper work ready and room key in the room waiting!! She had some car and plumbing issues while we were there but you would never know it she always had a smile! The next day we were allowed to leave our car parked there again ( big savings) and after our terrific continental breakfast we were off to the beach. When were returned we were offered the outdoor shower facilities ( very nice) and AGAIN shampoo/soap!! AMAZING! I am so very very greatful that people like this still exist!! The only regret that I have is that we did not have enough time to enjoy the wine & cheese sunset hour...she has a cute outdoor patio equipt with a grill and volleyball net , great for summer night entertaining...almost like your HOME AWAY FROM HOME...with out the work! We will return and very soon! GO and stay here you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Christine is the BEST~ hardest working person in the business!! And it shows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffy616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you and your daughters enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments of our complimentary breakfast and hospitality are very kind. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your complimentary bottle of chardonnay and in room goodies . Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. . We are also glad you took advantage of the complimentary beach parking after check-out, as we feel more time at the beach is always better. We would love to have you back, have a wonderful summer, and hope to you you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Blue Whale Inn and wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back for sure the next time we travel out to Misquamicut. The suite room was very big and clean. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic. We love the Blue Whale Inn and would recommend it to anyone looking for a place that is close to the ocean and inexpensive!!!! :)

Room Tip: The suite was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blair f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you two enjoyed your honeymoon stay this past week. The best compliment our guests can pay us is recommending us to others, so thank you. We are also very happy to hear our wonderful Deluxe Suite exceeded your expectations . Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. Your gracious comments about our complimentary breakfast and proximity to the ocean are very kind. We would love to have you back on your next visit to Misquamicut Beach and have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Not sure why reviewers rated this place with such high value. Yes, the owner greeting us with a friendly smile, but the rest of our stay was horrible! Rooms were tiny and dirty. The bed was uncomfortable and made a terrible noise when you sat on it. ( I think it was broken). The shower stall made rickety sounds when you moved as if you could fall through the floor. The TV was as big as a IPad screen hanging on the wall and the airconditioner was loud. We couldnt figure out what the funky smell was in the room because the deoderizer spray was so pungent. The Inn offered futons for children to sleep on but don't be fooled...they are foam foldout floor beds from Walmart that were not fit for My DOG!!! Not only did they look old and dirty they were outside on a table baking in the sun when we arrived and later in the evening they were still outside with folded sheets on them (Yuck)...Needless to say, I slept on the delapitated bed with my two kids and one eye open!!! Could not get out of there fast enough the next morning!!!!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Happygirl67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are sorry your stay did not meet your standards, and for that we apologize. However, is it very difficult to fathom some of your comments. We do offer Deluxe Suites which are better suited for families than the smaller Deluxe Rooms, as the Rooms are usually for double occupancy and offer just one full bed. We did make an exception in your case as a cheaper option for you and your two children to stay in a Deluxe Room, without any additional extra person charges. We can unequivocally state the condition of your room upon arrival was not as described, but like all rooms & suites, your room was cleaned, inspected, and even chilled for your late arrival. Cleanliness is our top priority, and is specifically the reason most of our guests return, along with our hospitality. Not mentioned in your review was the complimentary bottle of wine, cake, and cheese and crackers in your room upon checkin which your family enjoyed. During your reservation process we recommended reserving the Deluxe Suite for your family, but you chose the Deluxe Room stating you didn't mind squeezing in, because the Suite was out of your price range and you just wanted to sleep and go to the beach, so we obliged. All of our rooms and suites currently offer 24 Inch Ultra Slim Flatscreen TV's, so we are also bewildered about your comment regarding your TV. You stated you thought your bed was broken, however, you never came to the office to tell us about this, and we have checked your room since and the bed is in perfect condition. We display extremely current pictures of our rooms & suites on our website, along with multiple pictures posted by other reviewers, which show the standard and cleanliness of the rooms we offer. In response to your A/C being loud, unfortunately all air conditioners do make noise when they are on, but you didn't mention anything about the rooms not being cool, so we assume it worked properly keeping your family cool during the heat. As recommended by us, a Deluxe Suite would of accommodated your family perfectly, allowing all of your family to have separate beds, which we described to you during your reservation process, but you declined. Hopefully you can come back to stay with us in one of our Deluxe Suites next time with your family and see all we have to offer. Have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. It was an easy walk to the beach-they even had umbrellas to offer to keep cool under the beach sun. The Blue Whale has an accomodating staff that went out of their way to be sure we enjoyed our stay. Steve and Christine were excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWC861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. We are happy to hear you took advantage of our complimentary beach umbrellas & beach chairs we offer our guests. Your gracious comments about our hospitality and proximity to the beach are very kind. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
343 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#11 of 17 in Westerly
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#6 of 6 in Misquamicut
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
0.2 mi away
Sea Shell Motel
Sea Shell Motel
#4 of 6 in Misquamicut
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breezeway Resort
Breezeway Resort
#1 of 6 in Misquamicut
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range: £100 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded for the 4th consecutive year the prestigious TripAdvisor 'CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2017'. Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES & PROPERTY FEATURES FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT: Country Continental Breakfast, Sunset Celebration, Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard, Perennial Flower Garden, Family Kid Zone Swing Set with Slide, Use of Propane Grill, Bottle of Wine Welcome Gift, In Room Wireless Internet Access & Bottled Water, Extended Parking on Arrival & Departure Dates (including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing), Beach Chairs and Umbrella, Full Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing