We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly and accommodating!”
Review of Blue Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Super friendly and accommodating staff! Great selection for breakfast. Cute and clean beach themed rooms / yard. Lots of outdoor seating. Volleyball net, grills. Very relaxing. We arrived to wine and cake in our room. Not far from the beach but I wouldn't walk if you plan to bring much with you. I plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froggie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, complimentary breakfast, and in room goodies are very kind. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. It's also nice to hear you were pleased with our proximity to the beach. Hope to see you again soon and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Blue Whale Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Blue Whale Inn and are pleased to recommend this charming Inn to all! From the first (last minute) phone call to check on availability straight through to our departure we felt as though all our needs were being met. Stephen made sure we were comfortable with the types of rooms we would need for our group - which was mostly teenagers and preteenagers! Christine never stops - her mission is to please - and that she did! She goes out of her way to make sure all are comfortable, have what they need and even takes time to sit and chat when she finds a few minutes! The continental breakfast included a tasty mix from fresh fruit and yogurt to bagels and fresh pastries! The rooms are bright and airy with a home like décor. The outside courtyard area was a bonus as our group was able to utilize the propane grills and tables each evening to cook our dinners. It is also a very relaxing area in the evening when Christine brings out goodies for the wine and cheese hour - which included treats for the kids to enjoy too! The Inn is a short 2 block walk to the main street and beach (just enough to walk off the breakfast buffet!). Christine's hospitality was a pleasant surprise to my parents who came down for the afternoon to check out the area - she graciously welcomed them by allowing them to park in the lot, bringing out cheese, crackers and wine for us to enjoy, and recommending a nice restaurant for them. We truly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, as well as found our reservation process informative. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, fresh complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. We're happy your family enjoyed using the complimentary propane grills for beach barbecuing and relaxing outside in our covered and lighted courtyard. We are also delighted that your parents enjoyed their day trip. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I had such a good time staying here! The owner is super hospitable, the hotel is clean, she constantly replenishes the food outside. I just can't say enough good things. It felt like we were in our own backyard (but we didn't have to clean up after anyone!) I highly recommend the Blue Whale for anyone that wants a quiet, comfy get-a-way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, fresh complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The employees were extremely friendly. The food at the continental breakfast was fresh. The wine during the wine and cheese hour was very good. The only thing I did not like was the fact that the motel floors were not clean. There was a good deal of sand on them, but I guess it's not uncommon when it a beach motel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, fresh complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. We are always looking to improve so thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon and have a splendid summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Every August we go to the Blue Whale because Christine is the best !! She has always made sure that we were taken care of. She has a wonderful breakfast buffet every morning, wine and cheese every evening and goes out of her way to make sure we have the best time every year. This weekend we are going again and we are all very excited to see Christine and all of her renovations she has made on our "home away from home"

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for choosing to return to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. The best compliment our guests can pay us is returning, so thank you. We are also looking forward to your visit this weekend for your annual girls beach trip. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. It's nice to hear you are looking forward to all the new comfort upgrades we have recently completed. See you soon and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I want to Thank Christine for all the hard work she put into making sure my daughter had an awesome 25th birthday. You went far and beyond what I needed or expected I have never vacated in Rhode Island thinking it was a long drive from New York but it actually wasn’t 2 hours isn’t anything. I’ll definitely be coming back, my daughter and her friends had the best time and loved the fact the main strip with the bars was in walking distance. The rooms are so cute and very, very clean and I was pleased with the way the rooms were situated and how you were able to accommodate my bunch. The wine and cheese was so unexpected and a treat, and waking up to a continental breakfast there’s only one word for it AWESOME. So thanks again and can’t wait to see you all again and hopefully before fall. Thanks so much Michelle 

Room Tip: Come prepared to relax!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondii806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased your party enjoyed your recent beach stay for your daughter's 25th birthday. It's great to hear your party liked our proximity to the beach, restaurants, and beach bars . Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was our first visit to the Blue Whale Inn and we will be returning next year. We loved the docor, the bed and room so comfy, handmade quilts and seashell/seashore decorations everywhere. The yard set up so nice to just sit and enjoy the sea air. We loved how well thought out the breakfast was. Our welcome bottle of wine and treat for the kids was so nice. Everything about the place had the feeling of home. We could use the yard the outdoor shower, and we really enjoyed the other friendly folks that stayed there. This was truly a vacation for me. Christine was so hospitiable. Marie Bate and Agulair family - Gio was so happy (2 year old)

Room Tip: We got the suit and it was upstairs and was roomy and comfortable (3 adults and 3 children) very cl...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased the wonderful Deluxe Suite suited your family perfectly. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, complimentary breakfast, and in room goodies are very kind. We are also very delighted to hear your family enjoyed relaxing and socializing with other guests in our outdoor courtyard, as we try hard to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. Hope to see you again soon and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#6 of 6 in Misquamicut
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
3.2 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#3 of 17 in Westerly
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range: £101 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded for the 4th consecutive year the prestigious TripAdvisor 'CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2017'. Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES & PROPERTY FEATURES FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT: Country Continental Breakfast, Sunset Celebration, Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard, Perennial Flower Garden, Family Kid Zone Swing Set with Slide, Use of Propane Grill, Bottle of Wine Welcome Gift, In Room Wireless Internet Access & Bottled Water, Extended Parking on Arrival & Departure Dates (including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing), Beach Chairs and Umbrella, Full Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing