We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This Inn is very relaxing and accommodating. Chris is very hospitable and she goes the extra mile to make your stay as nice as possible. The room was clean and there was plenty of outdoor room to grill and socialize with other guests. Thank you Chris for the wine and the good time. See you soon Jane & George

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane71657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you both enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality and complimentary bottle of wine are very kind. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. It's also very nice to hear you enjoyed relaxing and socializing in our lighted and covered outdoor courtyard. Hope to see you again soon and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    34
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
51
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Super friendly and accommodating staff! Great selection for breakfast. Cute and clean beach themed rooms / yard. Lots of outdoor seating. Volleyball net, grills. Very relaxing. We arrived to wine and cake in our room. Not far from the beach but I wouldn't walk if you plan to bring much with you. I plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, complimentary breakfast, and in room goodies are very kind. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. It's also nice to hear you were pleased with our proximity to the beach. Hope to see you again soon and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Blue Whale Inn and are pleased to recommend this charming Inn to all! From the first (last minute) phone call to check on availability straight through to our departure we felt as though all our needs were being met. Stephen made sure we were comfortable with the types of rooms we would need for our group - which was mostly teenagers and preteenagers! Christine never stops - her mission is to please - and that she did! She goes out of her way to make sure all are comfortable, have what they need and even takes time to sit and chat when she finds a few minutes! The continental breakfast included a tasty mix from fresh fruit and yogurt to bagels and fresh pastries! The rooms are bright and airy with a home like décor. The outside courtyard area was a bonus as our group was able to utilize the propane grills and tables each evening to cook our dinners. It is also a very relaxing area in the evening when Christine brings out goodies for the wine and cheese hour - which included treats for the kids to enjoy too! The Inn is a short 2 block walk to the main street and beach (just enough to walk off the breakfast buffet!). Christine's hospitality was a pleasant surprise to my parents who came down for the afternoon to check out the area - she graciously welcomed them by allowing them to park in the lot, bringing out cheese, crackers and wine for us to enjoy, and recommending a nice restaurant for them. We truly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, as well as found our reservation process informative. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, fresh complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. We're happy your family enjoyed using the complimentary propane grills for beach barbecuing and relaxing outside in our covered and lighted courtyard. We are also delighted that your parents enjoyed their day trip. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I had such a good time staying here! The owner is super hospitable, the hotel is clean, she constantly replenishes the food outside. I just can't say enough good things. It felt like we were in our own backyard (but we didn't have to clean up after anyone!) I highly recommend the Blue Whale for anyone that wants a quiet, comfy get-a-way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, fresh complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The employees were extremely friendly. The food at the continental breakfast was fresh. The wine during the wine and cheese hour was very good. The only thing I did not like was the fact that the motel floors were not clean. There was a good deal of sand on them, but I guess it's not uncommon when it a beach motel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, fresh complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. We are always looking to improve so thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon and have a splendid summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Every August we go to the Blue Whale because Christine is the best !! She has always made sure that we were taken care of. She has a wonderful breakfast buffet every morning, wine and cheese every evening and goes out of her way to make sure we have the best time every year. This weekend we are going again and we are all very excited to see Christine and all of her renovations she has made on our "home away from home"

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for choosing to return to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. The best compliment our guests can pay us is returning, so thank you. We are also looking forward to your visit this weekend for your annual girls beach trip. Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. It's nice to hear you are looking forward to all the new comfort upgrades we have recently completed. See you soon and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I want to Thank Christine for all the hard work she put into making sure my daughter had an awesome 25th birthday. You went far and beyond what I needed or expected I have never vacated in Rhode Island thinking it was a long drive from New York but it actually wasn’t 2 hours isn’t anything. I’ll definitely be coming back, my daughter and her friends had the best time and loved the fact the main strip with the bars was in walking distance. The rooms are so cute and very, very clean and I was pleased with the way the rooms were situated and how you were able to accommodate my bunch. The wine and cheese was so unexpected and a treat, and waking up to a continental breakfast there’s only one word for it AWESOME. So thanks again and can’t wait to see you all again and hopefully before fall. Thanks so much Michelle 

Room Tip: Come prepared to relax!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondii806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased your party enjoyed your recent beach stay for your daughter's 25th birthday. It's great to hear your party liked our proximity to the beach, restaurants, and beach bars . Your gracious compliments about our hospitality, complimentary breakfast, and wine & cheese hour are very kind. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. Hope to see you again soon and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#5 of 17 in Westerly
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
668 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
647 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Property: Blue Whale Inn
Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded for the 3rd consecutive year the prestigious TripAdvisor 'CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2016'. Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES & PROPERTY FEATURES FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT: Country Continental Breakfast, Sunset Celebration, Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard, Perennial Flower Garden, Family Kid Zone Swing Set with Slide, Use of Propane Grill, Bottle of Wine Welcome Gift, In Room Wireless Internet Access & Bottled Water, Extended Parking on Arrival & Departure Dates (including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing), Beach Chairs and Umbrella, Full Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing