We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and such a fun stay!”
Review of Blue Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here after our prom for our prom weekend. We had amazing service! The owner, Christine, was amazing she bought us all pizza and was incredibly nice. The location is great, within walking distance from the beach. Overall it was wonderful! I would absolutely go back and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrettlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us. Your gracious compliments of our hospitality are very much appreciated, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our convenient location just a short walk from the beach, and thank you for the best compliment we can receive of recommending us to others. Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

After a brutal winter we were determined to start some serious birding at the wildlife refuges on the Rhode Island coast. Since I use a power wheelchair finding suitable accommodations is often difficult. Places like the nearby Weekapoag Inn did not even bother to reply to our on line request for information. This was not the case with The Blue whale Inn. Christine and her father went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. They upgraded our room to a suite to provide two beds and two bathrooms. They rearranged one of the rooms to provide more space and when the wheelchair had difficulty making the turn into the bathroom they replumbed the vanity and moved it to create an extra nine inches which made the bathroom more accessible: add this to the welcoming bottle of wine and a hand delivered continental breakfast you have a recipe for successs.Well done Christine, you made our first spring trip comfortable and memorable.We highly recommend the Blue Whale inn to all wheelchair travelers.

Room Tip: if you use a wheelchair it would be best to book a suite. The single room could be a little tight fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtg3842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you and your wife enjoyed your spring stay with us earlier this month. Your gracious compliments of our welcome bottle of wine in room gift, breakfast, and hospitality are very much appreciated, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. We take great pride in the accessibility of our entire property and amenities, and are very pleased you found our accommodations suitable to your needs. Misquamicut Beach is a spectacular summer destination, and it's wonderful to hear our convenient location assisted in your birding endeavors along the coastline. We are humbled we could play a part in making your first spring trip of the season memorable after a brutal winter, and thank you for the best compliment we can receive of recommending us to others. Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had really good time this weekend at the blue whale inn! They are really nice, good service, they respect you like your are part of thier family going into thier home. Right next to the beach best location. If you want to have good time go there!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilarab7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your gracious compliments of our hospitality are very much appreciated, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. Misquamicut Beach is a spectacular summer destination and it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our convenient location just a short walk from the beach. Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Probably over used in conversations but this spot has a great New England feel to it. Like the light blue colors in the rooms as it has that nautical feel. Rooms were clean and staged for our arrival (notice that stuff as wife has trained me haha) Also, can't beat getting to room w a cold bottle of wine waiting for you to start the relaxation on the comfy beds. Isn't much better location and didn't have to deal w all the drunk party people yet maybe 2 blocks away from water...very convenient when walking pass cars of families in traffic haha. Have stayed here many times before mostly in July and August (by far best time of year in westerly) and Chris (think it must be short for Christine?) was always friendly and flexible w our travel when it changed and assisted with best local places.

Not to sound like a lush...but the sunset wine and cheese on the deck they do sure has won me over after a day of burning calories and burning in general haha

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikesd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. It's also great to hear you enjoyed our comfy beds and close proximity to the beach. Your gracious compliments about our complimentary breakfast, complimentary wine & cheese, and in room goodies are very kind. Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Reviews looked great. Pictures looked great. Took my wife for one night in the summer. We knew we were in trouble as soon as we pulled into parking lot. The outside is very unkept. No efforts to make the grounds even remotely clean or appealing. Weeds were overtaking the property like some kind of freakish sci-fi flick from the 80's. Got there an hour before check-in which was fine. We decided to walk down to the beach. Got back an hour after check-in and the room was still not done yet. Waited another half hour. The inside was clean but incredibly small. The water pressure in the shower was low. The water basically dripped out. We were told there was a new mattress and tv. The mattress felt like a torture device. The TV was new but no channels came in. There was no soundproofing so you could hear everyone around you at night. That was awkward. As if it wasn't bad already, the breakfast and coffee were terrible. How hard is it to get decent coffee or bagels? Seriously, a bagel should not taste sour unless it is a sourdough bagel. I feel bad because the people seemed nice but not worth the $170 room. Also they offered free cake inside the room which was a lovely thought but the cake tasted awful. Please don't waste your money

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank texansmurf1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

We are sorry to hear that your visit was less than satisfactory, as your experience at our property is not the usual. We take great pride in the fact that our guests so often leave us saying we exceeded their expectations, as evidenced by our recently awarded TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence 2014". We are pleased you found your room accommodations clean, as we take great pride in the upkeep and cleanliness of our entire property. Our "Complimentary Country Continental Breakfast" is usually a guest favorite and normally receives very positive feedback, saving guests valuable beach time by avoiding fighting beach traffic looking for breakfast. All breakfast items are purchased fresh each morning from our local bakery, and several choices of fresh bagel are offered including sourdough. We are a bit confused as to your disdain towards our coffee, as we offer Keurig® Single Cup Gourmet Coffee with a selection of over eight flavor choices. Since you failed to mention the bottle of wine in room gift upon arrival we assume you did enjoy this complimentary perk, and apologize your small complimentary welcome cake was not to your liking. We feel the beautiful ivy growing along our white fence and trellis walkway helps to create a relaxing and peaceful environment a block and a half from the beach, and again apologize our landscaping design did not suite your individual preference. It is unfortunate you were only with us for one night and we would love to have you back to enjoy all we have to offer. Thank you for your feedback as we are always striving to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It's very refreshing to know places like the Blue Whale are still out there. The hospitality we encountered during our entire stay was top notch. The wine & cheese hour in the evening was a wonderful surprise. Nothing was better than returning back from the beach after a long day of sun and heat to shower, only to be able to walk right out our room to a wonderful complimentary spread of wine, beer, cheeses, crackers, fresh fruits, desserts, and more. The delicious breakfast in the morning was also a perfect way to start our beach day (also complimentary). Our deluxe room was very comfortable and clean, and came with a chilled bottle of chardonnay and happy birthday cake. Thank you for making my birthday beach trip that much more special. Hope to be back next summer!

Room Tip: Our deluxe room was well appointed, clean, and perfect for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, and that we had a part in making your birthday special. Your gracious compliments about our complimentary breakfast, complimentary wine & cheese, and in room goodies are very kind. Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I stayed this past weekend at the Blue Whale and we had a absolutely wonderful time. Our room was very clean and perfect for our beach trip, we even had a complimentary chilled bottle of chardonnay in our room upon arrival (great perk after a long drive). The grounds were very peaceful and the hospitality was also amazing, great breakfast spread each morning, along with a delicious wine & cheese hour each night. We hope to return next summer and will definitely recommend to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Our Deluxe Room was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are delighted to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay. The best compliment our guests can pay us is recommending us to their friends and family, so we appreciate your kindness. Your comments regarding our cleanliness are very much appreciated, as we take great pride in the upkeep of our rooms, suites, and grounds. Thank you for your gracious compliments about our complimentary breakfast and complimentary wine & cheese hour, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests.. Hope to see you again soon and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#4 of 6 in Misquamicut
38 reviews
1 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Beachfront Inn
Sandcastle Beachfront Inn
#2 of 2 in Misquamicut
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breezeway Resort
Breezeway Resort
#1 of 6 in Misquamicut
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range: £110 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded for the 4th consecutive year the prestigious TripAdvisor 'CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2017'. Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES & PROPERTY FEATURES FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT: Country Continental Breakfast, Sunset Celebration, Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard, Perennial Flower Garden, Family Kid Zone Swing Set with Slide, Use of Propane Grill, Bottle of Wine Welcome Gift, In Room Wireless Internet Access & Bottled Water, Extended Parking on Arrival & Departure Dates (including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing), Beach Chairs and Umbrella, Full Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing