We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Birthday”
Review of Blue Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I fell in love with the Inn, 2 blocks from the beach. Very pleasant staff and friendly, best customer service I had in a long time...
The continental breakfast was fresh and rooms were spotless. They even had beach chairs and umbrellas for free. NIce outing with a grill at your personal use. I REALLY enjoyed my stay their and will definitely be coming back. It was a last minute decision and it was very well worth it!!!
Thank You Blue Whale Inn...will see you again before this year is out!

Room Tip: Bring something for the grill to cookout. And enjoy your stay!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased we could play a part in making your birthday beach getaway special. Your gracious compliments of our hospitality and complimentary amenities are very much appreciated, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests to enjoy. Thank you for your comments regarding the spotlessness of your room, as we take great pride in the cleanliness of all our rooms, suites, and grounds. It's great to hear you took advantage of our complimentary beach chairs and umbrella, and found our close proximity to the beach convenient. Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Blue Whale Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Older B&B managed by Christine, a true gem of a person. She really goes out of her way to make you welcome. Nice continental breakfast and a wine and cheese tray on arrival. Good place for family's and relaxed travellers

Room Tip: Only a couple of blocks to the beach. Back yard full of birds, rabbits etc, very nice
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your gracious compliments of our hospitality and complimentary amenities are very much appreciated, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

For 550 dollars for two nights, the "deluxe two bedroom suite" consisted of a one bedroom "suite" with a bed thrown next to the fridge in the "common area". Friendly service even though there were no towels, no complimentary breakfast, and temporary use of the bathroom due to septic problems. Short walk from the Beach,

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tooturnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We find it very hard to fathom that you indeed stayed with us, and believe you are either misinformed on your location or expressing untruthful information. The layout of our Deluxe Suite is nowhere near your description given there is no bed in any "common area", as our suites consist of two separate bedrooms, which are separated by a 90 minute fire rated privacy door, with each bedroom having it's own outside entrance/exit door to the balcony. All of our rooms/suites are very well appointed and offer full amenities including, towels, linens, soap, conditioning shampoo, moisturizing lotion, bottled water, wireless internet access, air conditioning, flat screen television, hair dryer, and even a bottle of wine welcome gift upon arrival for guests of legal age. All of these amenities, as well as our delicious "Country Continental Breakfast" and "Sunset Wine & Cheese", can be easily verified through the countless reviews referencing these complimentary perks, as well as the numerous pictures posted on this very site by previous guests. We are left pondering the motive behind this review and wish you a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here after our prom for our prom weekend. We had amazing service! The owner, Christine, was amazing she bought us all pizza and was incredibly nice. The location is great, within walking distance from the beach. Overall it was wonderful! I would absolutely go back and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrettlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us. Your gracious compliments of our hospitality are very much appreciated, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our convenient location just a short walk from the beach, and thank you for the best compliment we can receive of recommending us to others. Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

After a brutal winter we were determined to start some serious birding at the wildlife refuges on the Rhode Island coast. Since I use a power wheelchair finding suitable accommodations is often difficult. Places like the nearby Weekapoag Inn did not even bother to reply to our on line request for information. This was not the case with The Blue whale Inn. Christine and her father went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. They upgraded our room to a suite to provide two beds and two bathrooms. They rearranged one of the rooms to provide more space and when the wheelchair had difficulty making the turn into the bathroom they replumbed the vanity and moved it to create an extra nine inches which made the bathroom more accessible: add this to the welcoming bottle of wine and a hand delivered continental breakfast you have a recipe for successs.Well done Christine, you made our first spring trip comfortable and memorable.We highly recommend the Blue Whale inn to all wheelchair travelers.

Room Tip: if you use a wheelchair it would be best to book a suite. The single room could be a little tight fo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtg3842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you and your wife enjoyed your spring stay with us earlier this month. Your gracious compliments of our welcome bottle of wine in room gift, breakfast, and hospitality are very much appreciated, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. We take great pride in the accessibility of our entire property and amenities, and are very pleased you found our accommodations suitable to your needs. Misquamicut Beach is a spectacular summer destination, and it's wonderful to hear our convenient location assisted in your birding endeavors along the coastline. We are humbled we could play a part in making your first spring trip of the season memorable after a brutal winter, and thank you for the best compliment we can receive of recommending us to others. Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had really good time this weekend at the blue whale inn! They are really nice, good service, they respect you like your are part of thier family going into thier home. Right next to the beach best location. If you want to have good time go there!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilarab7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your gracious compliments of our hospitality are very much appreciated, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. Misquamicut Beach is a spectacular summer destination and it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our convenient location just a short walk from the beach. Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Probably over used in conversations but this spot has a great New England feel to it. Like the light blue colors in the rooms as it has that nautical feel. Rooms were clean and staged for our arrival (notice that stuff as wife has trained me haha) Also, can't beat getting to room w a cold bottle of wine waiting for you to start the relaxation on the comfy beds. Isn't much better location and didn't have to deal w all the drunk party people yet maybe 2 blocks away from water...very convenient when walking pass cars of families in traffic haha. Have stayed here many times before mostly in July and August (by far best time of year in westerly) and Chris (think it must be short for Christine?) was always friendly and flexible w our travel when it changed and assisted with best local places.

Not to sound like a lush...but the sunset wine and cheese on the deck they do sure has won me over after a day of burning calories and burning in general haha

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikesd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. It's also great to hear you enjoyed our comfy beds and close proximity to the beach. Your gracious compliments about our complimentary breakfast, complimentary wine & cheese, and in room goodies are very kind. Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#6 of 6 in Misquamicut
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
3.2 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#3 of 17 in Westerly
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range: £101 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded for the 4th consecutive year the prestigious TripAdvisor 'CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2017'. Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES & PROPERTY FEATURES FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT: Country Continental Breakfast, Sunset Celebration, Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard, Perennial Flower Garden, Family Kid Zone Swing Set with Slide, Use of Propane Grill, Bottle of Wine Welcome Gift, In Room Wireless Internet Access & Bottled Water, Extended Parking on Arrival & Departure Dates (including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing), Beach Chairs and Umbrella, Full Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing