We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Had a delightful visit at Blue Whale Inn. Christine is hostess with mostess! Birthday cake waiting for mom was a delightful treat. Knowing we could leave our car at Inn vs public parking was refreshing. Wine in room a nice touch. Continental breakfast was amazing! Wish her bakery partners were in Western Ma! Christine's quiche yummy. Her attention to detail an customer satisfaction amazing! Not the ritz but delightful experience

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you had such a delightful stay, as well as enjoyed all of our complimentary amenities. It's wonderful to hear you found our fresh bakery items delicious and our quiche yummy. It's great you took advantage of our convenient beach day parking on your arrival/departure dates, avoiding high parking fees in the public lots. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    34
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
51
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

spent three days at the Blue Whale......the room that we stayed in was TINY!!!! the only furniture was the bed,and a small chest of drawers....there was a microwave on top of a small refrigerator,but no chair in the room because one would not fit....the room was very clean.....the breakfasts were a good try although frozen bagels etc does not do it for me....the beach was a short five minute drive.....not a bad place to sleep...you get what you pay for.......we liked the beach and some of the area restarants are nice...we will return to the beach but unfortunately not The Blue Whale.....

Room Tip: go elsewhere.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. It seems like one of our larger Deluxe Suites would have better suited your personal preference and created a more positive experience, as they offer much more space along with a sitting area, for just a slightly higher rate. It's wonderful you found our location in Misquamicut Beach convenient, as well as found your room clean. Our "Complimentary Country Continental Breakfast" is usually a guest favorite and normally receives very positive feedback, saving valuable beach time by avoiding beach traffic. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy this complimentary perk, however, we do not offer any frozen items, as all our breakfast items are purchased FRESH each morning from our local bakery. We would certainly embrace an opportunity to show you all we have to offer in one of our more spacious Deluxe Suites. Safe travels and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Blue Whale Inn is absolutely adorable. Christine knew we would be arriving late and she was there to show us our room and make sure we were comfortable. We had a bottle of wine and ice waiting for us and the room was cooled and ready for us to walk right in.

It is a smaller room but perfect for a couple. Everything you needed was supplied. Fridge, microwave, flat screen. Our only problem was the bed itself. Not the size, it was fine and the pillows perfect .. but I am a stomach sleeper and it was very well used and dipped in the middle therefore impossible to sleep on my stomach without my back being sore. Now, it was only for two nights so there is no need to complain but I just want other travelers to know so they can request a different room if that is a big deal.

Breakfast was great. Nice patio to sit and have a meal. Lots of options, donuts, bagels, fruit, flavored coffee, tea, juice, etc. We missed the cheese & crackers but did sit outside in the evening and drank our wine and relaxed. Cake outside on the patio when we came back from dinner so that was a sweet treat to top off our day.

Our favorite amenity was the availability of the beach chairs and umbrella. We could have walked 7-8 minutes to the beach but we had just spend two days walking all around NYC so we chose to pay $15 to park on the beach and use the chairs / umbrella from the inn. A wonderful relaxing day on the beach. We parked near Paddy's and walked across the street. Ended up eating there and just loved this relaxing day.

You can tell Christine puts her heart into everything at the Blue Whale Inn. We love to stay in local hotels and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Bed in 2B sags in middle
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you enjoyed your beach getaway and would return to stay with us. It's wonderful you found our location in Misquamicut Beach convenient, as well as took advantage of our complimentary beach chairs and umbrella. It's also great to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, hope see you again soon, and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The Blue Whale Inn is a wonderful family run Motel.... It is a short walk to the beach. Every morning there is a continental breakfast under a patio tent... And every evening there is cheese and crackers and wine to be had.... This place is really cute and quiet.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. It's truly wonderful to hear you had such a great stay, as well as found our location inside Misquamicut Beach very convenient. We are very pleased you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Blue Whale Inn is a short walk to Atlantic Avenue and Misquamicut Beach, and is one of the cheaper priced hotels in the area. Christine and her staff are very friendly and add a homey touch by providing a bottle of wine upon arrival in the room. The room itself is well decorated but very small, and ours was in need of a good sweeping. The bed is full size and the mattress sagged a bit in the middle. A continental breakfast is available at 9am and I suggest you get there by 9am to get the better choices of coffee, yogurts, etc. The Inn allows you to park on the day of arrival before check-in and the day of checkout, saving parking fees at the beach. In addition, there is an outdoor shower to clean up after returning from the beach. These combined amenities extended our check out day until late in the afternoon.

I would recommend this hotel to young couples and people on a tight budget who want to be in walking distance to the beach. Upon our next visit, my wife and I will spend more $ to seek out larger, cleaner accommodations in walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are disappointed to hear that your visit was less than satisfactory, as your experience at our property is not the usual. We take great pride in the fact that our guests so often leave us saying we exceeded their expectations. It seems like one of our larger Deluxe Suites would have better suited your personal preference and created a more positive experience, as they offer much more space for just a slightly higher price. It's wonderful to hear you found your room well decorated and our location in Misquamicut Beach convenient. It's great you were able extend your time at the beach, as well as save high beach parking expenses by taking advantage of our complimentary beach day parking on your arrival/departure dates, with access to our fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower. We are pleased you did enjoy our complimentary "Country Continental Breakfast" and bottle of wine welcome gift, as we are proudly the only lodging in the state to offer these perks. Thank you for your feedback, as we are always striving to improve. We would certainly embrace an opportunity to show you all we have to offer in one of our more spacious Deluxe Suites. Safe travels and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to the beach and a stay at the Blue Whale Inn. Christine was amazing. She knew the area and treated like apart of her family. We were able to use their parking on our last day so we didn't need to pay to park at the beach. Room was very clean for the two nights we stayed. Perfect romantic place to go with a significant other. Loved the fact we got a complimentary bottle of wine and breakfast. Will definitely want to stay again! Only downside was a noisy neighbor but Christine was really good about it and took care of it!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have less noise but small, only good for either one person or two. Book a suite if ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you two enjoyed your romantic beach getaway and would indeed return to stay with us. Thank you for your gracious compliments of our hospitality and complimentary amenities. It's wonderful to hear you took advantage of our complimentary beach day parking on your arrival and departure dates, as well as found your room clean and comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Back again! I can't wait to stay here again. Christine is a wonderful hostess and is always available to make your stay more enjoyable. The accommodations are very comfortable and homey. The breakfast/brunch is excellent with daily variety. I have stayed at many places and I have to say it was very easy and deserving to give an Excellent rating to this Inn. You will have a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All good rooms, just a matter of upstairs or down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starlenel4256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. It's wonderful to hear your already looking forward to your return visit, and we'll certainly try our best to exceed your expectations once again. Your gracious compliments of our hospitality and complimentary amenities are very much appreciated, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests to enjoy. Thank you for the best compliment we can receive of recommending us to others, see you soon, and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#5 of 17 in Westerly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
8.3 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Property: Blue Whale Inn
Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded for the 3rd consecutive year the prestigious TripAdvisor 'CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2016'. Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES & PROPERTY FEATURES FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT: Country Continental Breakfast, Sunset Celebration, Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard, Perennial Flower Garden, Family Kid Zone Swing Set with Slide, Use of Propane Grill, Bottle of Wine Welcome Gift, In Room Wireless Internet Access & Bottled Water, Extended Parking on Arrival & Departure Dates (including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing), Beach Chairs and Umbrella, Full Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing