We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Whale Inn
Nearby Hotels
Pleasant View Inn(Misquamicut)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Shore Motel(Misquamicut)
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn(Misquamicut)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winnapaug Inn(Westerly)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Park Inn And Suites(North Stonington)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
151
37
14
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
37
14
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottle of winethe ownerbagelscrackersfresh fruitbreakfast spreadquicheyour choiceoutdoor showerfull size fridgebottled watershort walk to the beachevery eveningbeach chairsboogie boardsnext yeareach morning
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and i just spent 4 days at The Blue Whale Inn. I booked this sight unseen on the web.This was our first vacation alone since we were married. We had a wonderful time. Christine, her father, and Keith went above and beyond. We are already looking to book a room for next summer. Can't wait to go back! The Krumsieks

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaryPat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased to hear you and your husband had such a wonderful beach getaway. Thank you for your gracious compliments of our hospitality, as well as taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you next summer and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our family stayed here for two nights for an "almost" last minute getaway. Two days before we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to receive an email outlining all of the little details of our stay: From parking to breakfast hours, to extra amenities available to guests, we had every bit of knowledge about the inn beforehand. So nice!
We arrived a couple of hours before check in time, and were again pleasantly surprised that our room was ready and we could walk right in. Guests are offered a complimentary bottle of wine at check in, and we were offered our choice of wine varities. Also very nice!
We stayed in a deluxe suite that was bright and airy and had plenty of space for our family of four. The sunny yellow walls and white wicker headboards were very cute and reminded me of a seaside cottage. Even the towels reflected the beach theme with colors of ocean blue, sandy beige and beach grass green, and the soaps and shampoos were "Coastal sun and surf" and smelled wonderful. Although this inn is just a few minute's walk to the beach, it is a perfectly quiet oasis. We all slept very soundly with no disturbances whatsoever.
Christine's "continental breakfast" goes far beyond anyone else's interpretation: It was an absolute feast! Fresh fruit, freshly made quiche and every type of pastry you can imagine. Yummy!
In the evening, Christine set out yet another feast of wine, cheese and crackers and cake. We snacked on some cheese and then headed to the backyard to play volleyball. What a nice touch!
Christine and her right hand man Keith go out of their way to make sure that guests have anything and everything. They even have beach chairs, umbrellas and boogie boards to loan to guests at no extra charge. When some other guests were returning from the grocery store, Keith immediately jumped up to offer to help carry their bags. Christine was just a doll. Five minutes after you meet her, you feel like you're chatting with an olf friend that you've known all your life.

If I were to add any other little things to this inn, I would have a water cooler available or perhaps just leave a few water bottles in the room's refrigerator. I would also order new bed linens as ours were pretty worn through. And I don't know what type of laundry detergent is used for the towels, but it isn't very pleasant smelling. But these are all just tiny observations from an otherwise perfect family getaway.
Overall, the Blue Whale was a great choice and we were very happy here. We're already planning to return next summer.
Thanks for all those little things that made such a big difference for our family. :-)

Room Tip: If you have more than two people, definitely get the suite. Any other room is only suitable for two people.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SWCTmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased to hear your family had such a great experience in our Deluxe Suite. Your gracious compliments of our hospitality and complimentary amenities are very much appreciated, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests to enjoy. It's also wonderful to hear you felt our decor helped to create a quiet oasis reminiscent of a beautiful seaside cottage. We rely on the helpful feedback from guests like yourselves to help us improve upon our service and all of your comments are extremely helpful. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to hosting you next summer, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Had a delightful visit at Blue Whale Inn. Christine is hostess with mostess! Birthday cake waiting for mom was a delightful treat. Knowing we could leave our car at Inn vs public parking was refreshing. Wine in room a nice touch. Continental breakfast was amazing! Wish her bakery partners were in Western Ma! Christine's quiche yummy. Her attention to detail an customer satisfaction amazing! Not the ritz but delightful experience

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you had such a delightful stay, as well as enjoyed all of our complimentary amenities. It's wonderful to hear you found our fresh bakery items delicious and our quiche yummy. It's great you took advantage of our convenient beach day parking on your arrival/departure dates, avoiding high parking fees in the public lots. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

spent three days at the Blue Whale......the room that we stayed in was TINY!!!! the only furniture was the bed,and a small chest of drawers....there was a microwave on top of a small refrigerator,but no chair in the room because one would not fit....the room was very clean.....the breakfasts were a good try although frozen bagels etc does not do it for me....the beach was a short five minute drive.....not a bad place to sleep...you get what you pay for.......we liked the beach and some of the area restarants are nice...we will return to the beach but unfortunately not The Blue Whale.....

Room Tip: go elsewhere.....
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pete0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. It seems like one of our larger Deluxe Suites would have better suited your personal preference and created a more positive experience, as they offer much more space along with a sitting area, for just a slightly higher rate. It's wonderful you found our location in Misquamicut Beach convenient, as well as found your room clean. Our "Complimentary Country Continental Breakfast" is usually a guest favorite and normally receives very positive feedback, saving valuable beach time by avoiding beach traffic. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy this complimentary perk, however, we do not offer any frozen items, as all our breakfast items are purchased FRESH each morning from our local bakery. We would certainly embrace an opportunity to show you all we have to offer in one of our more spacious Deluxe Suites. Safe travels and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Blue Whale Inn is absolutely adorable. Christine knew we would be arriving late and she was there to show us our room and make sure we were comfortable. We had a bottle of wine and ice waiting for us and the room was cooled and ready for us to walk right in.

It is a smaller room but perfect for a couple. Everything you needed was supplied. Fridge, microwave, flat screen. Our only problem was the bed itself. Not the size, it was fine and the pillows perfect .. but I am a stomach sleeper and it was very well used and dipped in the middle therefore impossible to sleep on my stomach without my back being sore. Now, it was only for two nights so there is no need to complain but I just want other travelers to know so they can request a different room if that is a big deal.

Breakfast was great. Nice patio to sit and have a meal. Lots of options, donuts, bagels, fruit, flavored coffee, tea, juice, etc. We missed the cheese & crackers but did sit outside in the evening and drank our wine and relaxed. Cake outside on the patio when we came back from dinner so that was a sweet treat to top off our day.

Our favorite amenity was the availability of the beach chairs and umbrella. We could have walked 7-8 minutes to the beach but we had just spend two days walking all around NYC so we chose to pay $15 to park on the beach and use the chairs / umbrella from the inn. A wonderful relaxing day on the beach. We parked near Paddy's and walked across the street. Ended up eating there and just loved this relaxing day.

You can tell Christine puts her heart into everything at the Blue Whale Inn. We love to stay in local hotels and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Bed in 2B sags in middle
Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWhaleMgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the BLUE WHALE INN. We are very pleased you enjoyed your beach getaway and would return to stay with us. It's wonderful you found our location in Misquamicut Beach convenient, as well as took advantage of our complimentary beach chairs and umbrella. It's also great to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, as we strive to create a relaxing environment for all of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, hope see you again soon, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews