We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of Blue Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Misquamicut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My husband and I needed a little getaway(only were able to stay one night) so we called all the inns and hotels in the area, but all of them required a two night stay. Not the blue whale inn. We were able to book one night, I called Wednesday to get a room and surpisingly got one. Very happy that we did too. I see many bad reviews on here about the blue whale inn but really these people think they are staying at the ritz, come on now. Yes, the place is small, but that's what makes it so nice, more personal if you ask me. Chris was GREAT! She does a wine and cheese at night, well hubby and I had gone out and missed it, well she brought us our own small cheese platter, what great service. She had a great little breakfast in the morning, I mean what do people expect a huge breakfast with bacon and eggs for free, come on now. She had a great variety, she had pastries, fruit, yogurt, bagels, coffee, juices, cereals. Each room comes with a bottle of wine. It was great, and she really made you feel at home, the yard was nicely set for relaxation which is what we went for. We had a great time and will definatly go back to see Christine again, it was a great pleasure, and she made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Thank you for your positive response. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Blue Whale Inn Sa turday 7/31/10. We were a little skeptical because this was the only motel in the area that allows 1 night stays. Not only was the room nice (a little small but cute) and clean but the "happy hour" and delicious breakfast with fresh pastries and muffins was such a nice unexpected touch. The owner/operator went as far as starting breakfast earlier knowing we had to get on the road for our 6 hour trip back to PA. I will definately go back again to stay at the Blue Whale Inn. Nancy Mountain Top, PA

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svenskagal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Thank you for your positive response. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I've spent there just a night and a morning, but I loved so much the atmosphere of home there! Service is quite good, people are kind. It's really nice place to stay, if you are not get used to 5 star Hilton hotels! It's rather for calm people over 35 y.o. (even in spite of I'm 21 and i liked it)...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Thank you for your positive response. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I called night before to learn they had an opening due to cancellation which I said I would take for $153, i was told check-in was @ 3pm, I went there like 5ish. I learned at that point there had been a problem with my room someone broke the box spring ok soo, well they put me in the room the size of my walk-in closet with a mattress on the floor a small table and just enough room to put my bags down, well the room did not have a bathroom but I had to share with all house mates I think.... Not quite sure but when I came back to sleep I walked thru kitchen, living room and hallway with sheet separating my sleeping quarters from the owners. So in the early am as I showered to leave I went thru the sheet to find all the house people sleeping in the living room as I walked thru them, it was pretty weird. So for $176 being billed to my cc this week, I would NOT recommend this place. They should have told me up front the sleeping conditions not let me think I was staying in a different kind of place. Vacationers beware!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank KWFLROCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

We do apologize to this guest. One half hour before she was too check-in the previous guests in her room broke the bed frame. Being fully booked and the replacement frame not able to be delivered until the following morning we gave her the option when she arrived to look at the room and to cancel the room or take it at a discounted rate. She chose to take it at a greatly discounted rate, because she said everywhere else is booked and she didn't mind because she would be out most of the day and night. She seemed happy with the compromise and enjoyed the stay and breakfast the next morning, leaving without saying anything to mgmt. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This is the first time We stayed @the BWI and we thought the place was Beautiful. We stayed in the Suite area and it was perfect. Even though the rooms were connected, we had our Privacy from the other couple. I fully recommend this place to anyone. Very clean,
Very at Home , and Peaceful. Also the Casino's are just a Skip Away!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breakfastspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Thank you for your positive response. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My Husband and I went to Blue Whale Inn for Father's Day. It is close to the beach and the lady who runs the Inn is there for her guest at all times. She serves a nice spread of afternoon snacks and Bagels, Juice ,Coffe and Tea in the morning. Other hotels and resorts do not have BBQ and outside showers for when you return from the beach. It is just like being in your own home and you have the freedom to come and go, or go to you room to relax. Also a bottle for two is in your room when you arrive. I would recommend staying a night or two and see how comfortable and relaxing it really is. If you like the Hamptons your will really like this Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowergirl1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Thank you for your positive response. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I have stayed at the BLUE WHALE INN now for five straight years, and just got home from staying there on a wonderful beach trip June 19. I look forward all year to my weekend beach getaways to Misquamicut Beach with my husband. We originally stayed at the BLUE WHALE based on a friends recommendation, and "wow" were they right. This place is a hidden gem, great big breakfast buffet, wine & cheese (or snacks/sodas for the kids), volleyball court, and nice quiet covered courtyard in the back. Since my first time staying the owner has done many renovations and upgrades, almost making it look newer each year.... A MUST STAY IF YOUR IN MISQUAMICUT BEACH

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbabect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluewhalemgmt, General Manager at Blue Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Thank you for your positive response. We are always looking to improve, so we greatly appreciate your review. We hope to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#4 of 6 in Misquamicut
38 reviews
1 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Beachfront Inn
Sandcastle Beachfront Inn
#2 of 2 in Misquamicut
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breezeway Resort
Breezeway Resort
#1 of 6 in Misquamicut
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Whale Inn

Address: 54 Winnapaug Rd, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Misquamicut
Price Range: £109 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded for the 4th consecutive year the prestigious TripAdvisor 'CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2017'. Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Misquamicut Beach, Rhode Island, the BLUE WHALE INN offers coastal charm with exceptional hospitality. Just a short walk from the sand and surf of Rhode Island's largest and most popular beach, the BLUE WHALE INN boasts well appointed deluxe rooms for couples, and deluxe suites for larger groups. Misquamicut Beach stretches for seven lovely miles of soft white sand and pristine waters with great surf. Packed with fun things to do, Misquamicut has everything you'll need to enjoy a vacation along the shore, including; seafood restaurants, jet ski rentals, water slides, mini golf, and more. Moments away from coastal villages of Watch Hill and Weekapaug, the BLUE WHALE INN is perfectly situated to explore all scenic areas of the Westerly Shoreline. Our mission is to create a coastal New England experience that will keep you dreaming of your beach stay until you return. COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES & PROPERTY FEATURES FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT: Country Continental Breakfast, Sunset Celebration, Lighted & Covered Outdoor Courtyard, Perennial Flower Garden, Family Kid Zone Swing Set with Slide, Use of Propane Grill, Bottle of Wine Welcome Gift, In Room Wireless Internet Access & Bottled Water, Extended Parking on Arrival & Departure Dates (including before check-in and after check-out time, with access to fully enclosed hot/cold outdoor shower for changing), Beach Chairs and Umbrella, Full Concierge Services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Whale Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing