We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend”
Review of Pleasant View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pleasant View Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Certificate of Excellence
Ulster Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I recently spend the weekend of October 14th a nd 15th at the Pleasant View. It was a perfect, the food was great, prices were reasonable, the staff was very friendly and the place was very clean. One of my favorite places.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    105
    51
    34
    16
See reviews for
101
137
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Shokan, New York
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We just returned from a very nice weekend at the Pleasant View Inn. The Inn is not a high class resort, but an old fashioned beach motel. Our room was spotless. Yes, the place is old, but we found it to be charming. We had two double beds (not our usual choice) with clean, crisp sheets. Our bathroom could have used some upgrading (like a plug to use a hairdryer), but it was spotless. Without knowing what rooms are available, it may make it a bit difficult to choose. Our room (261) was directly over the walkway which was a bit noisey. I would have picked another room. The dining room staff were terrific - spot on with everything. Any one of them could be working at a high end place. The food was good and the bar was fun. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask your location before you book. The place is old, so I would recommend a top floor. Don't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peggywestshokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauk, New York
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My 2nd visit to the PVI. It is late September and it is warm and humid. Great beach weather. No screaming Kids. Just a few cackling hens .... PVI is the bomb for direct beach front. The hotel is only 75 Ft from the surf. Please get a direct beach front room. If you are coming here it is awesome to hear the surf as you drift off to sleep. The hotel overall is kept up. They should focus on the little things that are inexpensive to replace that would make a big difference in the property. Our room was direct ocean front. Was told it was going to be a queen size bed, No way. It is a full but it faces the slider and the direct ocean front so I can live with it. The room is teeny tiny but decent. The hotel has the worst lighting. The halls are very dark. The room lighting is not so great. The light above the bathroom vanity is circa 1950. The bathroom vanity is from the year of the flood. If they did some inexpensive upgrades it would make such a difference. However the sound of the surf and the view highly rule over the dark stall shower. The picture above the bed was securely screwed into the wall, LOL. Still the room was pleasantly decorated. The hotel has these direct large outdoor lights facing the ocean walk. This bright light at night really takes away from the night sky and ocean ambiance. They should install some patio lighting on the outdoor walkways to maintain the great outdoor ocean ambiance. The hotel restaurant is decent. A little pricey but the lunches I had I was very happy with. I had a lobster bisque soup and there were pleanty of large chunks of lobster. Overall the hotel staff are friendly and nice. Cell service and internet service are not good. So if you need to stay in touch for business this would not be a good place to conduct vacation business. Some further tid bits. Bring water shoes if you go into the ocean. The rocks will kill your feet. Also, bring beach chairs. The hotel itself has some chairs by the pool and hotel walk but nothing for the beach. I would bring some nice thick towels as well to lay on the chaise lounges as they are hard plastic and too comfortable. This hotel is not a typical hotel. If you are looking for a ton of amenities this is not the place for you. This hotel is kinda like a really high end motel on the beach. If that could make sense Anyway, the direct ocean rules so I will come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rossvin324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2011

BE careful which room u reserve this time was last minute booking and room 125 is under stairs hardly slept as people walking over your head all night

But people like Fitzroy make you feel special becayse you recalls you by name and a great smile.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEVECT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Easy drive from NYC vicinity and a nice long stretch of beach. The motel is at the quiet end of things on Atlantic Ave.  Nice common areas, well kept but aged a bit which was fine and added to the low key ambience.   We did not book far ahead in high season and probably got the last room available.  Room 213 was very small and the bathroom was pretty atrocious.  Just enough room to shut the door, no shelf or vanity to place your toiletries other than on top of the toilet.   Grungy tile on the floor, sheetrock walls were peeling a bit adjacent to the the fiberglass shower shell.  The room and the bathroom  seemed pretty tidy but grungy at the same time and the room had mildew beach motel smell.  You would retch if you put your clothes in any of the drawers.  The bed was a double and uncomfortable. The air conditioner blows directly on the bed.  The TV was cable but a tube TV no flat screens here and tiny - maybe 19".  You would not want to be in this room any longer than necessary.  Peeking into other rooms on the ocean view side they have clearly been remodeled. Our room was not.  Fortunately there are chaise lounges on a grassy strip overlooking the beach which was a nice place to sit and listen to the surf after dinner.    

The location is great. The beach is long but shallow. We found a spot not too jammed together and really enjoyed the surf.  Chatty Cathy's, screaming kids, sand, high tide-all you would expect, this is not a resort.  No prob. It's a public beach and a nice one.  However, Pet Peeve Alert: why do people set up and blast their radios and then take off for hours? If I wanted to listen to music at the beach I'll listen to my own not your 1980's vintage boom box. Ok it's a free country but c'mon when you're not even there...not liking that so much.  Allright, I'll get the stick out of my -- now and thanks for letting me get that off my chest!

We had two really good meals. One at Maria's down the road a bit and another right on the beach at Andrea's. Really enjoyed Andrea's the first night, so much so hubby wanted to eat there again. We had Andrea's house salad with feta, walnuts and the lobster special.  Unfortunately the next night was as awful as the first was good.  Maybe the right choice here would be a burger they looked great. The best part was sitting and dining right on the beach which was heavenly.  Would not enjoy being indoors at the Andrea hotel - enough said.   We also had breakfast at PVI one morning, and it was good and fairly priced.  Always appreciate Eggs Benedict on vacation.      

I agree with another post, the front staff could be friendlier but I think it was New England reserve and not offensive.  I commented on checkout that the room should not be rented out as is. They seemed perplexed. All in all I think the room was probably clean, the location is great and it was $175 bucks a night in August.  I would give it another try ocean view only and  I would not sleep another night in room 213.  

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SusieBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I've been coming here for 20years and I love it. Have stayed all over this stretch of beach and the other places just don't measure up. It has everything you need for a couple of nights or a week. Good restaurant, you can eat inside or out. Get a drink at the bar. Heated swimming pool , in case the ocean is to cold, air conditioned rooms and everything is in walking distance. It is always clean. This place meets all my needs! And they also have free wifi in the lobby now and free coffee all day! Best to go on the off season, and save a little money, or during the week.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopangel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed here 3 nights in August of 2011 with my husband. Our first room was a small room with one queen bed on the second level facing the ocean with a very small deck overlooking the ocean. The view was spectacular and the room clean with a comfortable bed. The second two nights we were on the third level in a larger room with a somewhat bigger deck and still overlooking the ocean. This room was also clean with a comfortable bed. The beach is gorgeous. It was our first time here, and we will be back. The hotel is fairly new, I think about 5 years old. So it's still in good shape. Hopefully they will continue to maintain it in a fashion that keeps it clean and up to date. The front desk staff could have been friendlier. There was only one woman in her 50s that smiled. The younger crowd were very aloof and not friendly at all. The prices were in my mind pricey, but it's always pricey directly on the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misquamicut
0.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
25 reviews
1.6 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#9 of 17 in Westerly
127 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ocean House
The Ocean House
#1 of 4 in Watch Hill
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#2 of 17 in Westerly
219 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
7.9 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant View Inn

Property: Pleasant View Inn
Address: 65 Atlantic Ave, Misquamicut, Westerly, RI 02891-4301
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Misquamicut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Misquamicut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pleasant View Inn is located on the Atlantic Ocean in Misquamicut, RI. Offering Rhode Island charm, the Pleasant View Inn is the best choice for a seaside family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pleasant View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant View Hotel Misquamicut
Pleasant View Misquamicut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing