We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biked then walked”

Point Judith Lighthouse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can visit the grounds and enjoy the view, but the lighthouse itself is closed to the public.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Biked then walked”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

There is not too much to see at the point and light house. The structure is common place and the vista not special. We biked there from town. Should have taken more water because it was hot and sunny. There are many nicer places to vsit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JakeCincinnati99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    62
    34
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice lighthouse”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Lots of parking, beautiful views, easy access from highway, close to beaches and restaurants. Great for kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and Great Surfing”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This lighthouse and the surrounding area is exactly like what I picture in my head when I think of the oceanside in New England. It's a nice area to walk around and take in the view. For the surfer's out there, the rough Atlantic Ocean creates some large swells along the shore that are messy but rideable. Lots of locals were out in full wetsuits while we were there. I can't stress it enough though, it looked like they were having a rough go at it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, RI & Poincian, FL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Off limits”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Recently I visited the Point Judith Lighthouse. There have been some recent changes. The gazebo is no longer there. In addition, you can no longer closely approach the lighthouse for pictures since the gate leading to the Coast Guard facility (which includes the lighthouse) is locked. Still a nice place for a picnic, but not as nice as it used ot be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice spot to watch the boats come and go.”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Nice spot to watch the Block Island ferry and other boats come and go. Good spot for a picnic lunch. Just down the road from state beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fishersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Point Judith Lighthouse also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Point Judith Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing